Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD DVRs, Receivers, and R22, Version 0x06D8 -- Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
219 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,835 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 22 May 2013 - 10:48 AM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for all HD DVRs, Receivers, and R22, version 0x06D8.

Release notes: http://www.dbstalk.c...23-hx2x-0x06d8/

 

We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.

Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.


Thanks!


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 22 May 2013 - 01:22 PM

[MOD EDIT]

 

I have had numerous occasions where the HR24-500 guide still loads slowly or the remote does not respond.  I'll be interested to see if others who have had problems have had their issues resolved or if they continue to have problems as well.

 

Here are my Report IDs from when I've experienced slowness on my HR24 [MOD EDIT]

 

Report ID #: 20130518-2E28

Report ID #: 20130519-2F12

Report ID #: 20130520-2803


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#3 OFFLINE   kkl

kkl

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 22 May 2013 - 01:56 PM

 but for those HR24-500 owners hoping it fixes the slowness entirely - I am sorry to say it does not fix it for me.

 

Unbelievable.  They know which software version initiated the problem, but haven't been able to identify and back-out the problem code for two months. :angry:   I have an HR24-100, so maybe I'll get lucky in the software roulette.



#4 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 22 May 2013 - 03:12 PM

[MOD EDIT]

---

 

Latest slowness report -

 

Report ID #: 20130522-34C3

HR24-500 using 0x06D8

 

Came home at a little before 5pm (EDT) - turned on the TV and pressed Guide - it came up right away no delay - goodness.  But then I changed channels and then tried to open up the Playlist, it came up right away but it froze, remote would not respond to commands for about 20 seconds.  I then exited back to Live TV, pressed the playlist again and then pressed the "Yellow" button to bring up the Options - the HR24 froze again - this time for about 60 seconds before it finally responded -- I was trying to switch to "Local Only" playlist to see if that prevents it from freezing.  BTW- After submitting the report I then went back to the Playlist which is now Local Only and it still froze, so that didn't help me.

 

I will continue to post Report IDs whenever I experience slowness - I am hoping one of these reports helps Directv track down the problem.  If I am overdoing it, please let me know.

 

If this matters:  I am using MRV,  hooked up via Ethernet to one other HR23/700 and connected to the Internet

 

The HR24-500 is connected to a Yamaha RX-V1900 Receiver via HDMI and then to a Pioneer Elite Kuro Pro-141FD

 

I don't think this is hardware related (at least not like a bad Hard drive) since others are having similar problems and some have gotten a replacement HR24 which does not fix the problem.

 

To do List only has 23 items, Series Manager has 34 items, Queue has 0 items, History has 223 items - Oh I have one Keyword search ("AALL HDTV RANGERS NNOT PREGAME" in the Sports -> Hockey category).

 

Hopefully that covers all the information needed.


Edited by Scott Kocourek, 22 May 2013 - 07:08 PM.

Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#5 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 22 May 2013 - 08:04 PM

Report ID #: 20130522-3A52
HR24-500, 0x06D8
 
9:30pm - Watching Live TV since about 8pm, pressed the guide button and it took about 60 seconds to come up.  During this time the HR24 is completely frozen until the guide data is populated.

 

Here is a picture of what my HR24 looks like for about 60 seconds when nothing is happening, note that not even the date/time is populated at this point - the screen is completely blank.  Live TV plays smoothly in the preview window the entire time:

 

IMG_5559.jpg


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#6 OFFLINE   samthegam

samthegam

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 23 May 2013 - 01:38 AM

My HR24-500 downloaded 0x06D7 overnight. It had upgraded from 0x06BD

 

In the Extras menu I have Pandora but lost YouTube. Also "My DirecTV" says to check back later. 


Edited by samthegam, 23 May 2013 - 02:02 AM.


#7 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,226 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 23 May 2013 - 05:08 AM

My HR24-500 downloaded 0x06D7 overnight. It had upgraded from 0x06BD

 

In the Extras menu I have Pandora but lost YouTube. Also "My DirecTV" says to check back later. 

 

Give it at least 24 hours and as much as 48 to load all the features from the time the software update was downloaded and installed.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#8 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 23 May 2013 - 03:48 PM

Report ID #: 20130523-46F4

HR24-500 0x06D8

 

Turned on the receiver after work today - around 5:40pm.

 

Pressing the guide button immediately after turning on the receiver resulted in a 40 second delay.

 

Pressing the Playlist button - no issues, was able to switch from local playlist to all playlist (yellow button) with no problems.

 

Then tried to turn off Closed Captioning (yellow button, arrow keys) - no problem

 

Then tried to turn on Closed Captioning - pressing the yellow button resulted in no action, frozen for over a minute, pressing other buttons like Guide results in no response.

 

Then went to the Playlist - started a program, no problems.

