Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Any Apple TV users?


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   TedBarrett

TedBarrett

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 292 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2007

Posted 05 May 2013 - 02:23 PM

It plays audio fine but couldn't get any video, just a red square that fades out on the PC screen. Is that because of the trial version?


I have the PC paid version $12.99? Works fine recording the iPad screen and audio. Haven't tried to use it to record any DRM stuff. But it did record me playing around with some synths and drawing apps just fine. Great for showing some how-to stuff.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   HDJulie

HDJulie

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 858 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 20 May 2013 - 05:42 PM

My sister has an ATV2 & an iPad 3.  She has a TV in her kitchen that she cannot get a cable to so she can't watch her recorded shows on it (they watch the kitchen tv a lot these days).  The iPad app will not let you watch your recorded shows, right?  I was hoping she could do that & then use AirPlay to the ATV that's hooked to the kitchen tv :-).



#23 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,725 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 20 May 2013 - 06:26 PM

My sister has an ATV2 & an iPad 3.  She has a TV in her kitchen that she cannot get a cable to so she can't watch her recorded shows on it (they watch the kitchen tv a lot these days).  The iPad app will not let you watch your recorded shows, right?  I was hoping she could do that & then use AirPlay to the ATV that's hooked to the kitchen tv :-).


I believe you are correct in that she will not be able to interface between her ATV and DTV.

One of the nomad users might be able to chime in to help. I'm not sure if you can watch a nomad recording thru airplay as I don't have a nomad. This might be a possibility.

#24 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,770 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 20 May 2013 - 06:36 PM

You can't AirPlay Nomad/GoGenie either. You can use the mirror feature of the iPad though.

#25 OFFLINE   HDJulie

HDJulie

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 858 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 20 May 2013 - 06:43 PM

Hmm, that's interesting that you can't AirPlay a Nomad recording.  I'll have to look into how to mirror.



#26 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,725 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 20 May 2013 - 08:21 PM

Apple connector to either HDMI or RCA plugs. Check Apple store as I believe they have several different types. Find what your TV needs.

#27 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,907 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 May 2013 - 09:02 PM

You can also mirror using Airplay wirelessly.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#28 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,725 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 21 May 2013 - 05:29 AM

HDJulie,

Another possibility that you could do is to use a slingbox and app to get access to thew recordings then use airplay to the TV. There are pluses and minus's to this. On the minus side, you would have to purchase the slingbox and app. On the plus side, it would also allow viewing content outside of the home network.

Though I haven't used airplay with the slingbox app, I do use the ipad app every day to watch the news while I get ready for work. I find it very simple to work and allows me the flexability to go different rooms and not have to turn on each TV.

When I get time in the next day or so, I'll hook up my ATV3 and report back how it works.

Of course, there may ne other type "sling" devices that work just as good but I have no experience with those.

#29 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,816 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 21 May 2013 - 06:44 AM

Nomad does let you stream any recording from your HD DVRs to the clients. We replaced a 13" TV with RF link in the kitchen with a movable cabinet bracket for the iPad. Wife uses it or the streaming in DAFI while she's cooking.

We also take the ATV when we travel. Lots of times the HDMI connection or mirroring from the iPad is better than the local TV programming.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#30 OFFLINE   TedBarrett

TedBarrett

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 292 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2007

Posted 28 May 2013 - 01:12 PM

DAFI? Google failed me.

#31 OFFLINE   say-what

say-what

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,665 posts
  • LocationNew Orleans
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 28 May 2013 - 01:32 PM

DAFI?

DirecTV App for iPad


* Sat - 5lnb slimline dish - SWM16 F/W 2.0.24
* Network - hardwired - Apple Airport / Uverse 2wire router > Dell Studio XPS 800, Win7 Ultimate 64 bit, 8GB ram, Intel Core i7-860 processor, nVidia GeForce GTS240
* HR44-200/AM21 - coax enabled networking - hdmi to Sony STR-DG810 - Sony Bravia KDL-EX740 | Bose Acoustimass 600 5.1 speakers | Sony PS3 | xBox 360 | AppleTV | GenieGo
* HR24-500 - coax enabled networking - hdmi - Vizio Razor M260VA
* HR34-700/AM21 - Ethernet bridged - hdmi = Sony Bravia KDL-V26XBR1 | Slingbox Pro via HDConnect component cable


#32 OFFLINE   TedBarrett

TedBarrett

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 292 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2007

Posted 28 May 2013 - 01:53 PM

Doh!

#33 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,043 posts
  • LocationTeays Valley, WV
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 28 May 2013 - 06:38 PM

Yep.  If you really want an Apple TV2, be ready to spend "big bucks" on eBay. These are going for almost $500.00

 

No s**t????  I have one still sitting on the shelf from where I upgraded to the Gen 3.

 

Why the high price?


My Setup

 

Why can I get to the "Adult's Only" area faster than I can get to the "ToDo" List?  DirecTV, that is messed up!!!


#34 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,770 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 28 May 2013 - 06:48 PM

No s**t???? I have one still sitting on the shelf from where I upgraded to the Gen 3.

Why the high price?

Because they can be jailbroken, the ATV3 can't.

Edited by TheRatPatrol, 28 May 2013 - 06:50 PM.


#35 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,907 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 May 2013 - 07:41 PM

No s**t????  I have one still sitting on the shelf from where I upgraded to the Gen 3.

 

Why the high price?

you are waisting your time with the 3 if you have a 2 available.   


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#36 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,816 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 28 May 2013 - 08:05 PM

I have two ATV 2s . . .bid it up.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#37 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,907 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 May 2013 - 08:55 PM

I have two ATV 2s . . .bid it up.

The value is for the ones who know what to do with the ATV 2.  For anybody else there is no difference between the two.  as a matter of fact, they will tell  the ATV3 is better because it does 1080p!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#38 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,725 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 28 May 2013 - 09:22 PM

I have both a ATV 2 & an ATV 3. Both have their uses.

#39 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • Registered
  • 12,950 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 May 2013 - 08:06 AM

Heh. DAFI is one of the worst acronyms ever. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...