Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Genie to client over wireless?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,299 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 13 May 2013 - 01:03 PM

I have done alot of searchign and cant seem to find an answer, can Genie server support a client over wireless network in the home versus the coax DECA network.   Reason I ask is I really would like to get rid of some of the funky external to house cabling I have to get all my DVRs hooked up onto the DECA network.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,868 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 13 May 2013 - 01:41 PM

Look, I'm not saying it won't work. However, you would have to have a really good quality wireless network and it would be completely unsupported. I have personally tried hooking a wireless DECA to a C31 client and it did work ok for about 15 minutes. It did not work well enough to watch a whole show or use trickplay. 

 

There have been some rumors of a wireless client coming from DIRECTV dealers lately and something was mentioned in a conference call. You might be best advised to wait until something like that happens. 


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,701 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 13 May 2013 - 04:51 PM

There are usually too many dependencies in wireless.  It may work fine at one point in time and die when someone decides they want to download or transfer a big file over wireless.

 

It is unfortunate that when cabling is required, DIRECTV forces you to use the one that is arguably the most troublesome to fish but that is the choice that they made. MoCA exclusivity appears to be unique to DIRECTV as all non-DIRECTV client devices feature RJ45 and wireless LAN connections.  I suppose there's still the option of using a DECA broadband adapter at the back of the TV/client.

 

I have to admit, it does seem odd that nobody seems to offer MoCA (high band nor low band) on their home entertainment gear.


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#4 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,485 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 13 May 2013 - 05:38 PM

I've been running a client on a WCCK standalone - nothing else on the WCCK- very successfully. But I also used 5Ghz fine on regular MRV.

It would also seem odd that Harsh hasn't tried it himself instead of just speculating about it.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,696 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 May 2013 - 08:59 PM

 

It is unfortunate that when cabling is required, DIRECTV forces you to use the one that is arguably the most troublesome to fish 

Why would coax be any harder to fish than ethernet?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   tpm1999

tpm1999

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 319 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 14 May 2013 - 12:14 PM

My wireless C41 setup seems to work well... Given that it is somewhat of a strange setup. There can be a slight lag in button input, but the video plays great! I did have to put the hr44 and the c41 on the 5ghz band to get it to work reliably. I will probably replace it for the wireless C41W once that comes out.

HR44-500 Genie
2 C41W-100 Wireless Genie Minis and WVB
Genie Go
SWM Dish





Protected By... spam firewall...And...