Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need help badly....


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rdaily104

rdaily104

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2013

Posted 30 April 2013 - 10:01 AM

I have a 3 NLB 18X20 dish with no SWM. I am trying to use it in my RV with an H 25 receiver. I can not get the satellite to communicate with my receiver. I hooked it up directly and used a signal meter....got nothing! What am I missing or doing wrong?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,302 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 30 April 2013 - 10:05 AM

The H25 requires a SWiM setup. You need to get a SWiM module to make that dish work with that receiver.


Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#3 OFFLINE   rdaily104

rdaily104

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2013

Posted 30 April 2013 - 10:34 AM

I also have other older receivers, would they work?

#4 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,295 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 30 April 2013 - 10:46 AM

Yes, they should work, assuming everything else is set up correctly. The only receivers that require SWM are H25 and Genie (HR34/HR44)


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#5 OFFLINE   rdaily104

rdaily104

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2013

Posted 30 April 2013 - 11:03 AM

Okay, I tried the other receiver with no luck! I switched the setting to the dish I have and connected the satellite finder and still nothing! Doesn't light up at all. Wanted to make sure it worked so I checked the home dish and finder works great! This is very frustrating....any other help would be awesome

#6 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,857 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 30 April 2013 - 01:03 PM

What are the model numbers of your other receivers?

 

All of the HD receivers and DVRs will work with SWM.  The R16 SD DVR and D12 SD receiver will work with SWM. But any older SD equipment will not.

 

If you have the b-band converters on any of your equipment, it has to be removed for use with SWM, and only one coax feed is connected to the Sat1/SWM input connector.

 

It is sometimes a bit tricky to switch a unit back and forth between SWM and non-SWM.



#7 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,417 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 01 May 2013 - 01:10 PM

Okay, I tried the other receiver with no luck! I switched the setting to the dish I have and connected the satellite finder and still nothing! Doesn't light up at all. Wanted to make sure it worked so I checked the home dish and finder works great! This is very frustrating....any other help would be awesome

With the older receiver set to the proper dish and Multi switch, if the signal meter gets no signal, the dish is misaligned or possibly a bad LNB.

There are different numbers for the side to side ( magnetic vs true ) that are conflicting and it is not unusual for a person to be pointed at the 110 sat instead of the 101. Try moving it about 15 degrees to the East from where you think it should be and then very slowly move it to the west.


Edited by jimmie57, 01 May 2013 - 01:10 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#8 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 01 May 2013 - 03:15 PM

You say you have an older 3 lnb 18x20, this dish does not recieve the HD channels.  It also aligns on the 101 sat.  As has been stated, with this dish, you will not recieve any signal with the H25 reciever.

 

If you have a D10, D12, or R16, R22, then you can use this dish and recieve ONLY SD programing.

 

Also, what kind of meter are you using?  If you paid less then $60.00 for it, it is worthless for finding the CORRECT sat.

 

Good luck


  • bayouboy likes this

#9 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,968 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 01 May 2013 - 05:31 PM

You say you have an older 3 lnb 18x20, this dish does not recieve the HD channels.  It also aligns on the 101 sat.  As has been stated, with this dish, you will not recieve any signal with the H25 reciever.

 

If you have a D10, D12, or R16, R22, then you can use this dish and recieve ONLY SD programing.

 

Also, what kind of meter are you using?  If you paid less then $60.00 for it, it is worthless for finding the CORRECT sat.

 

Good luck

The 3 LNBF 18" x 20" dish (Phase III) actually aligns to the 110 sat. longitude position. The 101 and 119 slots are then received ± 9° in azimuth off-axis from there. Ideally at least.


Edited by HoTat2, 01 May 2013 - 05:32 PM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 May 2013 - 07:33 PM

The 3 LNBF 18" x 20" dish (Phase III) actually aligns to the 110 sat. longitude position. The 101 and 119 slots are then received ± 9° in azimuth off-axis from there. Ideally at least.

this dish is "centered" on the 110, but "we" techs use the 101 to align the dish.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,726 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 May 2013 - 10:49 PM

this dish is "centered" on the 110, but "we" techs use the 101 to align the dish.

