Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

genie question


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   snowden2876

snowden2876

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
  • Locationoklahoma
Joined: Apr 28, 2013

Posted 29 April 2013 - 03:14 PM

I am getting a new genie...with one client...I have an hr 24 and h20. As well as a d11. Getting rid of the d11 and h20...going to use the genie on one tv.. the hr 24 on one tv and the client on another... will the hr 24 show what is on the genie and vise versa without a client... or do I need a client hooked up to the hr24? Thank you for any help

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,851 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 29 April 2013 - 03:29 PM

You don't need a Client for the HR24.


DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#3 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,300 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 29 April 2013 - 05:31 PM

Yup, the Genie and the HR24 will see each other through the network and can playback shows from each other.  The client will playback shows from the Genie and the HR24 too.


Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#4 OFFLINE   snowden2876

snowden2876

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
  • Locationoklahoma
Joined: Apr 28, 2013

Posted 29 April 2013 - 08:28 PM

Sweet. Thanks for helping!

#5 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,155 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 29 April 2013 - 09:36 PM

You will really like this set-up!  Having all that flexibility is pretty awesome.

 

One recommendation:  Double record your favorite things for a while on both the Genie and the DVR.  Just until you are sure things are working the way you want.

 

I actually still do it on almost all my series links.  That way I can be sure if one receiver reboots or fails somehow during a recording, the other will still have it.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup





spam firewall