Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

FOX News Issues - Cutting to commercial too early,


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   LakeSteve

LakeSteve

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2012

Posted 24 April 2013 - 08:16 AM

I've been watching alot of FOX News the past week. I've noticed the anchor going to break and teasing the upcoming story before being abruptly cut off by the commercial a few seconds early. This occurs on all my tv's with two different receivers. This has to be an issue with them sending their satellite cue's too early, right? The only time this should happen is if they are at a "hard" break and must be in commercial by a certain time but the anchor runs out of time, but this happens almost every break!



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Newshawk

Newshawk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,427 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2004

Posted 24 April 2013 - 09:20 AM

If they are soft breaks, then the problem is on FNC's end.  Perhaps there's a glitch in their Master Control switcher software, or they're training a new MC Op.  It would only be a problem with satellite cues if it occurred at hard breaks only ( usually at the top and bottom of the hour, though they may have a different "clock".


DIRECTV employee April 2004-November 2012.
The above comments are my own because I don't know if anyone would care about my opinions anymore.


#3 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,960 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 24 April 2013 - 09:28 AM

Maybe it's all part of DirecTV's master plan? http://www.dbstalk.c...heir-whats-hot/  :eek: !rolling


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#4 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,538 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 24 April 2013 - 02:17 PM

I've been watching alot of FOX News the past week. I've noticed the anchor going to break and teasing the upcoming story before being abruptly cut off by the commercial a few seconds early. This occurs on all my tv's with two different receivers. This has to be an issue with them sending their satellite cue's too early, right? The only time this should happen is if they are at a "hard" break and must be in commercial by a certain time but the anchor runs out of time, but this happens almost every break!

 

If they are DirecTV drop ins, the problem exists between FNC and DirecTV. If they are regular commercials, then Fox News is having the problem themselves. Almost every commercial sounds like it is an internal Fox News problem.


LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo




Protected By... spam firewall...And...