Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM8 whole home installation help


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Soccernut

Soccernut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 129 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2004

Posted 08 April 2013 - 10:26 PM

Is this correct?

1-Power insert off SWM output 1 connected to power outlet and HR44
2-Ethernet cable from router connect to HR44 ethernet port
3-SWM output 2 line connected to DECA, connected to HR22
4-DECA ethernet line connected to HR22 ethernet port

I don't want to use splitters as these lines are already set on current setup

Will this work for all Directv service including whole home?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,857 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 08 April 2013 - 10:45 PM

Yes, that should work just fine.

#3 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,968 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 01:50 AM

With this setup make sure the SWiM-8 module is the newer "green" labeled type of course.

#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 April 2013 - 04:44 PM

Also if you have an AC outlet near the SWM8 switch, I would connect the power supply to the legacy port #3. I don't like "shrugs" to have the power supply behind any receiver
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   Soccernut

Soccernut

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 129 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2004

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:18 PM

Thank you all.




spam firewall