Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD DVRs, Receivers, and R22, Version 0x06D8 -- Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
219 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   PHIL56

PHIL56

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationBoynton Beach FL
Joined: Apr 13, 2013

Posted 31 May 2013 - 12:05 PM

The new DVRs have no hard drive so all of your recodings are stored on their servers...



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,653 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 31 May 2013 - 12:20 PM

The new DVRs have no hard drive so all of your recodings are stored on their servers...

What????


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#28 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,401 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 31 May 2013 - 02:02 PM

The new DVRs have no hard drive so all of your recodings are stored on their servers...

 

 

What????

Think he referring to the Genie client - C31


Edited by Drucifer, 31 May 2013 - 02:03 PM.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#29 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,653 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 31 May 2013 - 05:11 PM

Think he referring to the Genie client - C31

that was my thought.  but DVRs are DVRs and clients are clients... :shrug:


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#30 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 01 June 2013 - 06:35 AM

HR24-500 0x06D8

Report ID #: 20130531-4312

 

Still having major issues with my HR24-500.  Most recently - had problems all day, primarily with ending playback of a recording (DVR freezes and nothing happens when I press "Exit") or when starting another recording while one is already playing (Pressing List during a recording playback, selecting a recording causes the DVR to freeze and not respond for 30 seconds - note that this isn't the start of playback for another recording but just selecting it so I can get the menu option to play it).

 

Types and amount of freezes are all varied.  I ran a Level 2 Report yesterday and went out - when I came back the receiver had powered off for Power Saving - and when I turned it back on I submitted the above report.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#31 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,225 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 01 June 2013 - 06:41 AM

LIQICE
Have you tried to force a download of software to get the 0x06bd version that is supposed to be on your receiver ?
The Firmware watcher shows the 0x06d8 for the Genies only.
http://www.redh.com/dtv/

Edited by jimmie57, 01 June 2013 - 06:42 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#32 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 01 June 2013 - 07:37 AM

LIQICE
Have you tried to force a download of software to get the 0x06bd version that is supposed to be on your receiver ?
The Firmware watcher shows the 0x06d8 for the Genies only.
http://www.redh.com/dtv/

 

I had 0x06bd before this and it was worse than 0x06d8.

 

0x06bd is the previous National Release for the HR2x (HD DVRs) series.  0x06d8 is also a valid firmware for the HR2x's.  The title of this thread even says 0x06d8 is the latest firmware for HD DVRs.

 

I suspect 0x06d8 wouldn't work at all on my HR24 if it was meant for Genies only.  If you look here, you will see 0x06d8 is available at times for all of the HR2x series: http://www.redh.com/dtv/index.php?r=HR

 

Like all National Release - for example like when the new HD firmware came out - it didn't roll out to all HR2x receivers at the same time, the rollout occurs in limited regions and slowly makes its way to everyone.  I forced a download to get 0x06d8 - and unless another release supercedes this one, you will get 0x06d8 eventually too.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#33 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,225 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 01 June 2013 - 09:06 AM

LIQICE

Look at the bottom of that list at the colors that explain Newest to Oldest. The section with the Orange / Tan background is the newest version and it is not the one you are running.

0x06BD is what I read that is for your machine.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#34 OFFLINE   kkl

kkl

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 01 June 2013 - 11:07 AM

LIQICE is correct.  0x06d8 automatically installed on my HR24 and HR20 a couple of days ago.  Unfortunately, it has done nothing noticeable to help with my HR24-100 freezing.



#35 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,225 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 01 June 2013 - 12:28 PM

OK, I am going to stop posting to this one as it appears that I either do not know how to read that Firmware site or it doesn't matter what it shows, just what is rolling out.

Both of mine are HR24-100 and they show software for them that I have seen nothing about.

 

Good luck to you all.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#36 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 01 June 2013 - 08:27 PM

LIQICE

Look at the bottom of that list at the colors that explain Newest to Oldest. The section with the Orange / Tan background is the newest version and it is not the one you are running.

0x06BD is what I read that is for your machine.

 

0x06BD in hexadecimal is less than 0x06D8.  6BD in decimal is 1725 and 6D8 is 1752.  Directv firmware versions usually go up - so the newer one is the higher number.

 

I agree the firmware watcher webpage is confusing showing that Orange is newer - but what they mean is newer in the sense that it was the most recently offered firmware for download - in other words if you force a download, you will get this version.  Typically what you will see is the 100% rolled out National Release which is 0x06BD.  0x06D8 is the next version and you will see it activate sometimes early in the morning (when DirecTV typically pushes out software updates) or sometimes you will see other versions which may push out at other times.  Basically Orange / Tan color just means that it is the newest - or really most recently offered firmware for download - or what you will download if you force a download - but it does not mean it is the latest version.

