Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD DVRs, Receivers, and R22, Version 0x06D8 -- Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
219 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 14 June 2013 - 05:54 PM

Guess no one wants to try my suggestion.. A simple reset of everything including the swim might help.

 

Doubt it would help with the problem I was having - I have 4 receivers, 3 of which were acting up - one of which was fine.  Just so happens the one receiver with no problems does not have an auto-record, and the other 3 did.  Removing the auto-record cleared up the slowness.  This follows a clear pattern that I don't think a power cycle would resolve.  Especially considering the problem started following a firmware upgrade (0x66c) - it is clear to me the problem is firmware related.

 

I have separately reset everything from the SWM (by removing the power inserter) to pulling the plug on the receiver, to resetting the Internet Connection Kit, removed the Internet Connection Kit entirely, ran a "Reset Everything" on my HR24, etc etc.

 

Considering others are also having success by removing Auto-Records too - I think it would support my case that this is the problem and caused by a firmware bug and not something that a full power cycle would fix.

 

If I start having problems again - I'll definitely consider your recommendation.

 

BTW- 0x66c also introduced "Far in Advance" which provides some guide data up to a year out.  I wonder if this is related to the Auto-record issue - maybe the "Far in Advance" data increase guide data significantly causing the Auto-record to take significantly longer to search or maybe it just causes the Auto-record to hang on the Far in Advance data.

 

http://blog.solidsig...e-and-Watch-Now


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   dravenstone

dravenstone

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 15 June 2013 - 11:54 AM

I have an AALL recording - on just this box with the problems, not on the other two... just removed... will let you know.



#128 OFFLINE   VABlitz

VABlitz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
  • LocationVirginia Beach
Joined: Jan 19, 2013

Posted 15 June 2013 - 02:49 PM

Very interesting.  I left my receiver ON overnight (no standby), and when I powered on my TV (slid the remote switch to DirecTV) the remote and buttons on the front of the DVR had no effect on my HR21.  It looks like it doesn't matter if I put it in standby or not.  If you leave it alone for more than a few hours, the HR21 refuses to respond to the remote or the buttons on the front.  Only a red button reset fixes this, which is irritating. 

As I side note a took some advice from someone earlier in this thread and turned off the scrolling Effect, and man does the Guide and List menus fly.  I have never seen a Directv Receiver move this fast.  I also turned off Native mode, turned off Recording tips, and unchecked all but 1080i & 1080p.  So, if it was not the scrolling effects that sped up my menus one of those actions cured it.  I do not want to tempt fate to see which action sped up the menus.   

Also, I do not use the autorecord keyword feature.  I either schedule with a season pass or record something from the guide. 


Edited by VABlitz, 15 June 2013 - 02:52 PM.


#129 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,819 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 June 2013 - 02:57 PM

Good.

Try the last one now, Clear the NVRAM. It helps a little bit also.

 

Tonight, since you have the Power Save function set to OFF, Turn off the TV and the Receiver and see what it does tomorrow.


Edited by jimmie57, 15 June 2013 - 02:59 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#130 OFFLINE   VABlitz

VABlitz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
  • LocationVirginia Beach
Joined: Jan 19, 2013

Posted 15 June 2013 - 03:02 PM

Good.

Try the last one now, Clear the NVRAM. It helps a little bit also.

 

Tonight, since you have the Power Save function set to OFF, Turn off the TV and the Receiver and see what it does tomorrow.

 

Thanks for all the tips, not sure what the NVRAM did, but it is cleared now.   The powersave has always been set to off.  So, I imagine the same thing will happen.  It doesn't matter if I put it in standby or not, it will still have to be reset in the morning. 


Edited by VABlitz, 15 June 2013 - 03:06 PM.


#131 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,819 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 June 2013 - 04:37 PM

I noticed that you turn your TV on before the DTV receiver.

Please try turning on the DTV receiver first.

Lots of TVs put out a lot of IR interference when they are first turned on.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#132 OFFLINE   VABlitz

VABlitz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
  • LocationVirginia Beach
Joined: Jan 19, 2013

Posted 15 June 2013 - 07:34 PM

Actually I usually hit the On button, and usually the HR21 does power on first and my TV follows which through HDMI powers on my stereo.  I will try to remember to just hit the DTV PWR button first in the morning.   


Edited by VABlitz, 15 June 2013 - 07:34 PM.


#133 OFFLINE   GreenScrew

GreenScrew

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2005

Posted 16 June 2013 - 08:22 AM

So I found something really interesting with my HR24-500 that may help folks.

