Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Screensaver Starts While Watching Live TV


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 276 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 08 May 2013 - 05:58 PM

I've got an HR34 and we just watched a recorded program and than started watching CNN.  After a few minutes the screensaver started.  I hit the play button and it went a way.  A few minutes later, screensaver again, hit play and it goes away.

 

What's going on?  The screen is very active with live TV and it's not paused.


johnny
www.teamfurr.org

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 May 2013 - 07:59 PM

First thing to try is resetting your DVR/Receiver using the red button behind the front panel access card door. See if that helps.  


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,229 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 09 May 2013 - 12:21 AM

I have seen quite a few people reporting that they experience this (even some with HR2X models) but I have to say I haven't seen this with my HR34 in the nearly 10 months I have had it... :confused:

I have always kept Genie Recommends and Power Saving turned off perhaps this is why?


List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV   DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 8am-1am ET)   DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)
 
DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25 ($30 with HBO) | 3=$35 ($40 with HBO) | 4=$43 ($48 with HBO) | All 5=$55 per month 
 
My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#4 OFFLINE   ICM2000

ICM2000

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 11 May 2013 - 09:21 AM

Screen saver starting  on live TV Just started on one of my HR-24's. Any help?



#5 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,091 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 11 May 2013 - 09:46 AM

I came home last night and my HR21 on the big screen was in screen saver.

 

Touched the remote, and it popped out of SS into live TV on the channel I had left the box on.

 

I'VE BEEN INFECTED!!!  OMG !!!

 

 

:coffee



#6 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 801 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 19 May 2013 - 07:48 PM

As a test, I put a HR20-100, HR20-700 and 2 HR34 on Channel 360 this morning at 1AM - all tuned at the same time.

 

Both HR20s had live signal this morning. One HR34 did - the other had the screen saver.

 

Interesting - and possible related -  the HR34 that had the screen saver on probably had not been rebooted in a week and gets the most use. The HR20s had been rebooted in the previous 24 hours and the other HR34 without a screen saver this morning had been rebooted in the past several days.

 

Will try and reboot the offending HR34 tonight and try the test again.


Edited by SomeRandomIdiot, 19 May 2013 - 07:50 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 801 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 20 May 2013 - 10:07 AM

Day 2 of experiment.

 

Tuned all 4 units in post #6 (2 HR20s, 2HR34) to Channel 360 and rebooted all 4 right after 1:30AM via menu/restart.

 

Checked all units at 2:00AM to make sure they were on right channel and receiving programming.

 

At 9AM, identical pattern to previous day. Both HR20s displaying live programming on Channel 360. 1 HR34 displaying live programming, the second HR34 with screensaver (Same HR34 which had screensaver the previous morning).

 

Both HR34-700 (as if there is another) are both on same firmware.

 

The only difference in all units? HR20s and the HR34 still displaying programming did not record ANYTHING overnight or this morning (nothing was scheduled).

 

The offending HR34 which is displaying a screen saver was set to record the local ABC/CBS/FOX/NBC morning newscasts beginning at 4:30A/5:00A and morning shows 7A-9A (and did record these - as it did yesterday on Sunday's limited schedule). Of course, if I had a HR34 set to record 5 programs at the same time, the channel would have changed from Channel 360 on the 5th tuner.

 

Current evidence after 2 days would suggest that recording programming in the background is somehow triggering the screensaver on current display.

 

Day 3 - I will make sure none of early morning newscasts and morning shows are scheduled to record - and see if the offending HR34 still goes to screensaver. Will also set the other HR34 to record the early morning news/morning programming. If the HR34 reverse behavior, then it would appear this is the combination that triggers screensaver in live programming that some see and others do not.



#8 OFFLINE   bdmarine

bdmarine

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2010

Posted 20 May 2013 - 10:51 AM

The screen saver popping up for no reason happens to me on my HR23 fairly often. In fact it happened at about 1:00 AM this morning right after a recording event began on the other tuner.



#9 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 801 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 20 May 2013 - 11:02 AM

The screen saver popping up for no reason happens to me on my HR23 fairly often. In fact it happened at about 1:00 AM this morning right after a recording event began on the other tuner.

I have had the screensaver pop up on HR2x units as well.

 

Trying to narrow it down to what is different - and right now its if the unit has recorded programming. If it carries through on 2nd HR34 on Day 3, I intend to test theory on the HR20s.



#10 OFFLINE   SFNSXguy

SFNSXguy

    EOE

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 514 posts
  • LocationNear San Francisco
Joined: Apr 17, 2006

Posted 21 May 2013 - 10:32 AM

My three HR20-700s are often in SS when I turn the TVs on... touch any button and I get live signal -- no other issues seem to occur -- recordings all done OK.


HS
D* user since 11/94

#11 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 801 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 21 May 2013 - 02:16 PM

Day #3 Testing...

 

As noted in above post #6 and #7, intended to cancel all early morning newscasts and morning shows on ABC/CBS/FOX/NBC on the HR34 that was always showing a Screen Saver and program those on the other HR34 that was not showing the Screen Saver. Theory was the Screen Saver should not appear on the HR34 which has shown the SS every morning and should appear on the HR34 where it does not appear.

 

Same procedure with both HR34 and both HR20s. Set to Channel 360.....rebooted at 2am via menu/restart.

