Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

21-24 Mbps not enough bandwidth to stream On Demand!?!


  • Please log in to reply
130 replies to this topic

#101 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 May 2013 - 06:52 PM

Check out post #4 here: http://forums.solids...t-Center-(LABC)

 

You'll get an idea of how much DirecTV has invested into OnDemand


A.K.A VOS

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#102 OFFLINE   pdxBeav

pdxBeav

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 419 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2007

Posted 08 May 2013 - 01:03 PM

Check out post #4 here: http://forums.solids...t-Center-(LABC)

 

You'll get an idea of how much DirecTV has invested into OnDemand

 

Unfortunately, the amount invested doesn't always translate into an efficient system.



#103 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 May 2013 - 01:59 PM

Unfortunately, the amount invested doesn't always translate into an efficient system.

This is what I don't get/understand.

It works pretty well for me, so I don't understand if others have higher expectations or what.

I pick something to watch and "watch now" almost always works, and when it doesn't I download it and can watch it after it's downloaded enough to not run out of buffer, "The worst" has been taking twice as long to download as the program is. If it's 2 hours, I wait 1 and can watch.


A.K.A VOS

#104 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:58 PM

This is what I don't get/understand.

It works pretty well for me, so I don't understand if others have higher expectations or what.

I pick something to watch and "watch now" almost always works, and when it doesn't I download it and can watch it after it's downloaded enough to not run out of buffer, "The worst" has been taking twice as long to download as the program is. If it's 2 hours, I wait 1 and can watch.

RIght on!  I have a 20/5 FiOS connection and get constantly at least 18.  and have no problems using watch now feature.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#105 ONLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,978 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 08 May 2013 - 04:11 PM

Sounds like a peering issue.  Not enough peers to the internet backbone.  


- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#106 OFFLINE   mark40511

mark40511

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
  • LocationLexington KY
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 08 May 2013 - 04:43 PM

count me in as SLOW on demand as well. 

 

I've tested my ISP and nothing else is slow other than ON demand. Even hooking laptop to the very ethernet cable going into the HR24 to test that cable to see what type of speeds I'm getting and it's the same....Using Youtube on the HR24 is fast too, apps load fast.

 

I did a speedtest and got 21.5 mpbs down, 1.71 mpbs up..........downloaded a LARGE test file and it topped out downloading at just over 3000 kb/s. Pingtest.net showed line quality as A

 

No clue why it's horribly slow. It took 8 hours to download a 47 minute program from HGTV on demand.



#107 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 08 May 2013 - 05:41 PM

I've only ever had 1 issue with the download speed and it was when a movie was just released on demand through Starz.  I hate to hear other people having issues, granted i rarely get anything off regular networks.  I primarily just use the premium network on demand pages.


My posts, whether fact or opinion, are my own and in no way represent DirecTV or any affiliated enterprise or corporation.

#108 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 May 2013 - 09:33 PM

Sounds like a peering issue.  Not enough peers to the internet backbone.  

"Sounds like" is just a [maybe educated] guess.
To really get an idea of what and how DirecTV compares to other companies that are streaming based, one would need to look at the streaming rate of the playback after downloading.

 

U-Verse is a streaming based company, and I've been able to compare the exact same program between DirecTV SAT feed and U-Verse. U-Verse uses only 66% of the DirecTV bit-rate.

Now DirecTV OnDemand "mostly" gives the same bit-rate as with the SAT feed. The only place I've seen a difference was with a "watch now" verses the same  show downloaded. The watch now was 720p resolution, while the download was 1080i.


A.K.A VOS

#109 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 08 May 2013 - 09:48 PM

It was a few years ago when used comcast's OnDemand and it was terrible.  I had plenty of movies/shows that would pixelate or just stop altogether and give me some error message.  If it wasn't those issues, the lip sync would slowly get worse and worse until there was a 3-4 second delay.  I would imagine they've gotten better but I haven't used it recently so it would be for someone else to confirm.


My posts, whether fact or opinion, are my own and in no way represent DirecTV or any affiliated enterprise or corporation.

#110 OFFLINE   mark40511

mark40511

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
  • LocationLexington KY
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 09 May 2013 - 12:32 AM

Whatever my problem was seems to be corrected after I went to settings and reset network to defaults, then re connected to the internet and network services and everything connected with no errors.......After doing that ........It took 44 minutes to download a 43 minute program........Compared to last night 8 hour download, that's a major improvement.