 

I know it can be confusing - but trust me when I say that 0x06D8 is in fact a valid version for all of the HR2x models, that it is the latest National Release and you will probably get it soon.

 

Hope this helps clarify what is going on with firmwares.

 

Unfortunately - like kkl said, if you're having slowness or freezing issues with 0x06BD, it doesn't seem like 0x06D8 fully cures the problem.  It makes it incrementally better - but I sure wish I could go back to the NR before 0x066c (I think it was 0x062c) which worked beautifully for me.


Edited by LiQiCE, 01 June 2013 - 08:42 PM.

Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#37 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 01 June 2013 - 08:39 PM

HR24-500 0x06d8

Report ID #: 20130601-4929

 

Turned on the HR24 at 10pm EDT, pressed Select to get rid of Power Saving popup and then pressed Guide - Guide froze for ~30 seconds before populating with data (see my previous screenshot).  Changed channel and watched TV for awhile... (wife was looking through the guide at some point, wasn't paying attention to what she did).

 

At 10:35pm EDT or so - pressed Guide again - and it froze again for about 30 seconds again.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#38 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 410 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 02 June 2013 - 12:11 AM

The new DVRs have no hard drive so all of your recodings are stored on their servers...

The Xfinity X1 are their newest DVRs and it still has a hard drive in the server just like DirecTV's Genie servers???



#39 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,225 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 02 June 2013 - 06:58 AM

LIQICE

The thing is, I have never had one of my receivers to do the things you and others list. My worst problem with speed is that on some firmware changes in the last 2 years it could take as much as 8 seconds for it to change channels. I have never had my receiver freeze up like you and others describe.
I have to think it has something to do with the DECAs inline or being connected with Ethernet cables.
I have none of that, no whole home, no internet.
Both of my HR24-100 receivers get the guide up in about 2 to 3 seconds at most and change channels in about 4 to 5 seconds with Native turned on and switching from a 1080i channel to a 720p channel.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#40 OFFLINE   kkl

kkl

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 02 June 2013 - 01:40 PM

The thing is, I have never had one of my receivers to do the things you and others list.

 

I don't think 99% of DirecTV customers have this problem.  If they were, these forums would be blowing up.  However, DirecTV has known about the problem for months and hasn't fixed it.  From what I've read, they also don't want to exchange receivers because they're working on the problem.  Mine was fine until 0x066a.

 

I did some timings today on the usual problem areas:

 

2:20 and 2:02 for Quicktune (up arrow)

0:25 and 0:29 to tune the channel when the Quicktune icons finally appeared

2:00  Previous channel

1:59  Info, then More Info

2:00  Guide

1:35  Menu, then arrow to Search & Browse (Extras also has a long delay at times)

 

I removed my CCK and DECAs over a week ago, with no improvement.  Everything (HR20, HR21, HR24) are connected directly to Ethernet.  It's bad when your HR20 and HR21 are your fast receivers.

 

I don't know if DTV is monitoring, but following LIQUICE' example, I'm sending report ID #20130602-2CBD.  I was requested to send a report several weeks ago, but nothing apparently came of it.



#41 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 02 June 2013 - 01:57 PM

LIQICE

The thing is, I have never had one of my receivers to do the things you and others list. My worst problem with speed is that on some firmware changes in the last 2 years it could take as much as 8 seconds for it to change channels. I have never had my receiver freeze up like you and others describe.
I have to think it has something to do with the DECAs inline or being connected with Ethernet cables.
I have none of that, no whole home, no internet.
Both of my HR24-100 receivers get the guide up in about 2 to 3 seconds at most and change channels in about 4 to 5 seconds with Native turned on and switching from a 1080i channel to a 720p channel.

 

I absolutely agree that adding network services is related to the problems with the HR24 slowness.  But - I have to think it can be fixed because I've never had the problem before 0x062c.  I switched from DECA to Ethernet and that helped when I was on 0x06BD, but it did not eliminate the problem.  The thing is - I'm paying for MRV, so I think I should be able to use it and have the receiver work as expected as well.  Before 0x66d I did not have any problems - my experience with my HR24 is much like you have currently.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#42 OFFLINE   dravenstone

dravenstone

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 02 June 2013 - 03:28 PM

My current experiment is to pull networking completely and see how the machine reacts for a few days. I just pulled the ethernet cable an hour ago (but think I'm going try and do something besides be in front a screen for a few hours) be good to see whether or not thing improve with no networking enabled - though DECA will kick back in if it resets I think...



