Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

(4) HR24 HD DVR resetting when no signal from dish


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   allen13331

allen13331

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 16 April 2013 - 06:09 PM

My dad and I have Directv HD DVRs installed in our motor homes.  Normally when traveling you encounter a time when you just can't get a signal or have to put the dish down due to poor weather.  Up until a few months ago you could still watch prerecorded programs on the DVR when the dish did not have a signal.  Now the DVRs keep resetting about every 10 minutes making it impossible to watch a program.  There are lots of Rvers that use Directv but Directv does not seem to be getting the message.  First level tech support seems to be keeping the information at their level and not sending it up the chain.  I have duplicated this problem on four DVRs so I know it is not a DVR issue.  I went into extreme detail with tech support explaining the issue however when I called back and asked to have the notes taken by the previous tech read back to me all it said was "DVR resets every 10 minutes".  My dad called in yesterday and spent two hours with tech support on the same issue however when I asked if anyone else had reported a problem they said they checked the reported bugs and no one had called in with a similar problem.  How do we get this issue resolved and how the (&%$&( do you get information passed on to someone that can resolve the issue? 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,400 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 17 April 2013 - 09:55 AM

You must be mindful to keep the DIRECTV RVers that use older, less enormous dishes separate from those who use Slimline dishes as the Slimline dishes are quite a bit more fuss.

 

What you're experiencing is not new (although the expiration may have been tweaked downward).  The Plus HD equipment has always had a timeout after which the boxes get really stinky about working.  Theories have been advanced that the timeout ranges from 13 to 30 something hours.  There are many threads about what the timeout period is and pleas for how to get around it.

 

If you frequently can't get a dish up and aimed for days at a time, you probably need to consider another way of getting your TV fix in the non-LOS spots.


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#3 OFFLINE   SnoBear

SnoBear

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2007

Posted 04 May 2013 - 04:47 PM

I too am experiencing the same reboot nonsense.  Makes it very difficult to allign the dish when it roboots itself every few minutes.  Before this glorious load of software, I was always able to watch recorded content with out constant reboots. What a pain..



#4 OFFLINE   coreybv

coreybv

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationDes Moines, IA
Joined: May 10, 2013

Posted 10 May 2013 - 06:48 PM

I've also just started having this problem recently.  In the past I've always been able to watch prerecorded stuff on my HR24 even when I wasn't able to get a signal, either because of LOS issues, or simply not being in one spot long enough to make it worth setting up the dish.

 

A couple weeks back we had a nasty wind storm which blew my tripod over (even with a 60 lb water jug anchoring it down).  I've finally come to the conclusion that it got knocked slightly out of alignment, even though it looks perfectly fine, because I can't get any signal at all, even a weak one, on any satellite.  

 

So, in the meantime, my dish has been "un-aimable", and I can't even watch my recorded stuff.  It boots up, I have just enough time to start a program, watch about 3 minutes of it, and then it reboots.  The most frustrating part is that it also does the frequent reboot when you're on the signal strength screen, so the aiming process is now more or less impossible unless you invest in an expensive meter.

 

In the middle of typing this my satellite guy showed up and I paid him a surprisingly small amount of money for a used dish and getting it aimed (this guy is awesome), and everything is working fine now.

 

But, I've come to the conclusion that DirecTV isn't doing this stuff by accident.  They are actively trying to discourage business from RV customers.  Fine.  As soon as I hit "Post" on this, my next activities are to call to find out how much it's going to cost to get out of my DTV contract, and then make an appointment to get Dish installed.



#5 OFFLINE   coreybv

coreybv

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationDes Moines, IA
Joined: May 10, 2013

Posted 10 May 2013 - 09:27 PM

Apparently, "Dish Network" is the magic words to say when you talk to DirecTV.

 

When I asked about cancelling, as soon as I said those words, I got transferred to a specialist.  My monthly bill just went down from $112 to $67 for the same programming.  And he threw in 3 months of Starz and Cinemax for free.  With no contract extension.

 

Also...  The regular customer service people told me that upgrading from an HR24 to a Genie was going to be around $400.  Now they're shipping me a Genie for free.  That will require a refresh on my 2 year contract, but it doesn't bind until I activate the Genie, so I still have some time to think about it.  At this point I can still just return it and cancel for the penalty if I decide to.  (The penalty is $20 per month remaining on your contract.  I would imagine my bargaining position was strengthened by only having 4 months left and being in a position where eating 80 bucks actually makes sense when compared with Dish's "new subscriber" rates.)

