Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

1080p Question


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   RMSko

RMSko

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 249 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 23 April 2013 - 01:10 PM

I have the HR34 and just got a new 1080p TV. I have native off and have the resolution fixed at 1080i, however, I'm wondering if there is a way to have a fixed 1080p resolution or will it only switch to 1080p when the source is 1080p?  When I cycle through the resolutions it is skipping over 1080p so I assume it can't be a fixed resolution, but I just want to make sure. 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Yoda-DBSguy

Yoda-DBSguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,083 posts
  • LocationA Galaxy Far, Far Away.....
Joined: Nov 04, 2006

Posted 23 April 2013 - 01:13 PM

It will only switch and display 1080P when the source content is broadcast or presented in that format.

 

Currently, only some VOD and PPV area available at those resolutions since no programing source broadcasts at anything higher than 1080i.



#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,679 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 April 2013 - 04:24 PM

Yep, it is not a fixed resolution, but it will switch over to 1080p whenever you have 1080p content and assuming your TV supports DirecTV format of 1080p/24fps


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,856 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:28 AM

I have the HR34 and just got a new 1080p TV. I have native off and have the resolution fixed at 1080i, however, I'm wondering if there is a way to have a fixed 1080p resolution or will it only switch to 1080p when the source is 1080p?  When I cycle through the resolutions it is skipping over 1080p so I assume it can't be a fixed resolution, but I just want to make sure. 

It will auto-switch to 1080p/24 when the source material is at that resolution and frame rate. However, some TVs, while supporting 1080P, do not support 24 fps (frames per second), and if they don't, they are incompatible with the D* equipment. Your D* box should auto-detect if your tv suppports 1080p/24, and show it in its resolutions. There isn't a discrete 1080p indicator light on the front panel, but as I recall, multiple LEDs light up in the 1080p/24 mode.


...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,679 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 April 2013 - 08:06 AM

. There isn't a discrete 1080p indicator light on the front panel, but as I recall, multiple LEDs light up in the 1080p/24 mode.

all of the newer DirecTV receivers (H24 and HR24 and H25 and HR33/44) have "discrete" 1080p indicators.  all others light up BOTH the 720p and 1080i LEDs to indicate 1080p mode


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,856 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 24 April 2013 - 08:10 AM

all of the newer DirecTV receivers (H24 and HR24 and H25 and HR33/44) have "discrete" 1080p indicators.  all others light up BOTH the 720p and 1080i LEDs to indicate 1080p mode

Good info, all my stuff is old and uses the "dual light" approach.


...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#7 OFFLINE   Smooth Jazzer

Smooth Jazzer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 183 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 24 April 2013 - 05:58 PM

I have the HR34 and just got a new 1080p TV. I have native off and have the resolution fixed at 1080i, however, I'm wondering if there is a way to have a fixed 1080p resolution or will it only switch to 1080p when the source is 1080p?  When I cycle through the resolutions it is skipping over 1080p so I assume it can't be a fixed resolution, but I just want to make sure. 

I can' t talk about how 3D affects your situation. However it will only show 1080p on the PPV 1080p movies as far as I know.



#8 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,475 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 25 April 2013 - 05:45 AM

A TV that is 1080p resolution converts all signals to it to that format before putting it to the screen.
The 1080i ( interlaced ) is converted to 1080p ( progressive ).
720p enlarges the pixels to fill the 1080p screen.

Edit: fixed error.

720p picture is manipulated and distributed to the larger pixel screen


Edited by jimmie57, 27 April 2013 - 08:54 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,849 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 April 2013 - 09:14 AM

A TV that is 1080p resolution converts all signals to it to that format before putting it to the screen.
The 1080i ( interlaced ) is converted to 1080p ( progressive ).
720p enlarges the pixels to fill the 1080p screen.

Not that easy, son.

 

Not the pixels but a picture ! And it's very ineresting process if you know the chips ... just one aspect: enlarge moving moving object if a video source is interpolated fields...


Edited by P Smith, 25 April 2013 - 09:16 AM.


#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,679 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 25 April 2013 - 02:09 PM

A TV that is 1080p resolution converts all signals to it to that format before putting it to the screen.
The 1080i ( interlaced ) is converted to 1080p ( progressive ).
720p enlarges the pixels to fill the 1080p screen.

Yep, Agree with previous post.  There is more to it.

 

Here is a place to start.

 

http://en.wikipedia....ki/Video_scaler


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,098 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 25 April 2013 - 04:27 PM

A TV that is 1080p resolution converts all signals to it to that format before putting it to the screen.
The 1080i ( interlaced ) is converted to 1080p ( progressive ).
720p enlarges the pixels to fill the 1080p screen.

The pixels are always the same size, for a particular piece of hardware. If you have a signal that is lower resolution than the TV, the scaler creates the missing pixels by looking at the "real" pixels surrounding the empty ones.  Here's an article describing the process in more detail http://hometheater.a...ng-size-matters



#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,679 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 25 April 2013 - 07:21 PM

Ahh, much better than mine.... :righton:


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 26 April 2013 - 02:30 AM

And 1080i has the same spatial resolution as 1080p, so if the display and/or scaler deinterlaces properly there should be absolutely no difference in picture resolution between the two.
HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations

#14 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,098 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 26 April 2013 - 07:49 AM

That's true with DirecTV, because the only 1080p signals are 1080p/24, and 1080i/60 carries the same information.  But if you have a true 1080p/60 signal, although the spacial resolution is the same, there are twice as many frames per second carrying different information. None of the broadcast systems (Off-air, cable, satellite etc) carry 1080p/60, but there are certainly some video camaeras that will capture at 1080p/60. 



