Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA ?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   westview

westview

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2011

Posted 30 May 2013 - 06:42 AM

  A friend has Dish. He says he a little box plugged into the back of his receiver to pick up locals. Is it that simple?



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   GravelChan

GravelChan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 218 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2005

Posted 30 May 2013 - 08:10 AM

Yeah, with a receiver that allows it and a antenna is plugged into it.   Also, some dish receivers have this capability built into them and just require an OTA antenna plugged into them.



#3 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 568 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 30 May 2013 - 11:41 AM

The Hoppers can accept a single-tuner USB OTA adapter (must be Dish's own) which, when connected to an antenna, allows you to receive and record OTA channels.  I have one, and the tuner is fairly robust.  The software in the Hoppers is somewhat incomplete, in that you cannot manually add channels, and a rescan of channels erases previously found channels if they aren't found again.  Note that adding an OTA tuner effectively increases the number of programs you can record at once by one, provided one of them is on an OTA channel.

 

In my experience, the OTA picture is vastly superior to the HD Local-into-Local I receive from Dish.  This will vary by market, and most people probably will not detect the differences.  However, the lack of color depth and motion artifacting are glaringly obvious to me on my local channels.



#4 OFFLINE   westview

westview

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2011

Posted 30 May 2013 - 12:33 PM

So he has to be connected to an antenna?



#5 OFFLINE   RASCAL01

RASCAL01

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 290 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2006

Posted 30 May 2013 - 01:05 PM

Yes it needs to have an antenna  attached to it.


RASCAL01
DISH 622, Hopper, Hopper2, Joey
TOSHIBA REGZA 55 LED/LCD 24O HZ
SONY AV 5.1 SOUROUND SOUND
SONY 3D BLUE RAY PLAYER

#6 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,011 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 May 2013 - 01:22 PM

Well...  in some areas it is technically possible to receive some local transmissions without an antenna connected or with a minimal one.  I can connect a small wire to my antenna connector and pick up a few channels.  I also have used the UHF remote antenna on Dish receivers to pick up several local channels.

 

So... the better the antenna, the more likely you are to receive local channels... but it is hard to say it isn't possible anywhere to receive one or some without an antenna as long as you have the built-in support or the add-on module installed.


-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#7 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 30 May 2013 - 06:06 PM

So he has to be connected to an antenna?

 

If you go to www.antennaweb.org. or www.tvfool.com enter your address it will tell you what type of antenna you need and which stations you can receive.Good Luck!. :)



#8 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,694 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 07 June 2013 - 02:16 PM

OTA is a very good thing to have as a backup when the weather prevents reception of DBS signals. (e.g. what I'm experiancing right now in North Carolina). All my TVs either have a builtin ATSC tuner or they have a convertor box.


You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#9 OFFLINE   hoophead

hoophead

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 332 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2008

Posted 07 June 2013 - 08:13 PM

Many times when the HD signals bails due to weather the SD eqivalent channel is still available


AT250 with ViP 722 via HDMI to 47" LG in living room and 27" JVC in exercise room. ViP 722 via HDMI to 42" Panny in master bedroom and 27" Philips in another bedroom

#10 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,011 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 08 June 2013 - 01:33 PM

Many times when the HD signals bails due to weather the SD eqivalent channel is still available

This doesn't apply to folks on eastern arc and their LiLs...  Dish only has HD LiLs up on eastern arc for the ones that they carry... so you don't have that "backup" of SD LiLs.  Also, if you lose signal on the "backup" it is nice to have OTA as well.


-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#11 OFFLINE   jsk

jsk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 705 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 17 June 2013 - 12:27 PM

Also keep in mind that Dish offers locals via satellite.  The 722K OTA module sounds like it is better than the Hopper's OTA module.  It allows you to record or watch 2 OTA channels in addition to the 2 satellite tuners.  Also, the 722K doesn't erase existing OTA channels when you scan for new ones like the Hopper.


Dish Player DVR 722K with OTA module connected to the Eastern Arc

#12 OFFLINE   fpembleton

fpembleton

    Mentor

  • Unregistered / Not Logged In
  • 48 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2005

Posted 03 July 2013 - 02:32 PM

I never thought much about exploring OTA, been with Dish now about 13 years. Once the terrestrial stations went digital and I read about the sub- channels I purchased the OTA hardware that was required for the Dish receiver in which I wanted to view such. I use an indoor antenna and I was amazed and pleased with the expansion of channels; some of the content I now receive via the sub- channels included Retro TV, Antenna TV, Me TV and a few more which I really enjoy. This is not a large market but I do receive a total of 20 OTA channels compared to the 7 which Dish has in the local channel lineup. Not bad in my opinion.


"Revenge is the weak pleasure of a narrow mind"

#13 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 09 February 2014 - 09:44 PM

I see the following when choosing to play a recording on Over The Air.

"A problem was encountered when opening the files for this DVR event. Please note the error
code: 04."?

I did not know I created a file on the Hopper DVR. I thought these are TV shows?

This is when I taped a show on a station that for some reason has not TV show information on the on screen guide.



Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#14 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 09 February 2014 - 10:38 PM

I had this error when the recording was interrupted for some period of time on SAT channels. The recording was corrupted. If you recorded an OTA show then it is on your DVR.


Edited by thomasjk, 09 February 2014 - 10:40 PM.


#15 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 09 February 2014 - 11:50 PM

Yes this is what happened. Other recordings play fine from over the air.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#16 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,829 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 14 February 2014 - 11:38 AM

Many times when the HD signals bails due to weather the SD eqivalent channel is still available

The converse is also true unless the HD and SD signals come from the same orbital slot.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#17 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 16 February 2014 - 09:27 PM

No more problems. All recordings are fine. Must have been a glitch of some sort.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app




spam firewall