 

Then went to the Menu to submit a report - froze at the Search & Browse menu - menu does not load (no icons or text on the right hand side) even though it is highlighted - frozen for about 40 seconds - then was able to go down to submit a report.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#9 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 25 May 2013 - 06:21 AM

Oh please, oh please DirecTV, bring back 0x62c.



#10 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,226 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 25 May 2013 - 06:37 AM

LIQICE

I could have missed it but you made no mention of resetting the receiver after getting the update.
I always reset my receivers, just like with my PCs.
Menu, Settings, Reset, Reset Receiver.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#11 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 25 May 2013 - 09:26 AM

LIQICE

I could have missed it but you made no mention of resetting the receiver after getting the update.
I always reset my receivers, just like with my PCs.
Menu, Settings, Reset, Reset Receiver.

Thanks - I've tried that before.  Cleared the guide cache even (reset twice in a 30 min period) - also reset again on Thursday - did not help.  Only thing I haven't tried so far is pulling the plug.  I doubt pulling the plug would help though since I tried it with 0x66C and 0x6BD and it didn't help with the slowness issues on either of those releases.

 

I had no issues at all with the NR before 0x66C (I think it was 0x62C) - all the issues started with 0x66C and have yet to be resolved for me.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#12 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 938 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 26 May 2013 - 08:21 PM

VENTING HERE!!!!  Wow I haven't vented in a long time, but here goes...

I had hoped this version of firmware would  finally be the answer, but no. Several recordings(4-5) with this version have started out OK but a minute into them all video stops,but the audio continues. No amount of "fooling" with the recording ever  makes it recover. After the 1st 2 problems, I started backing up on my other HR( an HR21) Without these backups my wifes season finals for "Dancing" would have been lost as well as my F1 and Indy 500 programs. These were ALL unwatchable! So many inputs from the remote take SO LONG to respond to, minutes sometimes.  After a year with this HR34, this should not be happening. Until version 66c my 34 worked really well. The auto-correct never has been good, but all other functions were fine. It seems people with the "mini-clients" have seen some improvement but for my system(without them) these versions have made me want to scream!! Come on DTV get this fixed!!!

There....Thank you...


  • GreenScrew likes this

HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#13 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 27 May 2013 - 10:54 AM

HR24-500, 0x06D8

Report ID: 20130527-2FBF

 

Remote became unresponsive for about 30 seconds.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#14 OFFLINE   dravenstone

dravenstone

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 27 May 2013 - 12:14 PM

Yep - still broken, same crappy symptoms. the trick from the other thread where you pull the network connection while it's frozen seems to help a little bit to get things going again.

So disappointed in how long this has been going on. 



#15 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 938 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 27 May 2013 - 05:29 PM

Yep - still broken, same crappy symptoms. the trick from the other thread where you pull the network connection while it's frozen seems to help a little bit to get things going again.

So disappointed in how long this has been going on. 

Could you elaborate on this? Details....Link to thread...?



HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#16 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 27 May 2013 - 06:22 PM

Could you elaborate on this? Details....Link to thread...?

 

dravenstone and I found on the previous National Release (0x06BD) that hooking up our HR24's via Ethernet instead of DECA reduced the occurrence of freezes or in some cases reduces the length of the freeze.  We then also found that when the receiver is acting up (over time it seems to get worse) - that unplugging the Ethernet cable and plugging it back in seems to help as well.

 

If you're not familiar with DECA or Ethernet - a quick Google search should help you.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#17 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 28 May 2013 - 06:50 AM

I talked with my case manager yesterday.  She said 0x06d8 was for the HR34 and HR44,  She said that there was no 0x06d8 software for any other receivers.  That's what she said. 



#18 OFFLINE   PHIL56

PHIL56

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationBoynton Beach FL
Joined: Apr 13, 2013

Posted 28 May 2013 - 10:51 AM

We got the upgrade for our HR 24-500 and we lost our whole home capability..Reset 3 times after 3 days it upgraded and added adult playlist..All the extras were complete... Had a tech come out and he said it could take as much as 5 days to completely accept the upgrade... The upgrade also included immediate playback of on demand... Not happy with the length of time it takes to upgrade the system... Wait till cloud based technology takes over... It's not perfected yet...People who have it from Comcast can't wait to get rid of it...  :blackeye:



#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,641 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 May 2013 - 07:18 PM

. Had a tech come out and he said it could take as much as 5 days to completely accept the upgrade... 

WHDVR should be working "right out the box".  the longer it would take would be 5minutes.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#20 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 29 May 2013 - 03:49 PM

We got the upgrade for our HR 24-500 and we lost our whole home capability..Reset 3 times after 3 days it upgraded and added adult playlist..All the extras were complete... Had a tech come out and he said it could take as much as 5 days to completely accept the upgrade... The upgrade also included immediate playback of on demand... Not happy with the length of time it takes to upgrade the system... Wait till cloud based technology takes over... It's not perfected yet...People who have it from Comcast can't wait to get rid of it... :blackeye:


What cloud technology does comcast have?




spam firewall