Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Watch Instantly (On Demand) doesn't work


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   tony4d

tony4d

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 242 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 05 June 2013 - 12:34 AM

Yea this is a real issue with the HR-34 and on demand. All of a sudden this message is coming up on mine and downloads are SUPER slow now. This is a bug in the software it looks like.



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 22 July 2013 - 02:26 PM

I'm having this problem too.  Charter cable ~ 30Mbps per testmy.net.  The HR34 (wired ethernet) says it can't do a VOD show (Longmire).  I can watch it just fine with my iPad, which has a slower Wifi link in the middle.  My AppleTV and Roku, on the same ethernet switch as the HR34, both stream just fine.

 

Gotta be something in the HR34.



#28 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,072 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 23 July 2013 - 12:49 PM

Your ISP provided link speed is almost irrelevant to the issue of streaming video.  We have FiOS with 75 Mbps download service and we STILL get the occasional Netflix stream switching from HD down to SD.  Anything over 10 Mbps is not going to speed up anything, it just lets do more things at once over the link.

 

It is also rarely a problem at the content providers's servers.  Netflix and Directv and anyone else doing streaming uses special server farms with very large capacity connections to the internet.

 

However, the total end to end speed from DirecTV or Netflix's server to your TV is only as fast as it's slowest segment.  In the journey to your TV a video stream will pass through many routers and network segments (8 to 12 is about average).  If ANY of these segments become congested your throughput will drop.

 

Finally, a speedtest should not be taken as gospel.  Many ISPs throttle throughtput through their routers, unless the target is speedtest.net!


Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#29 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 23 July 2013 - 01:09 PM

Doesn't explain why it works fine on my iPad with the DirecTV app but doesn't work on the HR-34.



#30 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,338 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 July 2013 - 08:07 PM

Doesn't explain why it works fine on my iPad with the DirecTV app but doesn't work on the HR-34.

Well, they are two different animals


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#31 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 23 July 2013 - 08:11 PM

Well, they are two different animals

 

D'oh, I would never have figured that out on my own.   I was replying to Diana C who seems to think it has to be an ISP problem.  ISP doesn't change between the two client platforms at my end.  

 

Does anyone have anything useful to add to this thread?  Like how to get the HR-34 to actually do VOD?



#32 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,338 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 July 2013 - 08:47 PM

I was referring to "it" being two different file formats that vary greatly is size.  Perhaps it has something to do with that.  my 0.15 cents


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#33 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 23 July 2013 - 08:56 PM

I was referring to "it" being two different file formats that vary greatly is size.  Perhaps it has something to do with that.  my 0.15 cents

 

Why would they differ in size?  Or file format?  It's DirecTV's proprietary stream, and they're both HD devices.  Are you sure they are different, or is that just a guess?



#34 OFFLINE   krylon360

krylon360

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
  • LocationUtah
Joined: Jul 24, 2013

Posted 24 July 2013 - 10:05 AM

FlyingDiver, VOS; 

I've got a 90Mbps/90Mbps Fiber To The Home connection (will be a 1Gbps U/D Google Fiber in about a month - Provo, UT Resident :P

 

But I also get the VOD error; as well as the Not Connected error non-stop.

 

Setup is as follows..

SWiM LNB Dish is on the roof. Has a Green 2 Way mounted to the base. DC Passthrough Post has a RG6 going routing down to my living room where the PI, CCK-W, and HR24-500 is located.

The 2nd Post of the 2 Way routes around to the back of my house (with a RG6) into a 4-Way. (No Green Sticker (Not sure why the installer used this splitter. I think it was from a old DISH install. Manuf: Prime Electronics & Satelitics Inc; Model: MSPLIT4R1-02)

In the 4 Way is another HR24-100, and 3 D12's. One of the D12's is hooked into the DC Passthrough post.

Again, not sure why the installer wired it this way. Pisses me off to no extent.

 

 

I'm using a Apple Airport Extreme for my WIFI. The Fiber portal is in the Garage, and routes a cat 5e into my basement; so it's plugged into that.

 

I've modified an old Cisco E1000 and put DD-WRT on it and made it a Wireless Repeater and put it upstairs where the CCK-W and both HR24's are with no luck.

Last night I tried VOS's No Audio/Video recomendation here: http://www.dbstalk.c...36593731594.jpg

Also tried putting the CCK-W downstairs right next to my AEBS; This worked somewhat; however due to the botch wiring job the tech did; the living room HR24 couldn't see anything.

 

Tonight I will try the BB DECA config in VOS's picture; only substituting it with the CCK-W ( I "had" the DECA1MRO-01 however; when we moved into our house; when the DTV tech came; they took that and gave me the CCK-W instead) and not use the CCK-W Passthrough.

 

If that doesn't work; then I will log into the admin interface and disable the wireless and plug it into my Gigabit Switch downstairs; though, with that config, I'll still have the issue where the living room HR24 wont see the connection due to the way it's wired from the LNB.

