Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Searching for 3D discussions

3D Search

Best Answer Stewart Vernon , 12 May 2013 - 09:21 PM

One workaround you might want to try...

 

Instead of searching for 3D... try searching for "3D" (with the quotes included).

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   levinjb

levinjb

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationSoutheastern Arizona
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 12 May 2013 - 06:19 PM

I have some comments and observations about things I'd noticed on DirecTV  with my new 3D TV.  I tried searching the topic first and failed because the search operation would not let me use a term with fewer than three letters.  (A search for "3-D" didn't catch anything.)  I'll search the hardway (scanning the relevant content and HD/DTV forums), but this could have been a lot easier -- and I don't like posting cold on a topic without first looking for older postings on the same topic.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Brandon Wedgeworth

Brandon Wedgeworth

    Icon

  • Administrators
  • 548 posts
  • LocationAlabaster, AL
Joined: Jan 06, 2007

Posted 12 May 2013 - 09:04 PM

The 3 character minimum is actually pretty standard nowadays to prevent certain flooding of the site search by bots, etc.  I think David has considered using a 3rd party search engine such as Sphinx, but hasn't fully decided yet.  You'd be surprised just how much of a forum's load is created by the search feature and sections that build off of it such as the "New Content" tab...

 

I understand though, I've been bitten by the 3 character limit several times at other sites as well.


DBSTalk Site Administrator

U-Verse U450 w/Whole Home DVR

Cisco ISB7500 (upgraded to 1TB) >> 32" LG LCD
Cisco ISB7000 >> 60" LG Plasma
Cisco IPN330HD 46" Sharp Aquos LCD
Cisco ISB7005 (Wireless) >> 42" Philips LCD
2Wire/Pace 3801HGV Gateway

LIVESTRONG_logo_small.png - 2 Time Cancer Survivor


#3 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,011 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 12 May 2013 - 09:21 PM   Best Answer

One workaround you might want to try...

 

Instead of searching for 3D... try searching for "3D" (with the quotes included).


  • levinjb likes this

-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#4 OFFLINE   Brandon Wedgeworth

Brandon Wedgeworth

    Icon

  • Administrators
  • 548 posts
  • LocationAlabaster, AL
Joined: Jan 06, 2007

Posted 12 May 2013 - 09:24 PM

One workaround you might want to try...
 
Instead of searching for 3D... try searching for "3D" (with the quotes included).


Haha, that's pretty clever Stewart! I'd have never thought that it would have counted the quote characters...but it does.

DBSTalk Site Administrator

U-Verse U450 w/Whole Home DVR

Cisco ISB7500 (upgraded to 1TB) >> 32" LG LCD
Cisco ISB7000 >> 60" LG Plasma
Cisco IPN330HD 46" Sharp Aquos LCD
Cisco ISB7005 (Wireless) >> 42" Philips LCD
2Wire/Pace 3801HGV Gateway

LIVESTRONG_logo_small.png - 2 Time Cancer Survivor


#5 OFFLINE   levinjb

levinjb

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationSoutheastern Arizona
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 12 May 2013 - 10:46 PM

Thanks, Brandon and Stewart -- You've nailed it.  That works for me:   "3D" as a search term.

 



#6 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,011 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 13 May 2013 - 01:37 PM

You're welcome...  I actually didn't know about the 2-character limit until I saw this thread...  but I'm used to adding quotes on multiple words when I want not just the words but the exact sequence of those words... so I wondered if the quotes were counted as characters before being discarded for the actual search.  Sure enough, after trying the 2-character version that gives the error, I tried with quotes and got results.


-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 3D, Search

spam firewall