Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Firefox completely down but other browsers work


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 ONLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,230 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 18 May 2013 - 04:54 PM

This morning when I fired up the PC, for some odd reason Firefox wasn't working. I couldn't access the Internet at all using FF, but Chrome and IE work fine. Did FF recently take an update that screwed something up? I've tried a bunch of "fixes," but nothing has worked at all.


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 18 May 2013 - 05:08 PM

I'm using Firefox right now....appears you've managed to get your computer in trouble again.


  • sigma1914 likes this

#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,930 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 18 May 2013 - 05:10 PM

21 came out on the 14th.

#4 ONLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,600 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 18 May 2013 - 05:33 PM

I'm on Firefox 22 beta 1, and working fine for me.


-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#5 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,913 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 18 May 2013 - 05:48 PM

Just re-install FF.

 

I'm running FF v21.0


Edited by Drucifer, 18 May 2013 - 05:50 PM.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#6 ONLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,230 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 18 May 2013 - 05:49 PM

21 came out on the 14th.

 

 

I'm on Firefox 22 beta 1, and working fine for me.

 

Hmmm. Then I have no idea why FF won't work. I keep getting this message:

 

 

 

Unable to connect
      
      
      
       
        
        
          Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at www.xxxxxxxx.com (where "X" is the website name)

 

 


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#7 OFFLINE   kc1ih

kc1ih

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: May 22, 2004

Posted 18 May 2013 - 06:33 PM

Check your FF preferences, make sure you didn't tell it to use a proxy server.



#8 ONLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,230 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 18 May 2013 - 06:34 PM

Everything is the same. I wonder if something could have happened with my Norton Security Suite, despite the fact that I didn't change anything in that either.


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#9 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,969 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 18 May 2013 - 06:44 PM

LV, you have the worst luck with computers. :grin:


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#10 ONLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,230 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 18 May 2013 - 06:47 PM

Frickin' Jedi tricks!!! :mad2:


  • sigma1914 likes this

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#11 ONLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,600 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 18 May 2013 - 09:41 PM

With other browsers working on the same computer...  my best guesses are a Firefox plug-in problem (try launching Firefox with plugins disabled and see if that makes a difference)... or as you said, if your Norton suddenly started blocking Firefox for some reason.


-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#12 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,229 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 20 May 2013 - 01:31 PM

"Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at www.xxxxxxxx.com (where "X" is the website name)"

 

I assume that's your home page. Try entering a different site in the address bar, if possible. The problem may have been that the particular site was indeed down.

 

I have four browsers installed - IE, Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. I usually use Firefox but I'm beginning to favor Chrome, as it seems to load faster and display sites a bit quicker than FF.


Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#13 ONLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,230 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 20 May 2013 - 02:56 PM

"Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at www.xxxxxxxx.com (where "X" is the website name)"

 

I assume that's your home page. Try entering a different site in the address bar, if possible. The problem may have been that the particular site was indeed down.

 

I have four browsers installed - IE, Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. I usually use Firefox but I'm beginning to favor Chrome, as it seems to load faster and display sites a bit quicker than FF.

 

I did try several URLs, none of which worked.

 

Anyway, I think I narrowed it down to a firewall issue that resulted from a Firefox update. These FF updates have screwed up a lot of things. Adobe Acrobat got messed up because of these updates, and that wasn't the only thing.


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...