Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Satellite Signal Strength


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   joeuser

joeuser

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • Locationelmhurst, ny
Joined: May 09, 2013

Posted 21 May 2013 - 03:03 PM

Okay I went through extensive waiting and watching (61.5 is a pain in the arse with the transponders not locking and spotbeam recognition taking forever).
Basically, I want to know if my signals are good. 
We had dish at one point of time about 10 years back where they pointed 1 satellite at 61.5 (for international channels) and another at 110/119 for everything else. Much has changed since then and now the dish are pointed to 61.5/72.7/77 for America's top 120 HD using 1000.4 Dish Turbo HD satellite dish and 118.7 for the Hindi Megapack using the Dish Plus Satellite dish.
 
If I recall correctly the 61.5 signals from 10 years back were superb, 110/119 was crap due to trees. Back then using the 301 receiver, Menu-6-1-1 showed signal strengths around 90s and 100s (out of 125). Not sure if things have changed (de-commissioned satellites and new satellite with a lower power output per transponder, etc), but I don't think it should be this low (see below) for out current install. 
 
1. Do I need to have DISH come out and re-point the dish for better signal. We just went through a couple of days of rainy/mushy weather where everything held up ok, but I'm sure certain transponders were borderline around 30s in terms of reception (118 was the worst). If we have a major storm, I am sure the installation won't be able to lock onto 61.5 and 118.
Should these numbers be higher? (I'm in Elmhurst, NY which is within New York City, also the signal strength is a measure during a sunny day with a mix of clouds and sun) (please see numbers below)
 
2. We need 61.5 for our locals in HD (61.5 Transponder 22 spotbeam 2) and some part of the America's Top 120 (non-HD). However checking lyngsat showed that 72.7 Transponder 32 also carries New York local channels. For example, WNBC exists on 61.5 and 72.7 in HD on Spotbeam and Transponder 32 (Respectively). Why is this the case? Is lyngsat outdated (it shows last update on 5/18/2013)?
 
Why are my locals not picked up from the 72.7 satellite which has a better signal than the 61.5. This is confusing.
 
Please let me know if there is something that can be done.
Dish 1000.4 Turbo HD (with 118.7 LNB input)
Echostar 61.5 W 
TP 01 42-44
TP 02 54-56
TP 03 62-64
TP 04 64-66
TP 05 53
TP 06 53-55
TP 07 52-53
TP 08 51-52
TP 09 54-55
TP 10 66-67
TP 11 55-56
TP 12 51-52
TP 13 52-53
TP 14 49-50
TP 15 53-55
TP 16 46
TP 17 70
TP 18 0-2 (Spotbeam 5)
TP 19 ?   (Spotbeam 34-36)
TP 20 0-2 (Spotbeam ?)
TP 21 ?   (Spotbeam 14-16)
TP 22 ?   (Spotbeam 63-64)  <--- This is where the Local Channels are
TP 23 ?   (Spotbeam ?)
TP 24 ?   (Spotbeam 60-61)
TP 25 ?   (Spotbeam ?)
TP 26 ?   (Spotbeam 31-32)
TP 27 ?   (Spotbeam 18-20)
TP 28 ?   (Spotbeam 38-40)
TP 29 ?   (Spotbeam 27-28)
TP 30 ?   (Spotbeam ?)
TP 31 ?   (Spotbeam 29-30)
TP 32 ?   (Spotbeam 55-56)


Echostar 72.7
TP 01 60-61
TP 02 60-61
TP 03 60-61
TP 04 57
TP 05 60-61
TP 06 61-62
TP 07 61-62
TP 08 59-60
TP 09 60-61
TP 10 59-61
TP 11 57-59
TP 12 58-60
TP 13 60-61
TP 14 58-60
TP 15 61-63
TP 16 59-61
TP 17 62-63
TP 18 59-60
TP 19 62-63
TP 20 59-61
TP 21 61-62
TP 22 61-62
TP 23 62-63 
TP 24 59-60
TP 25 62-63
TP 26 60-61
TP 27 62-63
TP 28 61-62
TP 29 64-65
TP 30 59-60
TP 31 65-67
TP 32 62-64


Echostar 77
TP 01 69-71
TP 02 Jumped Over
TP 03 Jumped Over
TP 04 64-66
TP 05 68-69
TP 06 Jumped Over
TP 07 Jumped Over
TP 08 69-71
TP 09 68-69
TP 10 Jumped Over
TP 11 66-68
TP 12 69-70
TP 13 Jumped Over
TP 14 59-70 (Heavy Fluctiations, Seems to be locking elsewhere, "Locked - Name Not Acquired!" instead of "Locked - EchoStar 77 West") 
TP 15 Jumped Over
TP 16 68-69
TP 17 68-69
TP 18 Jumped Over
TP 19 Jumped Over
TP 20 64-66
TP 21 68-69
TP 22 Jumped Over
TP 23 Jumped Over
TP 24 67-70
TP 25 70-71
TP 26 ? (No Lock)
TP 27 Jumped Over
TP 28 67-68
TP 29 70
TP 30 Jumped Over
TP 31 Jumped Over
TP 32 69-70




EchoStar 118 West
TP 01 55-57
TP 02 55-57
TP 03 58-59
TP 04 55-57
TP 05 57-58
TP 06 61-63
TP 07 52-53
TP 08 58-60
TP 09 54-57
TP 10 58-60
TP 11 57-59
TP 12 53-55
TP 13 62-63
TP 14 52-54
TP 15 57-59
TP 16 no lock
TP 17 57-59
TP 18 44-45
TP 19 58-61
TP 20 55-57
TP 21 59-62
TP 22 59-61
TP 23 60-61
TP 24 57-58
TP 25 57-61
TP 26 52-54
TP 27 61-63
TP 28 52-54
TP 29 61-62
TP 30 59-61
TP 31 65-68
TP 32 59-62


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,317 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 May 2013 - 03:14 PM

new scale has red line at 25 points, 40+ is good, 60+ is excellent


Edited by P Smith, 21 May 2013 - 03:14 PM.


#3 OFFLINE   TimCoh

TimCoh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Dec 24, 2011

Posted 23 May 2013 - 07:00 PM

I am on Long Island. Centereach area. I get the same signal levels. Anybody know what is with 61.5 taking so long to lock?



#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,317 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 May 2013 - 07:05 PM

LNBF drift - check the values under Details after run Diags from Menu



#5 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,694 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 24 May 2013 - 06:43 AM

OP - your signals are fine. In the long ago past, Dish used to go to 125 on signals. In the last couple (5 maybe more?) years Dish recalibrated their recievers' signal strength meter to closely correspond to the Sat meter most of their techs are equipped with.


You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,317 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 May 2013 - 08:35 AM

OP - your signals are fine. In the long ago past, Dish used to go to 125 on signals. In the last couple (5 maybe more?) years Dish recalibrated their recievers' signal strength meter to closely correspond to the Sat meter most of their techs are equipped with.

You overestimated the company :) - they did change only a formula in FW of converting SNR what sat tuner reporting to FW to relative values on UI scale.






spam firewall