 

Still strongly considering Dish, especially after my installer told my how much easier they are to aim, but just thought I'd pass along.  If DTV is pissing you off, the "password" to getting to someone that will actually work with you is to ask about cancelling, and mention that Dish has some really attractive deals.


Edited by coreybv, 10 May 2013 - 09:31 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,291 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 May 2013 - 09:42 PM

 

 

Still strongly considering Dish, especially after my installer told my how much easier they are to aim, 

of course, that varies depending on who you ask.  if you ask me which one is easier, DirecTV by far.  don't let the fact that I have aimed about 1000+ DirecTV dishes fool you though!  !rolling


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   coreybv

coreybv

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationDes Moines, IA
Joined: May 10, 2013

Posted 12 May 2013 - 08:22 AM

of course, that varies depending on who you ask.  if you ask me which one is easier, DirecTV by far.  don't let the fact that I have aimed about 1000+ DirecTV dishes fool you though!  !rolling

 

I've aimed plenty of DirecTV dishes in the past, and have never had troubles.  However, I've been finding the new Slimline dish with the SWM 5 LNB to be extremely touchy...  Especially now that the receiver goes into a reboot loop when it doesn't have a signal, so I only get to use the signal strength screen for a few minutes at a shot, then I have to wait for it to reboot again....

 

If you've aimed over 1000 dishes, then I imagine you're a professional installer.  Not being one myself, I can't justify the price of a good meter, which I'm sure would eliminate the issues I'm having.  If I was aiming 5 dishes a day, it would be a good investment.  But when I only aim this thing that many times in a year, I just can't quite bring myself to spend the cash.....



#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,291 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 May 2013 - 02:41 PM

 

 

If you've aimed over 1000 dishes, then I imagine you're a professional installer.  Not being one myself, I can't justify the price of a good meter, which I'm sure would eliminate the issues I'm having.  If I was aiming 5 dishes a day, it would be a good investment.  But when I only aim this thing that many times in a year, I just can't quite bring myself to spend the cash.....

You are right  on both fronts.  But I believe that one must have the right  tools to do the job.  I mow my lawn a few times a year, and it does not get used at all in the winter.  yet I own lawnmower.  I could use a machete I guess but the lawnmower makes the job that much easy.  Same goes with your satellite dish.  you can spend hours or get the right meter and get it done in seconds.


  • west99999 likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   coreybv

coreybv

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationDes Moines, IA
Joined: May 10, 2013

Posted 12 May 2013 - 03:08 PM

You are right  on both fronts.  But I believe that one must have the right  tools to do the job.  I mow my lawn a few times a year, and it does not get used at all in the winter.  yet I own lawnmower.  I could use a machete I guess but the lawnmower makes the job that much easy.  Same goes with your satellite dish.  you can spend hours or get the right meter and get it done in seconds.

 

Yeah, I'm currently scouring eBay for a good price on a Birdog meter.  

 

I'm not going to spend $600 on a brand new meter, but if I can pick up something that will work for $150 or $200, I'd be happy with that.

 

And where do you live that you only have to mow the lawn a couple times a year?  Around here we have to do that twice a week spring through fall....


Edited by coreybv, 12 May 2013 - 03:11 PM.


#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,291 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 May 2013 - 05:51 PM

 

And where do you live that you only have to mow the lawn a couple times a year?  Around here we have to do that twice a week spring through fall....

It was an analogy, at bad one at best, but that was the first thing to come to mind, since I was thinking of mowing my lawn today!  !rolling


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   Joe Tylman

Joe Tylman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 366 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2012

Posted 13 May 2013 - 02:23 PM

Yeah, I'm currently scouring eBay for a good price on a Birdog meter.  

 

I'm not going to spend $600 on a brand new meter, but if I can pick up something that will work for $150 or $200, I'd be happy with that.

 

And where do you live that you only have to mow the lawn a couple times a year?  Around here we have to do that twice a week spring through fall....

 

 

http://www.solidsign...r-(satlook-lite


All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...