Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

External Hard Drive for Genie


  • Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,148 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:06 PM

OMG, IT does not.  I said that, it was a mistake, ohhh wait, you choose to deliberately skip that part in an effort to keep the charade…

 

The only thing I'm skipping, from now on, are your posts....


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,514 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:16 PM

I see you didn't get it ... please re-read post#43

 

there is no "base" it's a integral part of GoFlex; you can't 'change it", you must buy NEW GoFlex with desired interface (if it exist)

"conversion" ... oh man ! see post#43

No you NOT…..


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#53 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,514 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:16 PM

The only thing I'm skipping, from now on, are your posts....

Go right ahead…. !rolling


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#54 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,514 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:17 PM

Maybe this will clear up some confusion.

This is a GoFlex base. All it does is convert SATA to your interface of choice. An eSATA GoFlex base would convert SATA to...eSATA. In other words it wouldn't be an electrical conversion, just a physical one. You can even stick a normal SATA bare drive on a GoFlex base and it works.

At least someone is smart enough to understand…. :righton:


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#55 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,215 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:26 PM

:nono2:

 

 

OK, actually you can make a GoFlex work with any DirecTV system easily. You convinced me to find a solution.

You would need this: http://www.addonics....aadcpac12v.php AASAPS

Which would get you power to the drive.

And this: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16812120130

Which would convert the drive's SATA interface to an eSATA cable.

 

And here's a picture of the base of a GoFlex drive with if you still don't get it...

 

It's not branded as a Seagate solution but it does the exact same thing if such a solution did exist.

1st - I have it, the GoFlex USB type, so don't worry

2nd - I have the cables {L-I} and using them often more then you could imagine :D

3rd - I'm using not just "your invented" contraption (it would qualify as Mickey Mouse job)  but many different , include similar ad-hock type but for short tests - no one would recommend such umm "smart" solution for DVR !



#56 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,215 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:30 PM

if you can not use search , here is URL for the much real solution if you pretend to have it http://www.dbstalk.c...tec +easy +swap


Edited by P Smith, 08 May 2013 - 02:31 PM.


#57 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,111 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 09 May 2013 - 09:22 AM

I see you didn't get it ... please re-read post#43

 

there is no "base" it's a integral part of GoFlex; you can't 'change it", you must buy NEW GoFlex with desired interface (if it exist)

"conversion" ... oh man ! see post#43

 

Sorry, but you are wrong, you can change it out, and they do sell different ones so you can do so. 

 

Here's one for using it with Firewire:

http://www.amazon.co...ef=pd_sim_pc_13

 

Here's one for Thunderbolt:

http://www.amazon.co...9/dp/B009HQCAPQ

 

And USB 3.0.

http://www.amazon.co...adapter usb 3.0

 

They make an eSata one for the portable 2.5" Goflex Drives

http://www.amazon.co...x esata adapter

 

But not the 3.5" desk version  He wouldn't be the first person looking for a way to hook his GoFlex up with an eSata dock.  I found this thread right on Seagate's own forums where a few people were asking them to make one.

http://forums.seagat...ter/td-p/114150


Edited by Beerstalker, 09 May 2013 - 09:24 AM.

  • peds48 and Jacob Braun like this
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#58 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,215 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 09 May 2013 - 10:19 AM

Well, while you right in general, for particular thread it's still not feasible. :(

Quota of Seagate person from that thread:

I talked to our engineers about this, and there won't be an eSATA module for the GoFlex Desk drive.

The reason behind it is that eSATA is an older and slower interface, compared to USB3.0.



#59 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,514 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 May 2013 - 07:19 PM

Sorry, but you are wrong, you can change it out, and they do sell different ones so you can do so. 

 

Here's one for using it with Firewire:

http://www.amazon.co...ef=pd_sim_pc_13

 

Here's one for Thunderbolt:

http://www.amazon.co...9/dp/B009HQCAPQ

 

And USB 3.0.

http://www.amazon.co...adapter usb 3.0

 

They make an eSata one for the portable 2.5" Goflex Drives

http://www.amazon.co...x esata adapter

 

But not the 3.5" desk version  He wouldn't be the first person looking for a way to hook his GoFlex up with an eSata dock.  I found this thread right on Seagate's own forums where a few people were asking them to make one.

http://forums.seagat...ter/td-p/114150

Alleluia, Alleluia, Alleluia, Alleluia, Alleluia, Alleluia.  Finally somebody call them out on how it is….