Edited by mark40511, 09 May 2013 - 12:33 AM.


#111 ONLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,978 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 09 May 2013 - 10:55 AM

Whatever my problem was seems to be corrected after I went to settings and reset network to defaults, then re connected to the internet and network services and everything connected with no errors.......After doing that ........It took 44 minutes to download a 43 minute program........Compared to last night 8 hour download, that's a major improvement.


Hmm,
That's interesting. Maybe there is a bug in the network stack or some kind of loop or memory exhaustion that a reset clears? I mean there have been flaky performance issues on PC's for years with bad drivers. Could be a bug in the network drivers in the set top?

That could also help explain why some people have problems while others do not - even on very responsive connections.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#112 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,145 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 09 May 2013 - 11:42 AM

RIght on!  I have a 20/5 FiOS connection and get constantly at least 18.  and have no problems using watch now feature.

 

Do you have a Genie?  If so, try to watch Chernobyl Diaries using Watch Now.  My Genie refuses to play it, even though other DVRs in the house will.  No problem recording and immediately starting it though.


SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#113 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,917 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 09 May 2013 - 11:51 AM

HR34-700 here and it plays fine.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#114 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,145 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 09 May 2013 - 06:08 PM

HR34-700 here and it plays fine.


Thanks. Must be a bug on my end and am going to reboot. I just tried another movie (the Abe Lincoln Vampire one) and got the same message, yet I was able to start recording it on (highest quality) and play it immediately.
SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#115 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 May 2013 - 07:07 PM

Do you have a Genie?  If so, try to watch Chernobyl Diaries using Watch Now.  

tried it.  played fine.  No issues


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#116 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,304 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 09 May 2013 - 08:04 PM

Do you have a Genie?  If so, try to watch Chernobyl Diaries using Watch Now.  My Genie refuses to play it, even though other DVRs in the house will.  No problem recording and immediately starting it though.

I tried it on my HR34 also, watch now works fine.

 

FWIW I don't use VOD much. I didn't really expect watch now to work. I've tried a few programs since I saw this thread. Cinemax, HBO, a DirecTv training video all work fine. All come through in 720p. If I download VOD in 1080i to watch later it can sometimes take awhile.

 

I live in the sticks and DSL is my only option. 4mbs on a good test with a 42 ms ping. ;)

 

When we first started doing HDDVRs and internet I spent a lot of time playing with settings on my router to get everything to work just right. VOD, TV Apps, Pandora, YouTube they all just work. Now.




 


HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#117 OFFLINE   mystic7

mystic7

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 632 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2007

Posted 10 May 2013 - 04:43 AM

I have nothing to add to my thread. I just didn't want the last response to be from a Red Sox fan!!! ;) Go (1st Place!) Yanks! For a day or so anyway.



#118 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,145 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 10 May 2013 - 06:45 PM

Rebooted.  HR34 still claims my internet connection is "too slow" to Watch Now.  Despite the fact I get 30 down.  Despite the fact that I can hit record on High Quality and immediately watch the same show with no problem.  Despite the fact I can hit record Lower Quality and download and about a 2-3/1 ratio and despite the fact that other DVRs in the house can Watch Now with no issues.


SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#119 OFFLINE   mystic7

mystic7

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 632 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2007

Posted 11 May 2013 - 06:26 AM

It's crazy, right?



#120 OFFLINE   inf0z

inf0z

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2011

Posted 12 May 2013 - 07:50 PM

Directvs VOD & watch now has nothing to do with "servers". It strictly depends on your Internet connection and how it is connected to the DTV system.
If you are using a wifi deca you could have all sorts of problems, seeing how that is wireless!
If you use a broadband deca you more than likely never experience the "not enough bandwidth" error. Hard wired is always the best connection choice no matter what you are doing.

 

I don't think this is correct information.  While it is possible to get WIFI interference which could cause issues for some users, I am experiencing the same problem on a Coax CCK.  I also tested this on more than one ISP, the issue is on DIRECTV's end.  Server bandwidth and delivery method have a lot to do with it when you have a large amount of internet connected customers.  Software could also be at fault here.  


Edited by inf0z, 12 May 2013 - 07:56 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...