 

As expected, the SS moved from one HR34 to the other.

 

Thus, the issue appears to happen when the HR34 (and most likely other units) record a program.

 

What it not known, does it it take 4 Channels of recording on a HR34 to cause the issue - or will it happen with few recorded programs. Obviously, the HR2x is fewer than 4.

 

So as stupid as this sounds, it appears one can keep the screen saver from happening on the DirecTV DVRs providing you do not record anything, lol. If you do record anything, apparently the SS bug kills the current programming on screen.

 

Also unknown if touching the remote control (actually sending a command to the unit or TV) causes the bug to disappear, which is probably why more people are not reporting it.

 

Day #4 tomorrow - intend to try and on Channel 202 instead of Channel 360 to make sure it is not related to Channel 360 being 720p (which could also be a reason why this problem is not more widely reported). After that, intend to drop record channels from 4 to 3 to 2 to 1 to see how many record channels need to be operational to introduce the bug.

 

Day #4 tomorrow.....intend to test



#12 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 801 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 21 May 2013 - 02:16 PM

My three HR20-700s are often in SS when I turn the TVs on... touch any button and I get live signal -- no other issues seem to occur -- recordings all done OK.

 

The Genies lose the buffer when SS activates.



#13 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 801 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 22 May 2013 - 12:04 PM

Test Day #4

 

Actually ran 2 tests ovenight given what has been proven thus far.

 

Same procedure - tune to channel - reboot at 2AM via menu.

 

Test #4-1

Check if 720p v 1080i makes a difference

Tuner 1: Watching 202 (CNN) instead of 360 (FNC) live

Tuner 2: Set to record ABC Early Morning News / Morning Shows

Tuner 3: Set to record CBS Early Morning News / Morning Shows

Tuner 4: Set to record FOX Early Morning News / Morning Shows

Tuner 5: Set to record NBC Early Morning News / Morning Shows

 

At 9am, Screen saver was showing on screen (Channel 202) so resolution is not a factor

 

Test #4-2

Check if 3 tuners recording v 4 tuners produces same results

Tuner 1: Watching 360 (FNC) live as in past

Tuner 2: Set to record ABC Early Morning News / Morning Shows

Tuner 3: Set to record CBS Early Morning News / Morning Shows

Tuner 4: not recording anything

Tuner 5: Set to record NBC Early Morning News / Morning Shows

 

At 9am, Screen saver WAS NOT showing on Tuner 1 (Channel 360)

 

Thus with the HR34, it appears the bug triggering the Screen Saver only happens when all tuners are in use (either watching live or all recording).

 

Now the question, how long do all 4 tuners need to be recording to trigger the Screen Saver - and what parameters are need to trigger it in a HR2x.

 

Plenty of debugging info that D* can easily reproduce within hours in-house if they want to truly fix the issue.



#14 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,384 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 22 May 2013 - 02:12 PM

You might also test whether having a client actively using a tuner counts the same as having it recording content. Since most people aren't recording four things at once very often, another trigger for some people could be something like 2 things recording plus 2 clients that are left on each consuming a tuner.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#15 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 801 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 24 May 2013 - 10:57 PM

3 hours 54 minutes

 

That's the time it took recording 4 programs on ABC/CBS/FOX/NBC and watching Channel 360 on the fifth channel before the screen saver came on.

 

However, I *believe* I reset the HR34 several days ago at 3:45PM and recordings started of the afternoon newscasts on all 4 tuners/stations - resulting in a Screen Saver - and *believe* it happened faster than 3:54.

 

So I am planning on repeating this several times to see how consistent the number is.


Edited by SomeRandomIdiot, 24 May 2013 - 10:57 PM.


#16 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,474 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 06 June 2013 - 08:49 AM

I have stated before in other threads that I have never had the screen saver to pop up when it was not supposed to.
Well, I have now. I have it on CNBC and the TV is muted, just watching the numbers and the screen flashes.
Went outside to water the roses and trim off the old buds and came back in, sat down and whoops there it is. This took about 3 hours for this to happen.
I pressed the Select button and the picture came back.

 

Edit / Add : I have the Power Saver set to OFF.


Edited by jimmie57, 08 June 2013 - 04:01 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#17 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,611 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 07 June 2013 - 11:38 PM

I sometimes leave the tv on overnight and I never see the screensaver unless I pause something on the program, and I have power savings mode on. Although at one point I did see the SS while watching live tv but It was on for hours.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#18 OFFLINE   GBFAN

GBFAN

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 334 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 11 October 2013 - 12:31 PM

I have an HR24-500 and use it to watch a second football game or last night I had it on Thursday night football while we watched our regular shows on our other HR24-500. After about 3 hours the one with the football game on went to screen saver. I have also had this happen on both HR24-500's while watching football on Sunday. Just because I'm not using the remote, it doesn't mean I'm not watching TV.



#19 OFFLINE   m4p

m4p

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 238 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2007

Posted 12 October 2013 - 04:31 PM

I have an HR20-700.  Sometimes after I've turned off the TV (DVR still on) and come back later, turn on the TV and find it in screen saver mode.  


HR24-500 HDMI to Sharp LC-52D62U LCD, native on
Networked using Netgear R6300
Harmony 670 remote





Protected By... spam firewall...And...