Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 frequently becoming unresponsive


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bfranci

bfranci

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Jan 27, 2007

Posted 22 April 2013 - 06:59 PM

Hey guys, I have an HR20/100 running 0x66d from 2007 that was working well until a few weeks ago.  Over the last few weeks the box will once every 2 days or so become unresponsive to the remote and won't power on.  I can hear the hard drive running but it does not respond to the remote, causing me to need to do a hard reset on the box.

 

Are there any troubleshooting tips I can do?  If not, does anyone know of some good upgrade deals going on?  I have a slimline-3 dish and don't want to upgrade the dish, just the box if I need to.

 

Thanks!
Brad



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,566 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 22 April 2013 - 07:04 PM

If that HR20-100 is going into self checks and trying to fix errors often, I'm afraid it's probably nearing the end of its life.

You shouldn't need to change the dish as the Slimline 3 is perfectly fine for any other DVR.


DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,363 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 22 April 2013 - 07:10 PM

I have the same thing with my 2007 HR20-100 it's been happing before 66d. I ran all of the diagnostics with no errors. .???
Hate to give it up as I don't want a 21 to 23. Way to slow.

DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#4 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,566 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 22 April 2013 - 07:27 PM

HR24's are faster than the earlier models.


DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#5 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,363 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 22 April 2013 - 07:33 PM

I have two HR24s and they are great but when Directv sends out a replacement it's a crap shoot as to what you get.

DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#6 OFFLINE   drded

drded

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 373 posts
  • LocationTucson, AZ
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 23 April 2013 - 07:02 AM

My HR20-700 sometimes takes up to 20 seconds to respond when I press a number key to change channels. Other times it is johnny-on-the-spot. Aggravating, especially to my wife who starts pressing other keys. So far she has not thrown the remote across the room.


Edited by drded, 23 April 2013 - 07:03 AM.

5LNB Slimline
HR34-700 & HR24-200
HDMI > HDMI Switch > Toshiba DLP
NetGear Ethernet Switcher


#7 OFFLINE   bfranci

bfranci

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Jan 27, 2007

Posted 28 April 2013 - 08:57 PM

Quick update guys, ran the system test and saw this error returned -- Diagnostic Code 21-72-377, internal storage error detected.  If I moved to using an external drive would that work around the issue?  That could be cheaper than me having to commit to a new 24 month term.



#8 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 29 April 2013 - 08:34 PM

To get a failing dvr replaced should not cause an extended commitment.  If you call and give them the error code they will send you out a replacement dvr for $20 S&H without the PP, if you have the PP, its free S&H.



#9 OFFLINE   dravenstone

dravenstone

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 30 April 2013 - 07:16 PM

To get a failing dvr replaced should not cause an extended commitment.  If you call and give them the error code they will send you out a replacement dvr for $20 S&H without the PP, if you have the PP, its free S&H.

This is what I just went through getting an HR24-500 replaced (they sent an HR24-200) had to pay the 20, but included the return shipping label, the CSR told me to double check that, they sometimes forget the return shipping label and if you call back in they will send one your way, but mine had one.

 

I will say I think it's borderline criminal to be charged Shipping and Handling to replace a broken piece of hardware, but I'm also pretty frustrated with D* right now and all the issues I'm having with my DVR's slow responses so my opinions may be jaded. 






Protected By... spam firewall...And...