Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Best way to add Genie to multi HR system


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 3,921 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 27 May 2013 - 12:01 PM

Let's look at what's going on:

The DECA signal starts at about 0 dBm, and the SAT tuner chip is rated at -20 dBm, so even though the DECA is out of band, it may still cause the SAT tuner problems.

Starting with the H/HR24, an internal DECA was added. There isn't a BSF, but a diplexer which is doing the same blocking of the DECA signal to the SAT tuner.

An HR20 should either have a DECA installed or a BSF if no DECA is used when connected to coax that has the networking active.

 

 

Does it actually damage the receiver, or just cause problems receiving the satellite signal? If you didn't use a BSF where you needed to, is there a risk your receiver becomes a paperweight?


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,143 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 May 2013 - 01:50 PM

Does it actually damage the receiver, or just cause problems receiving the satellite signal? If you didn't use a BSF where you needed to, is there a risk your receiver becomes a paperweight?

There are many factors, of which the loss between the transmitting DECA and the SAT tuner input may be the largest.

 

"I'd say" it would be a rare case that the receiver becomes a paperweight.

[customers can do the dumbest things, so it is "plausible" that you might smoke the tuner chip with 20 dB more than it's rated for]

 

What is noticeable is the TV will have distortion from the tuner chip being "swamped".


A.K.A VOS

#28 OFFLINE   dddeeds

dddeeds

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2007

Posted 28 May 2013 - 05:49 AM

I just have home Ethernet plugged into all my boxes including the new HR-34. Do I need the BSF on my HR-20? Does the Genie always or automatically put out DECA as a bridge? Is there a way to make the Genie not act like a bridge and put out deca? If I need the BSF will DirecTV customer service send them out to me free or will I need to buy them from Solid Signal etc.?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using DBSTalk mobile app



#29 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,471 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 May 2013 - 06:24 PM

Yes, the HR20 needs a BSF.  DirecTV will send you one free of charge.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...