Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Changing from SD toHD


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Don C

Don C

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2013

Posted 22 April 2013 - 05:11 PM

Hello guys and gals.  Have been  Direct TV customer for 3 years.  Have had a standard round dish and  sd box, mounted on mobile pedestal for use at the house and RV during summer.  Was used at house as a backup with cable as primary.  Used the dish and box from home while traveling in RV

We recently got local TV stations in our area on Direct so had to update to HD to get locals and a $2 charge per month.  Had to change over to the slime line dish and new box.  Just wondering if this system will be as user friendly when traveling.   Old system was really easy to use….Throw down the dish anywhere close to level move back and forth till the beeps get loud and watch the tube.  

Question is will new Slimeline and HD box set up as easy  as the old system  while on the road??  Also will small round dish work with new HD box ??   Thanks in advance. 

DonC



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,399 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 22 April 2013 - 06:07 PM

The dish is pretty much the same for SD channels, but aiming for HD requires considerably more care.

 

The round dish will work if your receiver isn't an H25, but you won't get any HD or local channels.


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,289 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 April 2013 - 07:38 PM

.Throw down the dish anywhere close to level move back and forth till the beeps get loud and watch the tube.  

 

and none of the HD receivers have the "beep" anymore when in the signal meter screen.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,232 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:49 AM

Some receivers and the Genie DVRs use what is known as an SWM dish, and these cannot be used with the older round dish.  Aiming the sliming properly is much harder than aiming the round dish, but with some practice many do it easily when travelling in an RV.  If you do decide to use the round dish, you won't get any HD on the road.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...