Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Genie client C31 running hot @150°F


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 19 April 2013 - 05:12 PM

Turned on the client in the spare bedroom the other night for the kids to watch and saw it was 158F.

I felt the box and it was a little warm but definitely not hot. My old HR20-700 case use to get really hot.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,523 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 19 April 2013 - 06:10 PM

How many ways are there to use a client? :) You turn it on, or you turn it off. Other than that, while it is on, it is always streaming video from the server to the TV, or sending remote control commands back to the server. The only "variable" is how often you press the remote control button.

Our unit runs cooler, I assume, because it is velcroed to the back of the TV (face up). That must improve the convection and carries away some more heat.
Dish Network Customer from 1998-2001
DirecTV Customer since October, 2001
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

#43 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,349 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 April 2013 - 07:24 PM



Probably didn't put vents on top because it would look ugly.  You'd see that enormous heatsink on that Broadcom chip.

 

Most complicated ICs like that one end up being rated for industrial temperature ranges anyway, which puts the upper end at 85 C.  It would be interesting to figure out why the temperatures are that different between units -- it must be the way they're being used.

a) what chip ?

B) seen specs of it ?

c) post a link/extortion from PDF, etc

d) see post #36 with real specs for similar chip from STMicro.S

 

Seems to me you pick the temp [85C] from capacitors, not from specs of the BCM chip.


Edited by P Smith, 19 April 2013 - 09:35 PM.


#44 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 19 April 2013 - 08:57 PM

I'll try turning the client in the spare bedroom upside down and see if that makes it run any cooler.



#45 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 20 April 2013 - 11:24 AM

Well the client being upside down in the spare bedroom now reads 142F.



#46 OFFLINE   lacibaci

lacibaci

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2008

Posted 24 April 2013 - 02:00 PM

Problem solved. Got a small USB powered fan for ~$2, plugged it into C31 (the USB is powered even when C31 is off) and put C31 on top. The temp is now under 100°F.

fan.jpg



#47 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 24 April 2013 - 05:45 PM

But was there any problem to begin with? I haven't noticed any problems with our clients running at the temps they do.



#48 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,349 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:28 PM

But was there any problem to begin with? I haven't noticed any problems with our clients running at the temps they do.

you should see occasional hiccups: frozen picture, "chirp" sound, etc



#49 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:40 PM

Haven't seen any of that.



#50 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,349 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 April 2013 - 08:18 PM

you'll if the temp will go up to 150 F



#51 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 25 April 2013 - 02:38 AM

Nope, temps have been up to 158F before and nothing like that has happened.

That's what I am saying, has anyone actually had a problem because of the temps or is it all just speculation so far?


  • JBv likes this

#52 OFFLINE   lacibaci

lacibaci

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2008

Posted 25 April 2013 - 06:08 AM

Nope, temps have been up to 158F before and nothing like that has happened.

That's what I am saying, has anyone actually had a problem because of the temps or is it all just speculation so far?

 

Heat related issues are very difficult to track. You may get random freezes, reboots or other symptoms that may not be obvious. Running at 150°F 24/7 cannot be good for any electronics.



#53 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 25 April 2013 - 07:01 AM

So once again, were you having problems related to the temps?

The temps do seem high but so far the clients seem to be ok at those temps. I am just curious if anyone actually is having problems because of the heat or not.


Edited by betterdan, 25 April 2013 - 07:03 AM.


#54 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,349 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 April 2013 - 08:52 AM

So once again, were you having problems related to the temps?

The temps do seem high but so far the clients seem to be ok at those temps. I am just curious if anyone actually is having problems because of the heat or not.

If you are not an engineer, you better turn on common sense - how long you'll drive your car if coolant temp is high ? Is there any problem ? How long you could live that way without enconteting an issue ? etc ... I gave you max Operation Tem for chips like the used in Cxx, what else you need to predict trouble ?


Edited by P Smith, 25 April 2013 - 08:53 AM.


#55 OFFLINE   bobcamp1

bobcamp1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 895 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2007

Posted 25 April 2013 - 09:33 AM



you'll if the temp will go up to 150 F


But what temperature exactly is that? Independent temp. sensor inside the cabinet or from one built into the main chip? Without the specs., we are all just guessing, but my point is that most modern day CPUs and FPGAs and combinations thereof are rated to temps. at 85C and above. For the Intel i7, the max. temp is Tcase of 100 C. Other parts of the chip are much hotter, and other parts are much cooler.

The entire top of the C31 (with the cover off) is one gigantic ugly heatsink for that main chip. Seems like D* went out of their way to avoid putting a fan in.

Edited by bobcamp1, 25 April 2013 - 09:34 AM.


#56 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,349 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 April 2013 - 10:12 AM

each chip has own complicity, you must not apply blindly op temp from i7 to the BCM; it's incorrect guess

adding to that, yes you see temp sensor reading not the Broadcom chip itself, so counting that I would say the main chip is hotter :(



#57 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 25 April 2013 - 11:51 AM

If you are not an engineer, you better turn on common sense - how long you'll drive your car if coolant temp is high ? Is there any problem ? How long you could live that way without enconteting an issue ? etc ... I gave you max Operation Tem for chips like the used in Cxx, what else you need to predict trouble ?

My car and these C31-700 boxes, that Directv owns, are two different things. I will be proactive and try to keep the car operating properly since I own it and also it has a gauge telling you when it is too hot. No one, including you, knows what the max operating temp of one of these boxes is before it is too high and will start causing problems. If you find out what that max temp is please post it as it would be interesting to know, although I still probably wouldn't put a fan or anything on it since it isn't my property anyways. 

The boxes are out in the open getting air flow and they still run around 140-158F (in my house) so maybe Directv designed them this way, I do not know nor do you since there is no information about the operating temps except ambient temps and neither you nor I, created these devices.

 

Like I said before if it dies, it dies. Directv will replace them for free so no skin off my back. If my car dies because of the heat I am screwed.

 

Hope you can see the differences in a car and a Directv C31-700, it doesn't take a lot of common sense to do that. ;)


Edited by betterdan, 25 April 2013 - 11:53 AM.

  • JBv likes this

#58 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,349 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 April 2013 - 12:08 PM

yeah, yeah ... would you tell me exactly what BCM chip inside of the client ? I did ask other ppl who did a picture for First Look, but got deaf ears/blind look :(



#59 OFFLINE   betterdan

betterdan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 25 April 2013 - 12:20 PM

No, I am not opening them up since they aren't mine. They are the property of Directv.



#60 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,349 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 April 2013 - 12:20 PM

chicken :D






spam firewall