 

I normally have a Keyword search Autorecord setup for recordings - "AALL HDTV RANGERS in Sports -> Hockey".

 

I didn't add that back in for my HR24-500 when I was adding back my Series recordings after I ran a "Reset Everything" because hockey season is over for the Rangers.

 

However - I added it back in today - and while it did not immediately cause issues, I found that my receiver started having slowness issues - just like I was previously with the guide loading slowly and the receiver not responding at all.  After deleting the Keyword search Autorecord - no issues.

 

Are there folks with slowness issues that also have Keyword search Auto-recordings?  If so - can you try removing it and see if that fixes the problem?

 

If so and if this fix also work for you - I think we may have figured out the problem.  Now the only question is - how do we communicate that to Directv so they can fix it?

 

Note- I don't think this problem is occurring on my HR23-700, I have had the keyword search enabled on the HR23-700 (never ran a Reset Everything on my HR23-700) and since receiving 0x06d8 it has been running fine.

This makes sense. Following this thread I finally got one of my HR24-500 work as it should after doing the reset everything. Not pleasant to lose all recording and settings but worth the reward. So I was holding off resetting the other one acting up. They both have Boolean autorecord searches. So I'll remove those from the other one today and see what I learn but I'm assuming you've hit the nail on the head. Kudos and thanks to you!

 

I have to say, disappointed DTV hasn't identified and resolved the issue already. It has been the most frustrating experience for the past month plus. In the end, I sure hope they fix the issue because I want my autorecord searches back. Get rid of the deep search if that is what the cause is!



#134 OFFLINE   dravenstone

dravenstone

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 16 June 2013 - 12:41 PM

 

  I haven't had problems for over a week now (last Friday is when I ran the "Reset Everything") EXCEPT when I added the keyword search auto-record and then it returned to normal after removing it.  IMHO - this is the smoking gun. 

 

 

I'm close to a full day with no auto-record on my impacted HR24 - and it's been back to its jolly ol' self. My friend, I do believe you have indeed found the smoking gun...



#135 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 16 June 2013 - 02:33 PM

I'm close to a full day with no auto-record on my impacted HR24 - and it's been back to its jolly ol' self. My friend, I do believe you have indeed found the smoking gun...

 

So now I have to ask the question - how do we let Directv know so they can fix this and we can get our Auto-records back? 

 

Calling DTV probably won't it escalated up enough to get it fixed.

 

In the past - I know posting in these types of threads was enough to have someone contact me about a fix, but this go-around I have not heard from anyone.  I hope DTV is watching this thread.


Edited by LiQiCE, 16 June 2013 - 02:34 PM.

Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#136 OFFLINE   GreenScrew

GreenScrew

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2005

Posted 16 June 2013 - 03:17 PM

Just a final confirmation. On another HR24 that was acting up I deleted the 7 autorecord searches that I had. The demons have been exorcised!

 

I would think a brief summary and url link to this thread sent to DirecTV support (http://support.directv.com/app/ask) would be worth a shot. I had posted on this issue at the DirecTV forums and I'm going to update that thread with this link.

 

THANKS so much LiQiCE!!! DirecTV owes you if they weren't already aware of the cause of the issue. And if they were aware, shame on them for not figuring a way to resolve or at least communicate it.



#137 OFFLINE   mrphil

mrphil

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 16 June 2013 - 04:10 PM

Received 06D8 12 June. Have experienced no issues.  I have 14 Auto-Records, one of which is scheduled to record 22 June.  My 2TB drive is 1% free.   (Ouch)


 

(1) HR44-500 w/Ethernet / AM21 / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VL
USpeed AK-68UPSHDDS-BU Dock / WD30EURS 3TB Drive
(1) HR24-500 / Antec MX-1 Dock / WD20EVDS 2TB Drive
(2) C41-100 Clients / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VF


#138 OFFLINE   dravenstone

dravenstone

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 16 June 2013 - 04:18 PM

Received 06D8 12 June. Have experienced no issues. I have 14 Auto-Records, one of which is scheduled to record 22 June. My 2TB drive is 1% free. (Ouch)


How are yours set up?
Mine was AALL for Red Sox live 628 629 (not exactly like that but you get the idea) I think the common theme is those of us using the syntaxs from dtv rather than auto record all episodes of some show on some channel. I have tons of those no problem. - hope I articulated that well enough to clarify.

Just making sure we are talking apples to apples here.

#139 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 16 June 2013 - 04:19 PM

Just a final confirmation. On another HR24 that was acting up I deleted the 7 autorecord searches that I had. The demons have been exorcised!

