Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Can you hook up an OTA with the HR44?


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   TXD16

TXD16

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 913 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2008

Posted 30 August 2014 - 04:44 PM

I think I may need to go this route to get my local CW channel. I live in Waci and get the National DC feed but only in HD. When you do the set up can you pick and choose what OTA stations to add to guide? I have no problem getting my local big 4 in HD with satellite. I know you can only record 2 things at once off the AM21 (I have the genie HR44) just don't want there to be an issue when recording multiple shows at once from the big 4.

There are two ways to control which AM21 OTA channels appear in the guide:

 

1. Create a custom guide list and select only those OTA channels (and, of course, any others) that you wish to appear in said list (this is the method I use):

dtvota1.jpg

 

2. After completing your initial AM21 setup, under Edit Off-Air Channels, select only those OTA channels that you wish to globally appear in any guide list: 

dtvota.jpg


"We are fast approaching the stage of the ultimate inversion: the stage where the government is free to do anything it pleases, while the citizens may act only by permission; which is the stage of the darkest periods of human history, the stage of rule by brute force." - Ayn Rand


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • Registered
  • 3,679 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 30 August 2014 - 05:30 PM

Good advice! I don't remember being able to do option 2, but mine has been set up for so long...

Shannon

"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#53 OFFLINE   mpie314

mpie314

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
  • LocationWaco, TX
Joined: Aug 26, 2014

Posted 31 August 2014 - 09:51 AM

Thanks for the help guys! ANy suggestions on a quality indoor antenna? I've seen on amazon they have the AM21 paired up with the Mohu Leaf 30. That one seems like it is quality and gotten good reviews.



#54 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • Registered
  • 3,679 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 31 August 2014 - 10:58 AM

I got mine through solid signal. One of the flat pancake ones.

Shannon

"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#55 OFFLINE   sangs

sangs

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 453 posts
  • LocationNE New Jersey
Joined: Apr 02, 2008

Posted 31 August 2014 - 11:43 AM

They still make the Silver Sensor? Have had mine for several years now and it pulls in stations for which Antenna Web tells me I need a roof-mounted antenna. Just sits on my first-floor window sill. Unfortunately, the database on the AM21 doesn't pick up all the local sub channels I have available.  :mad2:



#56 OFFLINE   IndyBov

IndyBov

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationIndianapolis
Joined: Jun 17, 2015

Posted 17 June 2015 - 02:57 AM

17.2 is in DirecTV's database

KyL416, could you perhaps lookup the local channels for me?  I just had DIRECTV installed yesterday.  We have the Genie HR44-500

 
and two of the Genie mini C41-100.
 
The OTA channels I am interested in are 13.3 and 59.2 in the Indianapolis market.  My zip code is 46112 and the county is Hendricks.
 
Thanks much as my wife if somewhat upset she can't see/record her MeTv of AntennaTV
 
Bob


#57 OFFLINE   coconut13

coconut13

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 17 June 2015 - 10:18 PM

 

KyL416, could you perhaps lookup the local channels for me?  I just had DIRECTV installed yesterday.  We have the Genie HR44-500

 
and two of the Genie mini C41-100.
 
The OTA channels I am interested in are 13.3 and 59.2 in the Indianapolis market.  My zip code is 46112 and the county is Hendricks.
 
Thanks much as my wife if somewhat upset she can't see/record her MeTv of AntennaTV
 
Bob

 

Here's what you can try with your AM21 to get the channels you are looking for. First off 13.3 METV is in the database for Indy and by running your home zip code you should get that channel. Run your home zip code as your primary and run Jacksonville FL (32201) as your secondary zip. Jax has a 59.2 and 59.3 in the database and your AM21 will pick them 2 channels up because of this. You will have the wrong guide (Jax guide) on those channels but you will be able to view them. No way to match zip codes to get the correct guides on those 2 channels. Then to get 6.3 and 6.4 channels run Philadelphia PA (19101) as your primary and Sacramento CA (94203) as your secondary zip. 6.3 will have the correct LAFF guide as both Indy and Philly carry LAFF on 6.3. 6.4 which is ESCAPE in Indy, will have the Sacramento guide on that channel, which will be incorrect. But again, no way to match to get the correct guide. So by running 4 zips you can get 6.3,6.4,59.2, and 59.3 although 3 of the 4 will have the wrong guide. This is the best you can do, with the way D* database of channels works.


  • IndyBov likes this

#58 OFFLINE   IndyBov

IndyBov

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationIndianapolis
Joined: Jun 17, 2015

Posted 18 June 2015 - 02:58 AM

Thank you very much coconut13.  I appreciate the information.  My AM21 is on the way.

 

Bob



#59 OFFLINE   coconut13

coconut13

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 18 June 2015 - 08:23 AM

Thank you very much coconut13.  I appreciate the information.  My AM21 is on the way.

 

Bob

One thing to remember about the AM21. Your antenna has to pick up a strong enough signal in order for it to log a channel in. If the signal is sporadic or to weak, you will not have the channel even if it's in the database for Indy. So when you get your AM21, run your home zip as primary and Jax as secondary the first time and then run Phil. as primary and Sac. as secondary. The order matters, as once a channel is established another channel with the same number will not override it. This will give you all the channels described if your antenna signal picks them up. Another note, you might have some duplicate and unwanted channels by running additional zip codes. You just have to weed them out with your favorites list.



#60 OFFLINE   coconut13

coconut13

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 18 June 2015 - 08:57 AM

I've studied the Indy database a little more and found you can also get 23.2 BOUNCE with the correct guide by matching to Buffalo NY (14201). Both Indy and Buff, carry Bounce on 23.2 and 23.2 is not in the database for Indy, but it is for Buff. So here is the updated way to go about it. Run 46112 and 32201 the first run. Run 19101 and 14201 the second run. Then the third time run 46112 and 94203. This should give you 6.3,6.4,23.2,59.2, and 59.3 in Indy, with 6.3 and 23.2 having correct guides. If you run the setup 3 times in this order with those zip codes, you will add those channels not in the database for Indy.



#61 OFFLINE   IndyBov

IndyBov

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationIndianapolis
Joined: Jun 17, 2015

Posted 23 June 2015 - 02:34 AM

Thanks to all.  I got the AM21 and hooked it up using the zipped advise you all provided.

 

We are now getting the OTA channels we wanted.

 

Thanks again.



#62 OFFLINE   coconut13

coconut13

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 23 June 2015 - 06:21 AM

Thanks to all.  I got the AM21 and hooked it up using the zipped advise you all provided.

 

We are now getting the OTA channels we wanted.

 

Thanks again.

I'm glad it worked for you. For curiosity's sake. Did you get the channels 6.3,6.4,23.2,59.2 and 59.3 not in D* database for Indy? Did you get a lot of duplicate and unwanted channels by running additional zip codes? It's always interesting to know what happens in other area's with the AM21, by running additional zip codes.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...