 

When I get home; I'll post a bandwidth log of exactly how much bandwidth VOD actually uses. I'll do 2 caps; 1 with Watch Now; the other with Record and Watch Later and post them up.

 

If tonight's adventures don't work; I might have to get up on the roof and take the 2 way out of the picture, and replace the 4 way with an 8 way and rewire the living room connection to the back of the house; and call support for the 8th time about this issue and have them swap the CCK-W with a DECABB1MRO-01. UGH!


Edited by krylon360, 24 July 2013 - 10:28 AM.


#35 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,072 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 24 July 2013 - 01:38 PM

Doesn't explain why it works fine on my iPad with the DirecTV app but doesn't work on the HR-34.

The iPad streams at a lower resolution (closer to 720p) than the HR34 (1080p or i, depending on the movie), so if your ISP is throttling streaming video, the iPad might work and the HR34 won't.

 

I also don't propose it is ONLY an ISP problem...the HR34 may contribute, although I have streamed to my HR34 without a problem.


Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#36 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,338 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:34 PM

Why would they differ in size?  Or file format?  It's DirecTV's proprietary stream, and they're both HD devices.  Are you sure they are different, or is that just a guess?

well I am not sure of what file format DirecTV uses for DOD, MPEG 4 (2?).  the iPad can't definitely play those formats.  

 

  • Video formats supported on iPad: H.264 video up to 1080p, 30 frames per second, High Profile level 4.1 with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps, 48kHz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats; MPEG‑4 video up to 2.5 Mbps, 640 by 480 pixels, 30 frames per second, Simple Profile with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps per channel, 48kHz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats; Motion JPEG (M-JPEG) up to 35 Mbps, 1280 by 720 pixels, 30 frames per second, audio in ulaw, PCM stereo audio in .avi file format

Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#37 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:39 PM

 

well I am not sure of what file format DirecTV uses for DOD, MPEG 4 (2?).  the iPad can't definitely play those formats.  

 

  • Video formats supported on iPad: H.264 video up to 1080p, 30 frames per second, High Profile level 4.1 with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps, 48kHz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats; MPEG‑4 video up to 2.5 Mbps, 640 by 480 pixels, 30 frames per second, Simple Profile with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps per channel, 48kHz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats; Motion JPEG (M-JPEG) up to 35 Mbps, 1280 by 720 pixels, 30 frames per second, audio in ulaw, PCM stereo audio in .avi file format

 

 

Those only matter if you're using the iPad's native apps.  DirecTV could (and probably does) put their own decoder in the GenieGo app, so they could use anything.



#38 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,338 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 July 2013 - 09:00 PM

Those only matter if you're using the iPad's native apps.  

Not the case.  if it was true, there would have been a browser that supporterd flash long time ago


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#39 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 24 July 2013 - 09:05 PM

Not the case.  if it was true, there would have been a browser that supporterd flash long time ago

 

Yes, true.  There was no Flash for iOS because Apple said they wouldn't approve it for distribution.  It was technically possible to do it (assuming Adobe could ever actually get it to work), but there would be no way to distribute it other than jailbreaking the device.

 

A video/stream decoder is just code.  Compressed/encrypted bits in, video bitmap out.  Sometimes they're done in hardware, and I believe the chipset Apple is using has some decoding in hardware.  But you can do it all in software.  

 

You don't have to take my word for it, but I did work for Apple for 18 years.  And I'm still a registered iOS developer.



#40 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,072 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 25 July 2013 - 07:13 PM

There are 2 ways to stream DirecTV content to your iPad: via the GenieGo app or via DirecTV Anywhere.   In both cases the stream is at a lower resolution (and bitrate) than On Demand content dowloaded via an HD DVR.  The GenieGo stream is down around 1 or 2 Mbits/second at most, DirecTV Anywhere maxes out at 2 or 3 Mbits/second.  A 1080p movie will want at least 6 to 8 Mbits/second of usable bandwidth.

 

Bottom line, the fact that iPad steaming works is not relevant to On Demand performance.


Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#41 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,627 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 25 July 2013 - 11:08 PM

There's also HBO GO, etc. that do streaming of DIRECTV authorized content. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#42 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,072 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 26 July 2013 - 07:07 PM

True, but I didn't count it since it is coming from HBO's servers, not DirecTV's.


Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#43 OFFLINE   gr8ful

gr8ful

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 12, 2009

Posted 14 March 2014 - 02:58 AM

vod.

Lots of factors effect VOD download speed. First there is your individual link speed (BTW, a number of ISPs prioritize speedtest.net traffic to artificially enhance your results), then there is the route the traffic in question takes (how busy the various routers and segments are) not to mention the load on the servers which can congest the servers' connection to the Internet. One thing to try is a speedtest run to a server in California...that will give you a more realistic idea of the maximum throughput to the area where the servers live.

Sorry that is not true. You connect to DirecTV servers to locate the video. You download the video from a CDN.

