Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

External Hard Drive for Genie


  • Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sliderbob

sliderbob

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2007

Posted 25 April 2013 - 03:54 PM

I have a Seagate 2tb external hard drive usb3.0. It has a usb3.0 a cable to micro b male connection. Instead of the usb a connection, I need it to be a sata connection to connect to the Genie. Is there a cable or even an adapter to have this connected?  Basically a male micro b to a male sata connection?

 

Thanks!



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,730 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 25 April 2013 - 04:21 PM

No, you need an enclosure that has eSATA.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#3 OFFLINE   Volatility

Volatility

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 436 posts
Joined: May 22, 2010

Posted 25 April 2013 - 05:56 PM

Also fyi when you connect an external hard drive the internal hard drive becomes disabled. So if you were hoping for a 3tb experience unforunately it doesn't work that way

#4 OFFLINE   sliderbob

sliderbob

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 193 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2007

Posted 25 April 2013 - 06:29 PM

Also fyi when you connect an external hard drive the internal hard drive becomes disabled. So if you were hoping for a 3tb experience unforunately it doesn't work that way

Yes, I know that. I was just running out of space on the internal drive and wanted to use the external over the weekends to record the HD movies...which take up space.


Edited by sliderbob, 25 April 2013 - 06:29 PM.


#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,753 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 April 2013 - 06:31 PM

see a thread full of knowledge about HR34 and external drive



#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,647 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 25 April 2013 - 07:01 PM

Yes, I know that. I was just running out of space on the internal drive and wanted to use the external over the weekends to record the HD movies...which take up space.

I record lots of stuff, but yet I got 90% free on my HR34.  I wonder how someone fills a 1TB HDD.... :confused:


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   Volatility

Volatility

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 436 posts
Joined: May 22, 2010

Posted 25 April 2013 - 07:23 PM

I record lots of stuff, but yet I got 90% free on my HR34.  I wonder how someone fills a 1TB HDD.... :confused:

 Recording like every episode of some seasons without deleting any would do the trick though why you would idk. You could record every Harry Potter and Lord of The Rings movie that came out to date and you would still have some room left on the genie. 1tb is way  too much tv watching for me; my hr22-200 is at 89% and my hr24-700 is 90%... 


Edited by Volatility, 25 April 2013 - 09:44 PM.


#8 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 25 April 2013 - 07:45 PM

I record lots of stuff, but yet I got 90% free on my HR34.  I wonder how someone fills a 1TB HDD.... :confused:

My HR24 has 75% free lol.  I'm lost on how someone fills up the 1TB as well.  I guess I can see how, but not why.


My posts, whether fact or opinion, are my own and in no way represent DirecTV or any affiliated enterprise or corporation.

#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,647 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 April 2013 - 05:25 AM

Right, the how is the easy part to understand, the why, well........
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,730 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 April 2013 - 05:44 AM

Some of us record entire seasons and not watch a single episode until the season is over.  Some of us record new shows and don't start watching until the show is renewed for a 2nd season.  Some of us save entire seasons of shows that are a continual story line in case we have to refer back to an older episode.  There are many other reasons as well.  It doesn't make us crazy like you are implying.


  • sigma1914 and sliderbob like this
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,647 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 April 2013 - 02:46 PM

Some of us record entire seasons and not watch a single episode until the season is over.  Some of us record new shows and don't start watching until the show is renewed for a 2nd season.  Some of us save entire seasons of shows that are a continual story line in case we have to refer back to an older episode.  There are many other reasons as well.  It doesn't make us crazy like you are implying.

I was never implying that someone was "crazy" because they have a full DVR.  But as we all know, all DVRs live on borrow time, we it goes, so does your shows.  This is why I only use my DVR as a time shifting device and not a storage device.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,510 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 26 April 2013 - 03:13 PM

Right, we don't want to end up like Sheldon Cooper and have an unresolved cliffhanger.

#13 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,730 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 April 2013 - 03:24 PM

Right, we don't want to end up like Sheldon Cooper and have an unresolved cliffhanger.

 

Which is exactly why I wait for some shows to finish.  :)  (loved the BBT bit too)

 

I don't see that as using a DVR as a "storage device" either. 


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#14 OFFLINE   Volatility

Volatility

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 436 posts
Joined: May 22, 2010

Posted 26 April 2013 - 05:33 PM

I was never implying that someone was "crazy" because they have a full DVR. But as we all know, all DVRs live on borrow time, we it goes, so does your shows. This is why I only use my DVR as a time shifting device and not a storage device.

Exactly. You have to eventually return the dvr unless it is or goes to non return rma status of which the genie isnt doing anytime soon. If i like a show that much I am going to buy the BluRay boxset. And some of these shows if you wanna know what happened you can download the episode on demand.


Edited by Volatility, 29 April 2013 - 10:51 AM.


#15 OFFLINE   sliderbob

sliderbob

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 193 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2007

Posted 27 April 2013 - 08:07 AM

When recording in HD, it takes up a lot of space over SD. If I would have recorded in SD, it would only be about 1/4 of the space over HD.



#16 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 91 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 29 April 2013 - 06:54 AM

Some of us record entire seasons and not watch a single episode until the season is over.  Some of us record new shows and don't start watching until the show is renewed for a 2nd season.  Some of us save entire seasons of shows that are a continual story line in case we have to refer back to an older episode.  There are many other reasons as well.  It doesn't make us crazy like you are implying.

 

That's exactly what I do with new shows. I can't stand getting into a show and then having it cancelled. Once they are picked up for a second season, I start watching the show.

 

Kevin



#17 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 91 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 29 April 2013 - 06:56 AM

Fun fact: Dish Network charges a 40.00 external hard drive activation fee, the ability to use an external is disabled until you pay it. DirecTV charges no such fee. Which is another reason why I prefer D* over E* even if I didn't work for D*.

 

I may be wrong, but doesn't Dish allow the external to be attached to any DVR on the account? I'd gladly pay DTV $40 to have that feature.

 

Kevin



#18 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,730 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 29 April 2013 - 08:23 AM

That's exactly what I do with new shows. I can't stand getting into a show and then having it cancelled. Once they are picked up for a second season, I start watching the show.

 

Kevin

 

Yeah, I've been burned by that too many times.  I've been doing this for years and it actually works out great.  Once a show is renewed for another season and the previous season is over I can knock out an entire season in only a couple of days.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#19 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,753 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 29 April 2013 - 09:00 AM



 

Fun fact: Dish Network charges a 40.00 external hard drive activation fee, the ability to use an external is disabled until you pay it. DirecTV charges no such fee. Which is another reason why I prefer D* over E* even if I didn't work for D*.

Fun is to see how you mangling without facts. :D

 

dish allow [last couple years] connect EHD to and move it between any DVR in your ACCOUNT for FREE! Try that for DTV DVR, :nono:


Edited by P Smith, 29 April 2013 - 09:03 AM.


#20 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,406 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 29 April 2013 - 09:45 AM

Fun fact: Dish Network charges a 40.00 external hard drive activation fee, the ability to use an external is disabled until you pay it. DirecTV charges no such fee. Which is another reason why I prefer D* over E* even if I didn't work for D*.

Fun fact debunked:  DISH only charges an EHD activation fee on their ViP211(k) non-DVR receiver that converts it to single-tuner DVR functionality.  This is a capability not shared by the DIRECTV H2x series of receivers.

 

EHDs are free to activate on all DISH HD DVRs and doing so doesn't disable the internal drive nor force you to reprogram your recording preferences.  Additionally, DISH EHD recordings can be shared among all HD DVRs on the account; something DIRECTV hasn't seen fit to implement.


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK





spam firewall