Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need help with multiple receivers


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dhall2276

dhall2276

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:25 PM

I am finally getting around to finishing up some home theater and game room wiring and have run into a problem. I have 8 DTV boxes now wired and hooked up and with the SWM and splitter setup the installer set me up with (about a year ago) I cant run more than 6 at a time. There are actually spaces for 7 receivers but when I plug up the seventh I get a message that the SWM can not support another receiver. I have attached a photo of the SWM and splitters. What do I need to add and where is the best place to get it? And yes I know the wiring is pretty messy but once things are finalized I will be trimming wires and mounting everything into an in-wall control box.
Posted Image

The way the installer set things up is that the first splitter feeds to the second splitter and the remaining three slots on that first splitter go directly to receivers. The second splitter has the black coax fed to the SWM power module which in turn feeds to my primary DVR for the whole home system and the two white lines go to the remaining two receivers. You can see that one position is open, that is the one that causes problems when I add the 7th line to it. The final line is the one that comes off the SWM just to the left of the one that feeds the first splitter. That final line runs to a splitter that runs to the DECA box.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 900 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:34 PM

You need to balance out no more than 8 tuners on each of the SWM1 and SWM2 ports. I would also get some smaller splitters and not so many if I were you and run the power on the dedicated power port.

#3 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:36 PM

Its not boxes, it is tuners. Each port on an SWM16 can have a max of 8 tuners. The port on an SWM8 can have a max of 8 tuners. A standard DVR is 2 tuners, a Genie has 5, and a receiver is 1. Add them up, and make sure no more than 8 are on a port.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#4 OFFLINE   dhall2276

dhall2276

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:04 PM

You need to balance out no more than 8 tuners on each of the SWM1 and SWM2 ports. I would also get some smaller splitters and not so many if I were you and run the power on the dedicated power port.


Thanks.....I know very little about this wiring so I need all the help I can get. What exact type of splitter do I need and where do I get them without having to get a DTV installer to come (I have had very bad experiences with installers over the years). As far as the power if I run it on the dedicated power port do I still leave the primary DVR cable hooked to the Signal to IRD port on the power module or move it over directly to a splitter. Of the 6 "boxes" that are currently running 2 are DVRs so I guess I am at the 8 tuner limit as is.

#5 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,968 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:06 PM

Yes, I should say its grossly unbalanced;

SWM port 2 is inexplicably feeding an 8-way slitter where in turn only one of its output ports then feeds a DECA?

And does the "DECA" mean a CCK?

In that case SWM 2 has no tuners being used at all since a CCK does not use a tuner.

Recommendation: Ditch the 8-way splitter and connect one 4-way to each SWM port on the -16 with short jumpers, then redistribute all the receiver coax runs onto the splitters careful not to exceed a combined 8 tuners for either SWM leg as the previous posts instruct.

#6 OFFLINE   dhall2276

dhall2276

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:09 PM

Thanks.....I know very little about this wiring so I need all the help I can get. What exact type of splitter do I need and where do I get them without having to get a DTV installer to come (I have had very bad experiences with installers over the years). As far as the power if I run it on the dedicated power port do I still leave the primary DVR cable hooked to the Signal to IRD port on the power module or move it over directly to a splitter. Of the 6 "boxes" that are currently running 2 are DVRs so I guess I am at the 8 tuner limit as is.


Also meant to ask what is the purpose of the splitter that the DECA box is plugged into? Is it a splitter that I can use to run more tuners from the SWM2 port?

Posted Image

#7 OFFLINE   dhall2276

dhall2276

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:13 PM

Yes, I should say its grossly unbalanced;

SWM port 2 is inexplicably feeding an 8-way slitter where in turn only one of its output ports then feeds a DECA?

And does the "DECA" mean a CCK?

In that case SWM 2 has no tuners being used at all since a CCK does not use a tuner.

Recommendation: Ditch the 8-way splitter and connect one 4-way to each SWM port on the -16 with short jumpers, then redistribute all the receiver coax runs onto the splitters careful not to exceed a combined 8 tuners for either SWM leg as the previous posts instruct.



