Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Do I need HD dvr ?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   revm1m

revm1m

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jul 02, 2006

Posted 04 May 2013 - 11:35 AM

I have 3 HD DVRs, HR34, 2HR22. I want to have another TV is the bed room. Do I need another HD DVR or can I watch TV without any receiver , because I have HR34.  



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,920 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 04 May 2013 - 11:49 AM

Is the new TV RVU compliant? If no, you need a least a client [C31].


DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#3 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,917 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 May 2013 - 06:57 PM

Basically you need a receiver, a DVR, or a client (paired with the HR34).  The client can be either the C31 (small box like a receiver), or it can be the television set itself (but only a few specific Samsung models are capable of doing this).  Regardless of which solution you choose, you still have to pay a $6 per month additional receiver fee.



#4 OFFLINE   revm1m

revm1m

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 75 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jul 02, 2006

Posted 05 May 2013 - 10:00 AM

Is the new TV RVU compliant? If no, you need a least a client [C31].

That TV is 3 years old Samsung .How do I find out if my TV is RVU compliant? 



#5 OFFLINE   ladannen

ladannen

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 05 May 2013 - 10:21 AM

Some Samsung 2011 and later models have RVU and some really new Sonys also.

http://support.direc...w-does-it-work?

Yours is 3 years old so probably not.



#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,762 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 May 2013 - 11:04 AM

That TV is 3 years old Samsung .How do I find out if my TV is RVU compliant? 

Since Samsung started "supporting" RVU in 2011 and only 3 models were RVU complaint back then, it is safe to say that your Samsung is not RVU complaint


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,316 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 05 May 2013 - 11:58 AM

By my count, the TS is at 15 tuners right now. What is it going to take to add another DVR (equipment and expense)?



#8 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,930 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 05 May 2013 - 01:03 PM

No, it's three HD DVRs total, 9 tuners. So SWM16 that he has is fine, as long as one side doesn't get overloaded.



#9 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,316 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 05 May 2013 - 06:19 PM

I have 3 HD DVRs, HR34, 2HR22. I want to have another TV is the bed room. Do I need another HD DVR or can I watch TV without any receiver , because I have HR34.  

 

 

No, it's three HD DVRs total, 9 tuners. So SWM16 that he has is fine, as long as one side doesn't get overloaded.

 

I see now. The TS has three DVRs: one HR34 and two HR22s. 



#10 OFFLINE   revm1m

revm1m

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 75 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jul 02, 2006

Posted 05 May 2013 - 08:49 PM

Some Samsung 2011 and later models have RVU and some really new Sonys also.

http://support.direc...w-does-it-work?

Yours is 3 years old so probably not.

My TV is not listed, so I would need another receiver. Thank you everyone . 






Protected By... spam firewall...And...