Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Genie client C31 running hot @150°F


  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lacibaci

lacibaci

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2008

Posted 12 April 2013 - 07:13 AM

I just noticed that my Genie client is running pretty hot, sometimes @150°F. Is this normal?
My receiver, HR34, runs at about 100°F.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 ONLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 167 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 12 April 2013 - 07:27 AM

Just so you have a point of reference

I just turned on one of my C31's which is wall mounted behind a 42 flat and it shows to be @ 152...

My Genie HR-34 is running @ 104 and it is sitting on top of my AM21.

Just what my C31 and HR-34 shows............Dont know what is normal

Mike

 

SWM-13 LNB  HR-34 w AM21  HR-23 w AM21  H25  2-C31 Clients.


#3 OFFLINE   lacibaci

lacibaci

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2008

Posted 12 April 2013 - 07:56 AM

Ok, thanks. I guess it is normal then.

Lac

#4 OFFLINE   akw4572

akw4572

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2005

Posted 12 April 2013 - 12:20 PM

How do you check this?
HR 22-100 Vizio 42" 1080P
HR 22-100 Vizio 26" 720P

#5 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 12:23 PM

The C31 in our master bedroom was running at about 142F this morning. It is sitting out in the open on top of a bookshelf that the TV is on.
Our HR34 is in an enclosed wood cabinet with glass doors and runs about 104F.

Edited by betterdan, 12 April 2013 - 12:29 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 12:27 PM

How do you check this?


Go into menu, settings, info and test, more info for the client.

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,338 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 April 2013 - 12:35 PM

the temp is dangerously close to functioning max ! try to find best position, if it has venting grill, orient it to make vertical airflow

#8 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 12:48 PM

Is the max temp stated anywhere? Link?

#9 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 12:52 PM

I see that viclovr stated the temps should range between 32-122F
http://www.dbstalk.c...ure#post3088347

Like I said mine is out in the open so it can't get any better air flow. It is upstairs which is warmer than the rest of the house though.

#10 OFFLINE   lacibaci

lacibaci

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2008

Posted 12 April 2013 - 12:56 PM

I see that viclovr stated the temps should range between 32-122F
http://www.dbstalk.c...ure#post3088347

Like I said mine is out in the open so it can't get any better air flow. It is upstairs which is warmer than the rest of the house though.


That is the ambient temperature.

#11 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 01:00 PM

Aha, yea I see now that texasbrit said it was ambient temps.
HDTVFan0001 though mentioned that his C31 had a temp of 118 and the highest he has ever seen it was 120F. I don't know how his is that low of a temp unless his house is really cold.

#12 ONLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 167 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 12 April 2013 - 01:51 PM

Just so you have a point of reference

I just turned on one of my C31's which is wall mounted behind a 42 flat and it shows to be @ 152...

My Genie HR-34 is running @ 104 and it is sitting on top of my AM21.

Just what my C31 and HR-34 shows............Dont know what is normal


Just rechecked C31 Client Software 0x711
Temp shows the same as this morning @152
Client is mounted in DirecTv wall mount bracket using DirecTv mounting
instructions as it relates to bracket orientation and client mountng.
Flat screen has been off and on all day.

Server is running 0x6bb
Server HR-34 Sitting on Top of Hitatchi rear projection 65 inch TV
Open mesh metal shelf on top with AM-21 below the HR-34
Temp shows the same as this morning @104
TV is off and been off all day

Just what my hardware shows....

Edited by lzhj9k, 25 April 2013 - 12:05 PM.

Mike

 

SWM-13 LNB  HR-34 w AM21  HR-23 w AM21  H25  2-C31 Clients.


#13 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,338 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 April 2013 - 01:58 PM

Is the max temp stated anywhere? Link?


Please, do study the device's chips tech specs.

#14 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 02:27 PM

Please, do study the device's chips tech specs.


Link? Is the max temp a secret or can you say it here?

#15 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,338 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 April 2013 - 03:31 PM

It's depend. I don't know what chip is using inside of your C31. Can you open and tell me ?

#16 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 04:57 PM

I don't want to go that far.
It seems like it is running at a normal temp compared to some others here and if it does overheat and break then Directv will replace it.

#17 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,338 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 April 2013 - 05:06 PM

you're lucky as it's a client w/out a drive or it will cooked already ... anyway +150 F is not what will allow C31 works for long time, regardless your reverence to other posts, it's too high temp

#18 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 05:57 PM

There's really nothing I can do except put a fan blowing on it. It is out in the open with comfortable temps in the house. If it dies, it dies.

#19 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 12 April 2013 - 06:00 PM

you're lucky as it's a client w/out a drive or it will cooked already ... anyway +150 F is not what will allow C31 works for long time, regardless your reverence to other posts, it's too high temp


seeing that most c31 units are running at 135 + i would assume that its ok to be ran at 150. there aint much in the units to fail. its little more than a deca.
I may not know as much as the experts but neither did the experts when they themselves were novices.

#20 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 12 April 2013 - 06:04 PM

It's depend. I don't know what chip is using inside of your C31. Can you open and tell me ?


the first look page for the c31 has pictures of the inside
http://hr20.dbstalk.... First Look.pdf
I may not know as much as the experts but neither did the experts when they themselves were novices.

#21 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,338 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 April 2013 - 08:33 PM

the first look page for the c31 has pictures of the inside
http://hr20.dbstalk.... First Look.pdf


I guess you have better eyes then my, could you please read that model id of Broadcom main chip ?

#22 OFFLINE   viclovr

viclovr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2012

Posted 12 April 2013 - 08:39 PM

Broadcom's BCM7340

the same one that the h25 uses i believe

edit. i googled it. i cant read it on the review and dont want to take it apart
BCM7408
http://www.broadcom....lutions/BCM7408

Edited by viclovr, 12 April 2013 - 08:46 PM.

I may not know as much as the experts but neither did the experts when they themselves were novices.

#23 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,338 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 April 2013 - 08:58 PM

Broadcom's BCM7340

the same one that the h25 uses i believe

edit. i googled it. i cant read it on the review and dont want to take it apart
BCM7408
http://www.broadcom....lutions/BCM7408


If it 7408, the an extort below sounds ironic for C31 implementation:
Dynamic power management controllers provide efficient power management capable of managing and shutting down unused system components in real-time
Counting the high temp [+150 F], someone did sloppy job on FW, an efficiency is none.

#24 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,338 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 April 2013 - 09:18 PM

On page 16 of the report you could see power consumption of cable, sat STB

#25 OFFLINE   TXD16

TXD16

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 910 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2008

Posted 12 April 2013 - 09:39 PM

I just noticed that my Genie client is running pretty hot, sometimes @150°F. Is this normal?
My receiver, HR34, runs at about 100°F.


Very early on, the "R"-series of DVRs were notorious for fan failures, resulting in a number of reported overheating-related premature failures. Given that history, I'm guessing the fan has failed in your C31. ;)

"We are fast approaching the stage of the ultimate inversion: the stage where the government is free to do anything it pleases, while the citizens may act only by permission; which is the stage of the darkest periods of human history, the stage of rule by brute force." - Ayn Rand





Protected By... spam firewall...And...