 

Awesome  :righton:


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#60 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,514 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 May 2013 - 07:19 PM

 

Well, while you right in general, for particular thread it's still not feasible. :(

Quota of Seagate person from that thread:

I talked to our engineers about this, and there won't be an eSATA module for the GoFlex Desk drive.

The reason behind it is that eSATA is an older and slower interface, compared to USB3.0.

 

so this makes it wrong??????


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#61 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,042 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 14 May 2013 - 09:14 AM

I have 2 externals without fans, never had a problem in the years I've been using them.  Enclosures without fans are fine.

 

And using an adapter to go from USB 3.0 to eSATA is not a good idea due to the speed differences.

 

Yup, I haven't used an external device with a fan in it in years.  

 

Rich



#62 OFFLINE   Special Ed

Special Ed

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 04 June 2013 - 06:51 PM

Fantom GreenDrive 3TB eSATA

Would one of these work?



#63 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,215 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 June 2013 - 08:36 PM

It should, but you must try and report here, positive or negative personal experience ... don't forget to post your DVR full model name, like HR34-700



#64 OFFLINE   Special Ed

Special Ed

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 05 June 2013 - 07:47 AM

It should, but you must try and report here, positive or negative personal experience ... don't forget to post your DVR full model name, like HR34-700

 

I have a Genie HR44-500



#65 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 855 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 05 June 2013 - 09:40 AM

HR44-500, WD20EURS (2TB), Vantec Nextar 3 enclosure. Working fine so far.


Steve

My Setup


#66 OFFLINE   whorne

whorne

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2011

Posted 05 June 2013 - 12:10 PM

HR44-500, WD20EURS (2TB), Vantec Nextar 3 enclosure. Working fine so far.

Thanks for the info. If you do not mind me asking, where did you get this setup?



#67 ONLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,406 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 05 June 2013 - 12:34 PM

Thanks for the info. If you do not mind me asking, where did you get this setup?

I have the exact same setup on my HR24-200 (where it also works great) and got it all at Micro Center.  Micro Center no longer sells the WD20EURS but I just recently received an ad from Amazon listing it. One thing I did learn about the enclosure is that if you completely power down the DVR for any length of time it will spin down the drive.  Then when you restart the DVR it will not spin up the drive quick enough and the DVR will boot on the internal drive.  The solution is to power cycle the enclosure, wait 15 - 20 seconds and then power the DVR


My Setup

#68 OFFLINE   whorne

whorne

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2011

Posted 05 June 2013 - 01:00 PM

I have a Micro Center close by. I will have to stop by and take a look.

I did notice this at the local Best Buy. http://www.bestbuy.c...65#tab=overview

 

Do you think it will work?



#69 OFFLINE   Special Ed

Special Ed

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 05 June 2013 - 01:10 PM

I ordered a Fantom GreenDrive 3TB eSATA, coming tomorrow.  I'll let you know how it works out. 

 

I had two HR24s?? two tuner DVRs at one location.  One died and replaced yesterday with a Genie plus added a mini Genie on a TV we only used for DVDs and replaced an out of date SAT receiver on another set with a mini Genie.

 

So now with the Genie's five tuners (and 3TB) I don't need the second two tuner DVR and will be getting rid of that but there are a lot of shows on that we need to watch down as that was our main DVR and the other was for mostly kids shows and a few series pass conflicts.

 

I wish I could just transfer all my recordings from the old DVR to the Genie and be done with it.  

 

Now I have three TVs with DVR capability instead of one and the monthly price will eventually be about the same.



#70 ONLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,406 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 05 June 2013 - 01:31 PM

It should work, what is nice about the EURS series is that they were specifically designed for DVR service. Here is a linkhttp://www.amazon.co...ywords=wd20eurs


My Setup




Protected By... spam firewall...And...