 

CDN's  are geographically distributed  servers owned by a third party vendor designed to minimize download times. Netflix uses these as do most download services.

 

Netflix has proven certain ISP's deliberately slow down their feeds and have taken steps to prevent that practice. Hope you didn't  think that was  illegal (hint: ask your congressman/women to vote for net neutrality).

 

I do not know why DirecTV VOD is so slow. Suffice to say, it is. I'm an IT guy and know how to test my connection. I get 30MBPS under best conditions, but never anywhere that with VOD.



#44 OFFLINE   gr8ful

gr8ful

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 12, 2009

Posted 14 March 2014 - 03:16 AM

My reliable HR20-700 is connected via ethernet to my router. I have disabled all internet access except to the HR20.

 

In the middle of the night, when my cable service regularly provides 30MBPS tested from a variety of servers, I still do not get realtime HD VOD downloads.

 

Either my ISP (Comcast) is deliberately slowing down DirecTV CDN's (like it does with Netflix) or DirecTV has failed as usual to favor customer service over profit.

 

Either way it is up to DirecTV too fix this.



#45 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,133 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 March 2014 - 03:25 AM

My reliable HR20-700 is connected via ethernet to my router. I have disabled all internet access except to the HR20.

 

In the middle of the night, when my cable service regularly provides 30MBPS tested from a variety of servers, I still do not get realtime HD VOD downloads.

 

Either my ISP (Comcast) is deliberately slowing down DirecTV CDN's (like it does with Netflix) or DirecTV has failed as usual to favor customer service over profit.

 

Either way it is up to DirecTV too fix this.

There is some variation between content, but most VOD comes through "real time" in HD with my 11 Mb/s connection.

DirecTV seems to limit their end to around 9 Mb/s, so if the program is higher than this, "real time" isn't an option and "record" has to be used instead of "watch now".


A.K.A VOS

#46 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,627 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 14 March 2014 - 06:51 AM

Either my ISP (Comcast) is deliberately slowing down DirecTV CDN's (like it does with Netflix) or DirecTV has failed as usual to favor customer service over profit.

 

Either way it is up to DirecTV too fix this.

Really? DIRECTV® can just ring up Comcast and say, 
"Hey! Cut that out! Our VOD customers don't like that you throttle."


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#47 OFFLINE   WB4CS

WB4CS

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 148 posts
  • LocationHuntsville, AL
Joined: Dec 12, 2013

Posted 14 March 2014 - 12:01 PM

My reliable HR20-700 is connected via ethernet to my router. I have disabled all internet access except to the HR20.

 

In the middle of the night, when my cable service regularly provides 30MBPS tested from a variety of servers, I still do not get realtime HD VOD downloads.

 

Either my ISP (Comcast) is deliberately slowing down DirecTV CDN's (like it does with Netflix) or DirecTV has failed as usual to favor customer service over profit.

 

Either way it is up to DirecTV too fix this.

 

Thanks for resurrecting an old thread! 

 

I think you need a new receiver or need to have your system checked out. 

 

My Genie HR44 with a 15Mb/s connection has no issues with HD VOD, it starts in about 2 seconds and never has to buffer. In fact, the download is usually finished well before the program ends. I'm currently with Mediacom internet, but also had no issues with Comcast/Xfinity at 10 Mb/s connection before I switched providers. 



#48 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,984 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 14 March 2014 - 12:03 PM

The question has been raised as to whether DIRECTV uses CDNs or not. In some cases they do but in most cases the content comes from DIRECTV's own broadcast centers. Here's a photo I took of the actual (at the time 4.5PB) array that provides On Demand to areas served by DIRECTV's LA Broadcast Center.

NAS.jpg

I do know there are some cases where CDNs are used but for the most part it's all DIRECTV.


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#49 OFFLINE   rsonnens

rsonnens

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 154 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2006

Posted 14 July 2014 - 10:55 AM

....

I do know there are some cases where CDNs are used but for the most part it's all DIRECTV.

 

Ugh, that is most likely the problem. If they are funneling most stuff through one location then that creates both a bandwidth bottleneck and large latencies. My guess is that they have so much content that they think it is too expensive to use CDNs when must stuff has little usage. There are multiple solutions but I even wonder if DTV is aware the extent of the issue. This is a case where AT&T could help them considerably.

 

I myself find it very frustrating. I tried to watch Gravity last night on HBO last night (after clicking on the banner DTV put up) to watch it and about 10 min in the streaming problems started. So I switched to HBOGo on my AppleTV and things worked AOK.


Edited by rsonnens, 14 July 2014 - 11:13 AM.

  • damondlt likes this

HR44 ->Denon 4310 -> Sony 4K 
mini-genie -> Samsung 5000


#50 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,985 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 14 July 2014 - 12:11 PM

Yep I do the same , I use HBO Go for all my HBO on demand needs because Directv's on demand is so slow.
I have one of the First LG smart Blu Ray players and that streams 10x faster than any of my HRs.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...