#15 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,849 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 April 2013 - 09:04 AM

..., but there are certainly some video camaeras that will capture at 1080p/60. 

there are  new 4K and 8K models



#16 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,568 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 26 April 2013 - 08:09 PM

The pixels are always the same size, for a particular piece of hardware...

 

Put another way, the pixels for any hardware are fixed, they do not change size or move. But we have to clarify what pixels we are speaking of. The pixels in the incoming video do change from format to format, and are larger in 720p than in 1080i, for instance. Also, chroma pixels are 4 times larger in HD (4:2:0) than luminance pixels, even in the same format (so for a 1080p TV displaying 1080p video, each physical group of 4 pixels is assigned the exact same value for every pixel in the set of 4).

 

The pixels in a display are physical chunks of LCD or plasma light engine arrays of R, G, and B, but the pixels in the video signal are instead virtual location assignments, and so they can change size and move from format to format.

 

A 1080p TV simulates the larger pixels of 720p by rescaling. Since the same piece of real estate (the screen raster) is used for both, that means dividing 1920 fixed hardware pixels per scan line by 1280 formatted pixels per line, which is 1.5. That means that each virtual 720 pixel really needs a hardware pixel location that is 1.5 times wider and 1.5 times taller.

 

But that is a very simple task, using a very simple algorithm. The way to do that (for the first three pixels of line 1) is to assign the value of 720 pixel 1 to 1080 pixel 1, then assign the average of the value for 720 pixel 1 and 720 pixel 2 to 1080 pixel 2, then assign the value of 720 pixel 2 to 1080 pixel 3. Two 720 pixels stretched across three 1080 pixels. And the pattern repeats all down the line.

 

It gets slightly more complicated in line 2, because you have to average in the vertical dimension also. But in reality the math is pretty simple; each new (rescaled to 1080) hardware pixel is assigned a value based on some combination of 1/9th, 2/9ths, or 4/9ths of certain 720 virtual pixels, and the pattern repeats every 3 pixels across, and every 3 pixels down. If you lay one grid over the other, that becomes abundantly clear.

 

That's a lot of math, but it is all simple math, and it is repetitive and non-changing, so it can be hard coded directly into the scaler chip which means it can rescale completely accurately and very quickly. Making the conversional math simple is what was behind chosing 1080, 720, 768, and 480 in the first place; they are all even numbers that can be multiplied or divided by the same simple integers to get from one pixel map to another without error.

 

But one of the common misunderstandings is that 1080p when it refers to a display is not the same thing as 1080p when it refers to a video signal. They are both progressive and describe the same pixel map, but there are advantages to 1080p the video signal that do not come with 1080p the designation for a display. All flat panel TVs display progressively, regardless whether the input signal is progressive or interlaced, and always have (CRTs are different). But you also have to have a video signal that was originally acquired in the field as progressive (and never interlaced then or later) to see the benefits of that even if it comes to you formatted later as 1080p; a TV that scans progressively still suffers from interlace error if the signal was acquired as interlaced and formatted as 1080p, or is formatted as 1080i.

 

And, you have to have a TV set that is compatible with 1080p signals as well. Most TVs that are 1080p TVs are not compatible with 1080p signals, because 1080p refers to two different things. We've had 1080p TVs for about 8 years commercially, but only in the last few years have some of the higher-end 1080p TVs become compatible with 1080p content. Most 1080p TVs and all older 1080p TVs have no idea what to do with a 1080p signal.


It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.

#17 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,568 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 26 April 2013 - 08:24 PM

And 1080i has the same spatial resolution as 1080p, so if the display and/or scaler deinterlaces properly there should be absolutely no difference in picture resolution between the two.

 

That is true for still pictures, for static images. But for 1080i resolution drops dramatically as soon as anything in the picture moves, which is the supposed advantage of 1080p over 1080i. That sounds pretty serious, but in real life resolution also drops dramatically when things begin to move. A speeding car or bobsled in real life is a blur if your eye is not tracking it. And of course if the frame rate is that low (24 fps) any supposed advantage of freedom from interlace error is greatly offset by the flicker rate, which is far inferior in 1080p24 to that of 1080i30 or 720p60.

 

This is also why the perceived resolution of 1080i and 720p are virtually the same, with perceived resolution being slightly better for still images when 1080i, and slightly better for moving images when 720p. And this is also why no one can tell the difference between 720p and 1080i from just viewing it, and why one format is not inherently better than the other, which is why the ATSC and DVB chose both.

 

Very similar reasons are behind why no one can identify 1080p24 from either 1080i30 or 720p60, and why it's supposed advantage is more hype and myth than reality.


Edited by TomCat, 26 April 2013 - 08:26 PM.

It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.

#18 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,098 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 26 April 2013 - 08:44 PM

...and also why 1080p/24 is (simplistically) "the same" when delivered  as 1080i. Successive interlaced scans are identical (there's no movement between them) so there's no progressive advantage.

 

And your point about losing the advantage of progressive scan unless the signal is progessive all the way from the source is often ignored by people, who think that converting to progressive somehow eliminates the interlacing problem with fast motion (not that, as you say, anyone can see that in practice)






Protected By... spam firewall...And...