Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HDMI splitters


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   FLWingNut

FLWingNut

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 420 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 12 May 2013 - 08:01 AM

Do they work with Directv boxes? I know they don't with some cable boxes and I want to make sure before looking for one.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,677 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 12 May 2013 - 08:21 AM

Some do and some don't. A powered one has a better shot than a passive. I much prefer switches to splitters and I'm using a lot of them, both Manual and RC but prefer the powered manual ones. This one is my favorite since it works either way, 1 X 2 or 2 X 1 with no problems at all.

 

http://sewelldirect....Passthrough.asp



#3 OFFLINE   FLWingNut

FLWingNut

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 420 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 12 May 2013 - 09:07 AM

I don't think a switch would do what I need. I'm trying to feed two TV's at the same time. I need the option of being able to watch both at once. I was trying to decide on an HDMI splitter or to just hook up one TV via component.



#4 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,148 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 12 May 2013 - 10:06 AM

Some do and some don't. A powered one has a better shot than a passive. I much prefer switches to splitters and I'm using a lot of them, both Manual and RC but prefer the powered manual ones. This one is my favorite since it works either way, 1 X 2 or 2 X 1 with no problems at all.

 

http://sewelldirect....Passthrough.asp

 

And it's not powered?  Can't find anything about a power source on your link.  I gave up on non-powered HDMI switches a long time ago.  Perhaps they've improved?

 

Rich



#5 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,228 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 12 May 2013 - 10:58 AM

I have used this one for a couple years with no issues


My Setup

#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,920 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 May 2013 - 02:00 PM

I don't think a switch would do what I need.

You can use a matrix switch.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 899 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 12 May 2013 - 02:11 PM

4 ports in and two ports out...its Monoprice so they should replace it for up to a year.

Powered, with remote, $56


Edited by JBv, 12 May 2013 - 02:11 PM.

DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,920 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 May 2013 - 02:21 PM

Very good item, I have the "older" model and works very good.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   FLWingNut

FLWingNut

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 420 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 12 May 2013 - 03:09 PM

Thanks, I'll look at that.



#10 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,677 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 13 May 2013 - 07:18 AM

And it's not powered?  Can't find anything about a power source on your link.  I gave up on non-powered HDMI switches a long time ago.  Perhaps they've improved?

 

Rich

You're right Rich I installed them some time ago and they have a bright blue light to indicate which side is selected. Made me think of them as powered. Working well for me though.



#11 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 299 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 13 May 2013 - 01:50 PM

I have a 4 way working great ! Looked it up for you this IS TESTED TO WORK I never had any issues with it.

 

http://www.amazon.co...eywords=hdmi 4'

 

 

The Retail on it is $ 249.00 !  But if you search you can get it for $ 40.00 When you get it you can see and feel the quality in it !


Edited by Rickt1962, 13 May 2013 - 01:52 PM.

King Cable Cutter ! XBMC , PLEX , Raspberry Pi   Love my New Boxes :)

Avatars are to protect the Ugly people from scaring others !
Come from the land of Pennsylvania where Cable TV was invented ! Had HBO back in the 70's and total cable bill was $ 12.00 and all TV's got Cable with no extra fee ! Been using satellite since the C-Band Days and Dave and Charlie
 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...