Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Uplink Activity for May 2013


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,323 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 30 May 2013 - 07:45 AM

So this looks like the Binghamton DMA has gone HD?




"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 30 May 2013 - 08:15 AM

That would seem to be the case, yes.


"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#28 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,323 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 30 May 2013 - 09:12 AM

That would seem to be the case, yes.

Cool, i've got friends and family there, could be some Club Dish referrals in my future at least for those that don't care about RSN's anyway.




"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#29 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,323 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 30 May 2013 - 09:39 AM

Hmmm.....just called someone in Binghamton who has Hopper & HD w/ Dish to see if they're seeing those HD locals yet. Says not yet of course I suppose it's possible someone might not see them until the next time their receiver gets an overnight update.




"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#30 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,297 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 May 2013 - 01:24 PM

Hmmm.....just called someone in Binghamton who has Hopper & HD w/ Dish to see if they're seeing those HD locals yet. Says not yet of course I suppose it's possible someone might not see them until the next time their receiver gets an overnight update.

They would have to be on the eastern arc...  And they would then have no choice but to see them, as the SD versions of those HD locals were removed at the same time the HD ones were added (per the uplink James posted).


-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#31 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,323 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 30 May 2013 - 01:55 PM

They would have to be on the eastern arc...  And they would then have no choice but to see them, as the SD versions of those HD locals were removed at the same time the HD ones were added (per the uplink James posted).

And now that you point that out, I bet they are on WARC. Guess that'll have to be dealt with, probably not until Dish actually acknowleges that they've done it, so far no official announcement from them confirming it.




"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#32 OFFLINE   JWKessler

JWKessler

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2004

Posted 30 May 2013 - 02:48 PM

Just a heads up ... The Binghamton, NY locals just went HD today. Yippy!

 

...

 

Oops - I see that information was actually posted already. My browser cach wasn't showing the update so I thought I was first with the news. Anyway, I'm a happy Dish Customer now.


Edited by JWKessler, 30 May 2013 - 02:50 PM.


#33 OFFLINE   JWKessler

JWKessler

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2004

Posted 30 May 2013 - 02:53 PM

They would have to be on the eastern arc...  And they would then have no choice but to see them, as the SD versions of those HD locals were removed at the same time the HD ones were added (per the uplink James posted).

That is how we noticed the change. Our timers all stopped working when the SD versions went away.



#34 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,297 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 May 2013 - 10:13 PM

That is how we noticed the change. Our timers all stopped working when the SD versions went away.

That's the only bad thing in these situations.. it would really be nice if Dish programmed in a way to automatically fix timers when they make changes of this nature since it would be an easy "assumption" to update all the timers for the newly added HD channels after they remove your SD ones.  If you were out of town for the weekend or more, you might miss a bunch of stuff before you got back to make the fix yourself.


-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here





Protected By... spam firewall...And...