 

I would think a brief summary and url link to this thread sent to DirecTV support (http://support.directv.com/app/ask) would be worth a shot. I had posted on this issue at the DirecTV forums and I'm going to update that thread with this link.

 

THANKS so much LiQiCE!!! DirecTV owes you if they weren't already aware of the cause of the issue. And if they were aware, shame on them for not figuring a way to resolve or at least communicate it.

 

I filled out a request using the URL you provided.  Don't know if I'll get any response - but at least I tried :)

 

Received 06D8 12 June. Have experienced no issues.  I have 14 Auto-Records, one of which is scheduled to record 22 June.  My 2TB drive is 1% free.   (Ouch)

 

That is good that you haven't had any issues - I wonder what is different between those of us that are having issues (that seems to be fixed by removing auto-records) and your setup.

 

Do you have MRV enabled / have your HR24-500 on the Internet?


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#140 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 16 June 2013 - 04:49 PM

I filled out a request using the URL you provided.  Don't know if I'll get any response - but at least I tried :)

 

Unfortunately - here is Directv's Response - I know this is not escalated high enough to warrant a proper response - but it does not seem like it will get escalated without me calling them ... ugh.

 

 

Dear Mr. Xyz,

Thank you for writing. I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing slowness when using the keyword auto-record functionality of your system after the software download.  

Our main priority is to give you hassle-free programming and we want to resolve any technical problem reported to us. Since the problem could be caused by so many different things, it is difficult to troubleshoot via email. I understand that you are able to find a quick fix for it. However, we would like to help you prevent the trouble from happening again in the future. The best and most convenient way for you to get help as soon as possible is to call 1-800-531-5000 and choose the option for technical assistance. Troubleshooting over the phone allows us to confirm that we have arrived at the resolution that will quickly fix the problems you are having. Our Technical Support agents are highly-trained and available any time of the day to fix any problem.  

You may also consider the DIRECTV PROTECTION PLAN, which gives you the ultimate in professional technical services for your DIRECTV System. This includes replacement of non-working equipment, such as receivers if problem cannot be resolved over the phone. You can visit our web site at directv.com/protection for more information.

We are glad you are one of our loyal customers, Mr. Xyz. Thanks again for writing.   

Sincerely,

<Name and Number removed>

DIRECTV Customer Service
 


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#141 OFFLINE   mrphil

mrphil

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 16 June 2013 - 04:59 PM

How are yours set up?
Mine was AALL for Red Sox live 628 629 (not exactly like that but you get the idea) I think the common theme is those of us using the syntaxs from dtv rather than auto record all episodes of some show on some channel. I have tons of those no problem. - hope I articulated that well enough to clarify.

Just making sure we are talking apples to apples here.

Just to be clear, all my 14 were ones which, when you look at the series manager, have AutoRecord on the right side.  That said, since your last post, I've setup a    AALL CARDINALS NNOT CUBS    and there are 6 of those so far on the To Do List.  I've checked Menu, Info, Guide, and List. All appear in less that 1 second.  Will let it sit overnight and report back tomorrow. Let me know if you'd like me to check/do anything else yet this evening.


 

(1) HR44-500 w/Ethernet / AM21 / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VL
USpeed AK-68UPSHDDS-BU Dock / WD30EURS 3TB Drive
(1) HR24-500 / Antec MX-1 Dock / WD20EVDS 2TB Drive
(2) C41-100 Clients / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VF


#142 OFFLINE   mrphil

mrphil

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 16 June 2013 - 05:19 PM

 

That is good that you haven't had any issues - I wonder what is different between those of us that are having issues (that seems to be fixed by removing auto-records) and your setup.

 

Do you have MRV enabled / have your HR24-500 on the Internet?

No MRV, but is net connected.


 

(1) HR44-500 w/Ethernet / AM21 / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VL
USpeed AK-68UPSHDDS-BU Dock / WD30EURS 3TB Drive
(1) HR24-500 / Antec MX-1 Dock / WD20EVDS 2TB Drive
(2) C41-100 Clients / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VF


#143 OFFLINE   kkl

kkl

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 16 June 2013 - 06:27 PM

Received 06D8 12 June. Have experienced no issues.  I have 14 Auto-Records, one of which is scheduled to record 22 June.  My 2TB drive is 1% free.   (Ouch)

But were you having the problem before or are you just saying that you didn't start to have the problem with 0x06D8?



#144 OFFLINE   GreenScrew

GreenScrew

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2005

Posted 16 June 2013 - 07:21 PM

I got a slight more positive response from DTV:
Subject
---------------------------------------------------------------
Problem identified - please resolve!!!