Get get why, but it must make adjusting the tilt harder.


A.K.A VOS

#12 OFFLINE   rdaily104

rdaily104

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2013

Posted 02 May 2013 - 04:08 AM

I will try to all the suggestions tomorrow. I appreciate the help. I have a radio shack finder. I works well when connected to my existing dish on the house. Does it matter if which one of the outputs on the dish I connect too?  



#13 OFFLINE   rdaily104

rdaily104

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2013

Posted 02 May 2013 - 04:11 AM

Also, is there an inverter on this dish. One did not come with it... but I have been reading I might need one.



#14 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 02 May 2013 - 05:16 AM

An 18x20 does not require an "inverter" it uses the power from the receiver to power the switch and lnb's.

 

Your Radio Shack meter requires power to operate, it also gets that from the receiver. An H25 is designed for SWM and does not put out power, so your meter would not work.

 

If your using the cable hookup on the outside of your RV thats most likely what it was designed for, cable. Most wont work with satellite without some re-engineering.


HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#15 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 May 2013 - 07:46 AM

Get get why, but it must make adjusting the tilt harder.


not really. I use the AIM meter and I never have to adjust the tilt. of course, the mast must be perfectly level and plumb
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#16 OFFLINE   rdaily104

rdaily104

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2013

Posted 03 May 2013 - 01:08 PM

Okay and update, I put another receiver out there and connected straight to dish. The receiver is a D12-500, I got the signal meter to start sounding and arrow moving. I also have the receiver set to 3 lnb 18x20. Nothing still! I tried it with the b band and without the b band....I have used apps on the phone to find the satellite and also punched in the zip on the receiver and used those settings..... I need some help guys before I start throwing stuff.....



#17 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,968 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 May 2013 - 04:35 PM

Okay and update, I put another receiver out there and connected straight to dish. The receiver is a D12-500, I got the signal meter to start sounding and arrow moving. I also have the receiver set to 3 lnb 18x20. Nothing still! I tried it with the b band and without the b band....I have used apps on the phone to find the satellite and also punched in the zip on the receiver and used those settings..... I need some help guys before I start throwing stuff.....

Hummm ...

 

First ditch the B-Band Converter, it not used in this installation. And the Radio Shack meter is not very useful since it responds to Ku band signals from any satellite signal the LNBF picks up.

 

Just rely on the 101, 110, 119 satellite signal strength screens on the D12 for this.  

 

Now if the mast is plumb and rigid once the dish elevation and tilt are then set correctly for your location, panning the dish carefully around wherever the 110 satellite position is with respect to your locale should bring in the 32 signals on the 101 signal strength screen with 0 on most if not all transponder numbers 4, 12, 18, 20, 26, and 28 as those are on local spotbeams.

 

This all assuming the mast is plumb as stated, the LNBF and connecting cable good, and the D12 in non-SWiM (or legacy) mode of course.

 

What is the zip code of your location BTW?  


Edited by HoTat2, 03 May 2013 - 04:36 PM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#18 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 03 May 2013 - 05:52 PM

As Hotat2 stated, get rid of the b band adaptor, throw away the radio shack meter, it "LOOKS" at EVERY satellitte in the sky, it was a waste of money.

 

Now, go to dishpointer.com, enter your address, then go dowm and select mulit lnb setups, and select DTV 3 lnb (101,110,119), then click on the go button by your address.

 

This will bring up a picture of your location and at the bottom will give you the settings that you need to align the dish.



#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,315 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 May 2013 - 08:30 PM

Perhaps is time to watch some YouTube videos on this subject to get a "feeling" since it looks like this is your first time doing this.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#20 OFFLINE   rdaily104

rdaily104

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 30, 2013

Posted 05 May 2013 - 11:10 AM

This is for sure my first time.... I will be taking the radioshack crap back then. What does D12 in non swm mean? Is there something I am missing on the receiver itself. I have changed the dish setting to LNB 3 multi dish... I have tried to find decent You tube videos and most seem to be for selling stuff....






spam firewall