Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Downloading Software - stopped on 0%?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Guindalf

Guindalf

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 15 May 2013 - 02:19 PM

OK, I'll admit I haven't searched - I'm at work and don't have time.

 

My HR34 has been stuck since yesterday. Wife turned it on and it said it was downloading an update, never passed 0% and switched itself off! I did a reset when I arrived home and we were able to watch it last night, so I checked that the CCK was connecting and it was fine.

 

Fast forward to this morning and it's in the exact same state.

 

I know I can reset it and it'll be fine, but it's failing on a download (obviously!) somewhere.

 

Any ideas?

 

 


There is no dark side of the moon really - as a matter of fact, it's all dark

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,736 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 May 2013 - 03:11 PM

I would unplug it for about 10 minutes. Then plug it back in.
If it does not start up I would call DTV and let them try to help you. If it does not start to working they can implement the necessary steps to replace it for you.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,344 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 May 2013 - 03:12 PM

don't worry; the process will continue up to that time when announced FW will be available for download, now it will reboot itself or you could press RBR to skip it

#4 OFFLINE   Guindalf

Guindalf

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 15 May 2013 - 05:05 PM

It's starting back up with a reset, that's not the problem. I'm able to watch it for the whole evening without problem, but some time during the night (as evidenced by it being in this unusable state in the morning or until it's reset again.

 

I'm home now and it's just sitting at 0%. Going to try to force an update and see what happens.


There is no dark side of the moon really - as a matter of fact, it's all dark

#5 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,420 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 15 May 2013 - 05:13 PM

[SNIP]

 

I'm home now and it's just sitting at 0%. Going to try to force an update and see what happens.

 

Well look at the Firmware Watcher for the HR34-700 to see what is the stream before you do 0-2-4-6-8.


Drew
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR:HR34-7, Dn:HR24-1, MB:HR24-5, Bm:HR21-2, Kt:H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV '00


#6 OFFLINE   Guindalf

Guindalf

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 16 May 2013 - 05:21 AM

Well, it looks like it was having problems connecting to the internet (hence the 0%, duh)!

 

I went to the menu and remade the connection to the router (Windstream's own, very temperamental). For the longest time, it didn't want to accept the passcode, although it was correct and all my other devices are connected. It's a real pain having to type it over and over again using the remote!

 

Anyway, the software updated overnight and it seems to be working now.


There is no dark side of the moon really - as a matter of fact, it's all dark

#7 ONLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,037 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 16 May 2013 - 10:25 AM

Just so you know that the D* receivers don't get their updates from the internet, it downloads from the satellite.



#8 OFFLINE   Guindalf

Guindalf

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 16 May 2013 - 11:07 AM

Well that's exactly what I thought, but having a working internet connection was the difference between it downloading and sticking!


There is no dark side of the moon really - as a matter of fact, it's all dark

#9 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,736 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 16 May 2013 - 11:39 AM

Most likely a coincidence. I have 3 receivers and none of them connect to the internet.

I have the SWM system but not the whole home DVR setup.

 

Software comes from the satellite.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD





spam firewall