This is what I am calling the DECA and it is the only thing plugged into the 8 way splitter on SWM2 port. From the sounds of things my last installer was even worse than I thought leaving things run like this.

Posted Image

#8 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,968 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:17 PM

Thanks.....I know very little about this wiring so I need all the help I can get. What exact type of splitter do I need and where do I get them without having to get a DTV installer to come (I have had very bad experiences with installers over the years). ...



Don't think you need any new splitters. Just use the two 4-ways as I explained in my previous post.

... As far as the power if I run it on the dedicated power port do I still leave the primary DVR cable hooked to the Signal to IRD port on the power module or move it over directly to a splitter. Of the 6 "boxes" that are currently running 2 are DVRs so I guess I am at the 8 tuner limit as is.


To the splitter, and the IRD end of the PI when connected to the external power port may be then left open or simply place a dust cap over it.

#9 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,968 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:27 PM

This is what I am calling the DECA and it is the only thing plugged into the 8 way splitter on SWM2 port. From the sounds of things my last installer was even worse than I thought leaving things run like this. ...


Yes that's a wired Cinema Connection Kit or "CCK," which functions the same as a receiver DECA, but specifically designed for the CCK role. I'm using one of those here.

And yes, unfortunately your installer was poorly trained as the CCK uses no tuners. Thereby your SWiM-16 was way oversubscribed on leg 1 with no tuners at all being used on leg two.

#10 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,968 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:35 PM

Also meant to ask what is the purpose of the splitter that the DECA box is plugged into? Is it a splitter that I can use to run more tuners from the SWM2 port?

Posted Image


Its an 8-way SWiM splitter, and is senseless setup up that way other than to needlessly reduce the signal level to the CCK.

Remove it and suggest you only use the two 4-ways as I explained earlier.

#11 OFFLINE   dhall2276

dhall2276

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 09:19 PM

Its an 8-way SWiM splitter, and is senseless setup up that way other than to needlessly reduce the signal level to the CCK.

Remove it and suggest you only use the two 4-ways as I explained earlier.

I think I understand how I need to run it now thanks. However with only the two 4 way splitters I would be maxed out at 10 total tuners (I have 2 DVRs 6 single tuner receivers) That covers me for now but if I were to add another run in the future I would need to add a splitter correct? The reason I ask is I would like to add another run out to my deck permanently where I occasionally set up a backyard theater for big games and movies.

#12 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,968 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 09:52 PM

I think I understand how I need to run it now thanks. However with only the two 4 way splitters I would be maxed out at 10 total tuners (I have 2 DVRs 6 single tuner receivers) That covers me for now but if I were to add another run in the future I would need to add a splitter correct? The reason I ask is I would like to add another run out to my deck permanently where I occasionally set up a backyard theater for big games and movies.


OK, I see you have 8 receivers total. Thought it was 7. My bad. :)

You're going to need the 8-way splitter on one leg then with a 4-way on the other leg of the SWiM-16 since you will need extra splitter ports for the CCK coax run as well as the future run out to the deck.

#13 OFFLINE   dhall2276

dhall2276

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Posted 09 April 2013 - 10:23 PM

OK, I see you have 8 receivers total. Thought it was 7. My bad. :)

You're going to need the 8-way splitter on one leg then with a 4-way on the other leg of the SWiM-16 since you will need extra splitter ports for the CCK coax run as well as the future run out to the deck.


Thanks I got it all swapped over and going through checking all my tuners now. Looks like all but two are working and the two that aren't are saying there is no network connection. I am going to reboot them and then run the setup again and see if that solves the issue.

#14 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,563 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 10 April 2013 - 12:13 AM

Thanks I got it all swapped over and going through checking all my tuners now. Looks like all but two are working and the two that aren't are saying there is no network connection. I am going to reboot them and then run the setup again and see if that solves the issue.


What are the model numbers of the two that aren't getting a network connection? They might need their own DECA adapter.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#15 OFFLINE   dhall2276

dhall2276

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Posted 10 April 2013 - 06:15 AM

One is an H25 and I forget the other ones model but it is older and has its own Deca converter box (white box that splits the coax to Cat5 and coax). They both worked before the splitter swap around last night. I haven't had time to reboot them but will when I get home.




spam firewall