Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Menu update now available for 2nd gen Roku


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,411 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 14 May 2013 - 06:51 PM

It's available now for manual updating. First gen devices will not receive the update.

 

http://www.engadget....grid-ui-update/

 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,714 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 May 2013 - 07:56 PM

Thanks for the notice:

getting jump from 4.9.5060 to 5.0.8043 for the 2XD ...


Edited by P Smith, 14 May 2013 - 07:57 PM.


#3 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,529 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 15 May 2013 - 03:45 AM

I just upgraded my Roku 2HD to 5.0.8043. Big improvement. Very appealing to the eye. 


DirecTV customer since 1995.


#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,714 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 May 2013 - 08:28 AM

So far I see only GUI changed, what else ?

#5 OFFLINE   gjrhine

gjrhine

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: May 15, 2002

Posted 16 May 2013 - 01:49 PM

Read thread title.


Gary

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,714 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 May 2013 - 02:53 PM

Read thread title.

doing that each time when see meaningless posts :(

#7 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,766 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 21 May 2013 - 09:46 AM

So far I see only GUI changed, what else ?

The change in the UI is the big issue...easier to scroll a grid when you have a lot of channels versus a linear display.  There are some under the cover changes in the area of system management (supposed to make channel loading faster).  But most of the streaming functionality is dependant on how the channel providers write their apps and use the Roku platform functions, so you won't see any changes in the Netflix app, for example, unless Netflix updates it.


Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA





spam firewall