Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

sl3 signal quality


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mickrogers97

mickrogers97

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2011

Posted 21 May 2013 - 10:24 PM

I have a 1.2M dish with the sl3 on it. Can someone give me the transponders and sats I need to allign my dish to.

 

101 = 99%

99© Transponder 1-16 = 40%-65% (Transponder 12 being the lowest)

99(s) = Transponder 1-8 = 0%

                                  15-24 = 0%-21% (Transponder 15 = 19%; 23 = 21%)

103(s) = Transponder 1-4 = 0%

                                    15-24 = 16% (Transponder 20 = 16%)

103(ca) = Transponder 9-24 = 0%-71% (Transponders 9,10,13,14,18,22 are 0%)

103(cb) = Transponder 1-14 = 35%-64% (Transponder 4 being the lowest)

 

Obviously I need some tuning. I just want to know what transponders per sat I should be tuning the dish to.

 

 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,566 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 22 May 2013 - 05:33 AM

You should be able to get mid 80s on most of the TPs on 99c and 103c.

Since 101 is looking good, you probably have a problem with the skew setting.

 


DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,700 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 May 2013 - 07:36 AM

you don't peak to dish for certain transponders, if your dish is aligned properly on the 101, the rest will fall into place


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,019 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 22 May 2013 - 07:54 AM

Since 99 and 103 flank 101 where your numbers are good, I agree with jdspencer that your skew is likely off.



#5 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,477 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 22 May 2013 - 08:05 AM

Where are you ?

Why do you have this dish instead of a Slimline ?

In addition to the Skew mentioned already, I would also check the elevation for a minor adjustment.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#6 ONLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,911 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 22 May 2013 - 08:26 AM

I suspect the problem is that the 1.2M dish does not have the correct shape to properly reflect the 99 and 103 signals to the LNB. There is a specific Alaska/Hawaii dish that you would need to use if you must have the larger dish. Where are you located that a regular slimline does not serve the purpose?

 

Understand also that the beam width for 99 and 103 is only about 1/2 of what it is for 101. It is possible to have a high reading on 101 and poor readings on 99 and 103 just due to azimuth adjustment.  There is a dithering process to follow to properly align the dish, which basically has you note the point where signal starts to drop on each side of the 101 azimuth, and using the "fine tuning" knob count the turns between those points and set it half way between them to make sure you are centered. But that won't work if the shape of the dish is not correct.



#7 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,102 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 22 May 2013 - 08:27 AM

Where are you located? Are you using the Alaska/Hawaii dish or are you trying to use a standard SL3 LNB with a round 1.2m dish?



#8 OFFLINE   mickrogers97

mickrogers97

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2011

Posted 28 May 2013 - 01:37 PM

I have the alaska dish and the lnb that you need. Good to know about setting the signal to the transponders



#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,853 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 28 May 2013 - 05:52 PM

see gct's tables - what tp is spotbeam, what conus tps looked at your home






Protected By... spam firewall...And...