Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

AT9 dish


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
53 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stevies3

Stevies3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 214 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jul 22, 2004

Posted 19 May 2013 - 07:11 AM

I'm looking to upgrade my current setup to Gennie. I have an AT9 dish with a Zinwell. 6x16 multiswitch. Can I just replace my MS with a swim or do I need to also replace my dish to a AU9. I have 3 x HR24, 3 x H24 and 1 x D12.


Edited by Stevies3, 19 May 2013 - 10:01 AM.

-------------------------

DirecTV since 1996

1 x HR44
1 x H24
2 x HR24

3 x RVU
SWM16

AU9-SL3


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,882 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 19 May 2013 - 08:23 AM

Technically it'll work with the AT9.  I'm surprised you still have that dish.

 

You'll need a SWiM16 it you want to keep all your receivers but is should work fine.

 

Mike


µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#3 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,477 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 May 2013 - 08:23 AM

Let DirecTV do it for you. The parts are very expensive since you have 10 Tuners in your system ( each DVR has 2 tuners ).

Here is a link to just 1 of the pieces.

http://www.solidsign...ku=874409002480

 

Call them and tell that what you are thinking of doing and let them give you a price before you go down this road.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#4 ONLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,908 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 19 May 2013 - 08:24 AM

You can replace the 6x16 with an SWM16 multiswitch and everything will work including the Genie. If you have DirecTV do the install, I'm pretty sure they will replace the dish also, as the AT9 is no longer supported. But it works just fine.



#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,696 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 May 2013 - 08:34 AM

yep, a self respected installer will always change the old "side-car" dish to the newer Slimline


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 826 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 19 May 2013 - 07:13 PM

I'm looking to upgrade my current setup to Gennie. I have an AT9 dish with a Zinwell. 6x16 multiswitch. Can I just replace my MS with a swim or do I need to also replace my dish to a AU9. I have 3 x HR24, 3 x H24 and 1 x D12.

I'd keep the AT9 if you have no reason to replace. My AT9 continues to give much better readings than most continue to post with their AU9 and I know its got higher numbers than AU9 at various neighbors around me installed over the past 3-4 years.



#7 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 806 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 19 May 2013 - 08:33 PM

yep, a self respected installer will always change the old "side-car" dish to the newer Slimline

 

Wouldn't they actually have to? (As in, can you pass QC with an AT9?)


DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#8 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 907 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 19 May 2013 - 09:29 PM

Wouldn't they actually have to? (As in, can you pass QC with an AT9?)

There is nothing in writing saying these dishes must be replaced. If they are working then they are good to go but most techs would replace them due to age and the likely hood of failing soon.



#9 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,882 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 20 May 2013 - 03:08 AM

Wouldn't they actually have to? (As in, can you pass QC with an AT9?)

It should pass QC without a hitch.  The AT9 receives the same satellites as the AU9 so the SWiM16 or signal meters won't know the difference.  

 

If, like any other dish, the AT9 is aligned properly it will work just fine and the OP has no need to worry.

 

Mike


µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#10 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 806 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 20 May 2013 - 07:34 AM

Thanks, that makes quite a bit of sense, and good to know!


DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#11 OFFLINE   Stevies3

Stevies3

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 214 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jul 22, 2004

Posted 20 May 2013 - 08:28 AM

Thank you.


-------------------------

DirecTV since 1996

1 x HR44
1 x H24
2 x HR24

3 x RVU
SWM16

AU9-SL3


#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,696 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 May 2013 - 09:22 PM

Wouldn't they actually have to? (As in, can you pass QC with an AT9?)

The problem is that these dines are so old, that they probably need to be re-peak in order to pass IV.  and those are a PITA to peak.  I (at least) rather throw in a new slimline in a few minutes and be done with it.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   Stevies3

Stevies3

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 214 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jul 22, 2004

Posted 21 May 2013 - 02:39 PM

I'm in the mid to high 90's for most all transponders.   I took my time with installing years ago, Never needed retweaking which surprises me. 


-------------------------

DirecTV since 1996

1 x HR44
1 x H24
2 x HR24

3 x RVU
SWM16

AU9-SL3


#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,696 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 May 2013 - 04:22 PM

I'm in the mid to high 90's for most all transponders.   I took my time with installing years ago, Never needed retweaking which surprises me. 

run a system test, you might be surprised 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 826 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 22 May 2013 - 11:53 AM

run a system test, you might be surprised 

Installed mine myself in 2006 - 7 years ago. Never retouched since.

 

100 on many more transponders than others in my area with the AU-9. All but a handful of transponders (except spotbeams not servicing my area) below 95.

 

Much better than on the AU-9s of others in the area.

 

Sounds identical to the OPs experience.


Edited by SomeRandomIdiot, 22 May 2013 - 11:54 AM.


#16 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,398 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 22 May 2013 - 02:21 PM

But is that because of the dish itself? Seems like the LNB would be much more of a factor. Maybe the LNBs back in the AT9 days were better made, and the ones made for the Slimline cut a few corners to save a few bucks?

 

Doubling the dish area theoretically increases your S/N by 3 db, so the ~4-5% bigger AT-9 dish would probably only help S/N by 0.14 db or so. That hardly seems likely to account for a noticeable difference in signal strength.

 

Are you getting 100s on any 99c/103ca/103cb transponders? 100s on the 101/110/119 are no big deal, but AFAIK 100s on the HD sats are pretty rare.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#17 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,696 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 May 2013 - 08:49 PM

Installed mine myself in 2006 - 7 years ago. Never retouched since.

 

 

I guess you never had any major storms around you in 7 years!  Must be a good place to live…


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#18 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,882 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 23 May 2013 - 04:27 AM

I guess you never had any major storms around you in 7 years!  Must be a good place to live…

I've had several major storms over the past couple of years...Hurricane Irene, Hurricane Sandy, & the Nor'Easter Blizzard in Feb to name a few.

 

My dish and signal strengths are solid as a rock.  Properly torqued/tightened and aligned, the dish can stand up to quite a bit of weather. 

 

Of course lost power during a couple of those storms and couldn't watch TV but when it came back the first thing I did was check the signal strengths. Sehr Gut. :grin:

 

Mike


µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#19 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,617 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 23 May 2013 - 05:50 AM

We had an HR20 and an R15 with the AT9 when we upgraded to the Genie.  The tech replaced it with the SWiMline dish.  Kinda sad because we no longer get some of the international channels.  We still have the oval dish from our SD days.  Can I connect it to the system and get those channels back?


Edited by machavez00, 23 May 2013 - 05:51 AM.


#20 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,477 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 23 May 2013 - 06:00 AM

We had an HR20 and an R15 with the AT9 when we upgraded to the Genie.  The tech replaced it with the SWiMline dish.  Kinda sad because we no longer get some of the international channels.  We still have the oval dish from our SD days.  Can I connect it to the system and get those channels back?

It sounds like they installed a Slimline 3.

If you lost International channels you probably need them to come back and change out the LNB for a Slimline 5.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD





Protected By... spam firewall...And...