Discussion Thread
---------------------------------------------------------------
Response Via Email(name and case number removed) - 06/16/2013 03:15 PM
Dear Mr,

Thank you for writing. I am sorry to hear about trouble you have with the autorecording and the guide. I understand that you want to have this concern escalated to our technical team.

Since you have DIRECTV PROTECTION PLAN, the best way for you to get help as soon as possible is call 1-888-667-7463 and choose the option to speak to a technical assistant.

Our Technical Support agents are highly-trained to walk you through a number of troubleshooting steps which are too difficult to try to talk through over email and are available 24 hours a day.

Also, you may find some helpful information at the DIRECTV Technical Help forums. Just visit http://forums.direct...your questions.

Moreover, we respect your time, so I have forwarded your request to DIRECTV management. While DIRECTV Management can not follow up with each customer individually, rest assured every feedback from our most important customers is reviewed to determine what changes should be considered.

We are glad you are one of our loyal customers. It's feedback like yours that helps us remain America's #1 Satellite provider.

We thank you for your continued support!

Again, thank you for writing.

Sincerely,
<Name/case number removed>
DIRECTV Customer service

#145 OFFLINE   dravenstone

dravenstone

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 16 June 2013 - 10:13 PM

Just to be clear, all my 14 were ones which, when you look at the series manager, have AutoRecord on the right side.  That said, since your last post, I've setup a    AALL CARDINALS NNOT CUBS    and there are 6 of those so far on the To Do List.  I've checked Menu, Info, Guide, and List. All appear in less that 1 second.  Will let it sit overnight and report back tomorrow. Let me know if you'd like me to check/do anything else yet this evening.

 

Definitely interested to see if this impacts you or not over the short term. It was basically a binary change for me once I read the post from LiQiCE and deleted mine from series manager the DVR became usable again. It sure would be nice to not have to remember to set up recordings for every game I want to watch - but I'll take doing that once a week over the performance problems with that search on. 

 

I know they changed the syntax for some of these searches with one of the releases a while back - would put money on some correlation...  For now, I'm just glad to have things back to normal. 



#146 OFFLINE   kkl

kkl

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 16 June 2013 - 10:33 PM

So now I have to ask the question - how do we let Directv know so they can fix this and we can get our Auto-records back? 

A moderator who has contact with DTV  is communicating the information.



#147 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 17 June 2013 - 05:37 AM

A moderator who has contact with DTV  is communicating the information.

 

Awesome - that is good news!


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#148 OFFLINE   VABlitz

VABlitz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
  • LocationVirginia Beach
Joined: Jan 19, 2013

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:18 AM

Looks like I still have the resume from standby problem even after clearing the NVRAM.  Tried powering on the Receiver before turning on the TV, but nothing happened. So, red button reset again.  Eventually I will replace this DVR anyway with a HR44 as it failed the SMART test.  The HR44 purchases priority may have been raised by this problem.  Funny thing is, it will still record programs when it is in this unresponsive state.   



#149 OFFLINE   mrphil

mrphil

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:43 AM

But were you having the problem before or are you just saying that you didn't start to have the problem with 0x06D8?

I've not experienced these problems with previous or current version.


 

(1) HR44-500 w/Ethernet / AM21 / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VL
USpeed AK-68UPSHDDS-BU Dock / WD30EURS 3TB Drive
(1) HR24-500 / Antec MX-1 Dock / WD20EVDS 2TB Drive
(2) C41-100 Clients / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VF


#150 OFFLINE   mrphil

mrphil

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:49 AM

How are yours set up?
Mine was AALL for Red Sox live 628 629 (not exactly like that but you get the idea) I think the common theme is those of us using the syntaxs from dtv rather than auto record all episodes of some show on some channel. I have tons of those no problem. - hope I articulated that well enough to clarify.

Just making sure we are talking apples to apples here.

After allowing my  AALL CARDINALS NNOT CUBS   to sit overnight, I still have none of the issues in this thread and now have 14 AutoRecords for this selection in the ToDo list.


Edited by mrphil, 17 June 2013 - 09:13 AM.

 

(1) HR44-500 w/Ethernet / AM21 / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VL
USpeed AK-68UPSHDDS-BU Dock / WD30EURS 3TB Drive
(1) HR24-500 / Antec MX-1 Dock / WD20EVDS 2TB Drive
(2) C41-100 Clients / Monsoon Vulkano 010410VF





Protected By... spam firewall...And...