#43 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 03 June 2013 - 07:31 AM


 

Unfortunately - like kkl said, if you're having slowness or freezing issues with 0x06BD, it doesn't seem like 0x06D8 fully cures the problem.  It makes it incrementally better - but I sure wish I could go back to the NR before 0x066c (I think it was 0x062c) which worked beautifully for me.

 

0x062c was the last software that worked properly on my HR24 and my HR23.


  • MercurialIN likes this

#44 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 03 June 2013 - 08:12 PM

HR24-500 0x06D8

Report ID #: 20130603-42FC

 

Guide took about 1 minute to come up.  During this time, the HR24 is completely unresponsive, remote commands do nothing - not even blinking on the front of the receiver.  Pressing buttons on the front of the receiver also results in no response.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#45 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,225 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 03 June 2013 - 08:43 PM

You know that sometimes IR interference can cause this to happen.
Next time it hangs up, try taking your TV remote and turn the TV off. Then use the DTV remote and change the channel and see if the light blinks on the receiver. Turn the TV back on and see if it changed channels. If it did, your TV is overloading the sensor on the receiver with IR signals.
If it is happening there are a few ways to stop it from doing that.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#46 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 04 June 2013 - 07:42 AM

You know that sometimes IR interference can cause this to happen.
Next time it hangs up, try taking your TV remote and turn the TV off. Then use the DTV remote and change the channel and see if the light blinks on the receiver. Turn the TV back on and see if it changed channels. If it did, your TV is overloading the sensor on the receiver with IR signals.
If it is happening there are a few ways to stop it from doing that.

 

jimmie57 -

 

Yes, TV interference could be an issue - I have experienced this when I had a Harmony One with IR Repeater, it did not work at all due to interference from the TV.

 

However, now I have a Harmony 900 RF Remote with IR Blasters so interference shouldn't be an issue.  I can also confirm that I can control other devices such as my receiver with no problem at the same time I am having issues with the HR24.

 

I also usually get up and physically press the buttons on the HR24 - there is no IR interference that could occur with pressing the buttons on the front of the HR24.  That is why I state this in my posts (as I did in the post previous to yours) - to confirm the issue is independent of the Remote batteries dying, IR interference, or some other issue related to the remote and not the HR24.

 

It also would not explain why I have had zero issues with 0x62c and only started having issues with 0x66c.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#47 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,225 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 04 June 2013 - 07:59 AM

IR interference can lock up the DTV receiver and not other items. It appears that DTV has a poor filter on the lens of the sensor.

It can also cause the physical buttons to not respond on the receiver.

 

 

What I described for a test is quick and easy to do.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#48 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 04 June 2013 - 08:36 AM

IR interference can lock up the DTV receiver and not other items. It appears that DTV has a poor filter on the lens of the sensor.

It can also cause the physical buttons to not respond on the receiver.

 

 

What I described for a test is quick and easy to do.

 

Ok - I didn't think the front buttons would stop working due to IR interference - but I'll give it a try and post the results when I'm at home to try.  Thanks.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#49 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 04 June 2013 - 03:17 PM



Ok - I didn't think the front buttons would stop working due to IR interference - but I'll give it a try and post the results when I'm at home to try.  Thanks.

 

Unfortunately this did not work.  Today I pressed the Guide button when coming home - the guide did not display anything - like it always does when it freezes.  I turned off the TV - and started pressing buttons (Exit was the one I pressed) - the HR24 did not blink its lights at all.  I turned the TV back on - and the Guide was still frozen - no data was displayed and it still did not respond to commands - nor did the Exit command work - it was still at the frozen guide.  After about a minute - the Guide data finally populated.

 

Actually - now that I think about it - I don't understand how IR interference would cause the guide to be frozen with no data loaded.  It responds with the Guide command - how could IR interference cause the Guide to misbehave?

 

Here is an example of what the guide looks like when I press the guide button and it freezes:

 

Picture

 

Anyway - thanks for the idea, but I don't think IR interference is my problem.


Edited by LiQiCE, 04 June 2013 - 03:50 PM.

Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#50 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 04 June 2013 - 04:06 PM

HR24-500 0x06d8

Report ID: 20130604-2D8E

 

Receiver took 36 seconds to load guide.  I filmed it with my camera.  Sorry for the poor focus - I couldn't get the camera to re-focus after I focused on the remote.

 

 

The video is rather boring - but hopefully people will start to understand what the problem is and maybe people will see this problem is being caused by something wrong with the firmware.  It may be a combination of issues - but one of them is definitely firmware.


Edited by LiQiCE, 04 June 2013 - 04:12 PM.

Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100





Protected By... spam firewall...And...