Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Using external HD and switching HDDVRs??


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,272 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 11 May 2013 - 07:46 AM

There's been some discussion in alt.dbs.directv usenet discussions about using an external HD and it working with other D* HDDVRs.  I had always thought that was not possible as the video was locked into the HDDVR it was created on.  But here's a quote of the last posting in the discussion that seems to say that isn't the case:

 

//quote

 

 

>>>> Use and external drive and you don' lose anything.

>>>

>>> Actually, that depends on what goes wrong. If (for example) the

>>> external drive fails, you lose everything on it. Also if something

>>> else internal to the DVR fails, you also lose everything on the

>>> external drive if the DVR must be replaced (the new DVR will simply

>>> reformat the external drive as soon as you connect it, wiping out

>>> everything recorded on it).

>>>

>>Well I beg to differ with you. I can take any of my four external drives 

>>and switch them between any HDDVR. All four are different models also.

>

>My experience with HR20 and HR21 DVRs was different the last time I

>tried... but that was a few years ago. I have a 'clone" of each of my 

>DVR's hard drives, so tomorrow I'll run a few tests to see if you are

>correct. 

 

OK, I tried a clone of one of my DVRs connected to a different DVR,

and to my surprise, it worked exactly as you said, so I retract my

earlier statement.

 

//endquote

 


Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   rsblaski

rsblaski

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 812 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2003

Posted 11 May 2013 - 05:55 PM

If this is true, it would be a blessing if the DVR itself went bad.
My DVRs are in cabinets so a bit difficult to justify pulling them just to test.
I will be watching for results on thi forum.


If this is true, it would be a blessing if the DVR itself went bad.
My DVRs are in cabinets so a bit difficult to justify pulling them just to test.
I will be watching for results on this forum.

Edited by rsblaski, 11 May 2013 - 05:57 PM.

Remember, when it comes to audio/video, more is always better. (This does NOT apply to remote controls!)

#3 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,272 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 11 May 2013 - 06:19 PM

I'll be watching too!  That's why I posted this here, hoping some would do some testing and report back.

 

While I'm currently with Dish, things change...  :)


Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#4 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,789 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 11 May 2013 - 10:17 PM

You will be able to see the list of recordings, but you will not be able to actually play any of them. I can assure you 100% that recordings made on one HR2x series DVR will NOT play when that drive is connected to a different HR2x series DVR. That is also true of the SD series R1x DVRs.



#5 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,675 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 12 May 2013 - 07:53 AM

Yeah, I've been trying this off and on after updates and what carl6 says is what happens.  You can see the recordings but not play them.  Your Series Links work though.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#6 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,272 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 12 May 2013 - 07:59 AM

Thanks for the responses.  That is exactly what I thought would be the case, though I did think possibly there was some hidden change in one of the updates.


Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#7 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 13 May 2013 - 08:50 AM

The only exception to these rules is OTA recordings....if you theoretically had a drive full of OTA recordings (AM-21 or HR20 with antenna feed in use), those recordings are 100% portable between dvrs. 



#8 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,467 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 13 May 2013 - 09:04 AM

Veeeeerrrry Interrrrresssssting! </Artie Johnson>


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#9 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,675 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 13 May 2013 - 09:15 AM

The only exception to these rules is OTA recordings....if you theoretically had a drive full of OTA recordings (AM-21 or HR20 with antenna feed in use), those recordings are 100% portable between dvrs. 

 

Absolutely right.  I forgot about OTA recordings.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#10 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,082 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 13 May 2013 - 10:58 AM

Yeah, I've been trying this off and on after updates and what carl6 says is what happens.  You can see the recordings but not play them.  Your Series Links work though.

 

The SLs don't always make it, I stuck a 2TB on a 24-100 the other day, deleted all the content on it and, somehow lost all the SLs.  The HDD didn't reformat or I wouldn't have had to delete all the recorded content.  Odd.

 

Trying to view content that wasn't recorded on the correct HR is not a good thing to do.  I've inadvertently done it and it wasn't a pleasant experience.  At the least, I had to reboot the HR.  First time I ever lost the SLs, tho.

 

Rich



#11 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,675 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 13 May 2013 - 02:17 PM

The SLs don't always make it, I stuck a 2TB on a 24-100 the other day, deleted all the content on it and, somehow lost all the SLs.  The HDD didn't reformat or I wouldn't have had to delete all the recorded content.  Odd.

 

Trying to view content that wasn't recorded on the correct HR is not a good thing to do.  I've inadvertently done it and it wasn't a pleasant experience.  At the least, I had to reboot the HR.  First time I ever lost the SLs, tho.

 

Rich

 

Very interesting.  I wonder what triggered the deletion of the SL's.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#12 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,082 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 14 May 2013 - 07:32 AM

Very interesting.  I wonder what triggered the deletion of the SL's.

 

No idea.  First time something like that has happened to me.  All I did to the HDD was mark all recorded content for deletion as I do with each HDD that I put on a new HR and it took the SLs away.  Waited a day for the SLs to populate, but they never did.  

 

Rich



#13 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 14 May 2013 - 10:12 AM

I have done about 6 drive copies now for replacing the drives in the same DVR over the last 6 years, mostly moving to larger drives, and I've yet to lost the SL's, but I guess it could happen



#14 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,082 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 17 May 2013 - 10:14 AM

I have done about 6 drive copies now for replacing the drives in the same DVR over the last 6 years, mostly moving to larger drives, and I've yet to lost the SL's, but I guess it could happen

 

It certainly can.  I had over 40 SLs on that HDD and they're all gone.  The only thing I know for sure is that I didn't do anything that would cause that to happen.  But, not a big deal, I'll just fill it up again with SLs when the new season starts.  

 

I would have thought that I would have lost all the recordings on that HDD (2TB EVDS) too, but I had to delete them.  First time for everything, I guess.

 

Rich 



#15 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,344 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 17 May 2013 - 11:25 AM

And the two boxes were on the same software version?






spam firewall