Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

No signal on 103 on new HR44 only


Best Answer Kevin L , 15 June 2013 - 08:56 AM

OK, it's fixed. Turns out it was the LNB. I ordered a new SL5 from Solid Signal. Unplugged the three receivers, swapped the LNB, restarted and tested the receivers one at a time, starting with the HR44, and all receivers are seeing all sats with very strong signals in the 90s to 100 (except for some spotbeams, of course). I then unplugged the HR44, attached a 4-bay RAID-5 tower with four 2TB drives, yielding 6TB of storage. This will give me the same storage I had with my three HR20s since they each had 2TB drives. One HR20 is retired, and the other two will be retired when I watch all the shows on them.  

 

Thanks for all the suggestions. If the two HR20s weren't receiving 103ca and cb, I would have suspected the LNB or cable right away. But since the cabling was all good and the HR20s worked, the suspect was the HR44. I guess the HR44 is more sensitive to low signals than the HR20s.

 

Kevin

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 97 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 12 June 2013 - 12:28 PM

It's the 500 model and it is updated to the latest version.



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   SolidSignal

SolidSignal

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2007

Posted 12 June 2013 - 12:32 PM

Sorry to be late on this conversation.

 

I wanted to clarify that unfortunately DIRECTV does not allow any dealer to swap out an activated receiver.



#28 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,091 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 12 June 2013 - 01:23 PM

When you say your swapped the cables at the HR20 and HR44, do you mean you picked up and moved the HR20 and plugged it in where the HR44 is plugged in, and vice versa? When you say swapped cables, it makes it sound like you're switching stuff around on the SWM16 or something like that, which is not the same thing.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL, 3xSWM16; 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#29 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 97 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 12 June 2013 - 01:31 PM

When you say your swapped the cables at the HR20 and HR44, do you mean you picked up and moved the HR20 and plugged it in where the HR44 is plugged in, and vice versa? When you say swapped cables, it makes it sound like you're switching stuff around on the SWM16 or something like that, which is not the same thing.

 

I can understand the confusion. I don't have the typical setup. All my DirectTV receivers (one HR44 and two HR20s) and my TiVo Premier XL are in a rack in an air-conditioned closet centrally located in my home. All the DVRs go to an Onkyo HT receiver that can be played on the two TVs we use. So I took the cable off the back of the DVRs and reconnected them to the other DVRs, trying every combination. I have also tried a homerun from the SWM to each of the DVRs, and also from the splitter of the other port of the SWM. In every case, the HR20s have strong signals on 103 ca and cb, and the HR44 has all zeroes.

 

Thanks,

Kevin



#30 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,381 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 12 June 2013 - 02:07 PM

You likely have a power issue. HR20-100's have a grounded plug. Disconnect all the lines to the SWM16 except for the HR44. Does the issue go away?

Most likely not. Drag a extention cord from another room a portable tv and just plug up your HR44 the tv.

If the problem goes away your on the right track.

If not call Directv. When the tech calls ask.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#31 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 97 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 12 June 2013 - 02:22 PM

I'm a little confused where you think the power problem is. Are you thinking it's at the SWM or at the DVRs? I have tried the HR44 with it as the only receiver connected to the SWM, and that didn't help. I cannot get a TV to the HR44, but I have HDMI homeruns for all TVs to the Onkyo receiver. I can feed an HDMI cable from the TV to the HR44, but it will still be a 65' HDMI run, but that shouldn't affect the DVR.



#32 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,381 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 12 June 2013 - 02:41 PM

The power issue can be anywhere. Flat screens have floating grounds. HDMI cables conduct electricity from one ground to another. The coaxial shield can pass the voltage along to the switch and affect the way it works. You sound flush, walmarts open 24 hours, keep your receipt.

 

Or just have a tech out. ;)


HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#33 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 97 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 12 June 2013 - 03:03 PM

Understood. I can pull power from another outlet for the HR44 and grab a monitor with HDMI and isolate it that way.

 

Thanks,

Kevin



#34 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,852 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 June 2013 - 05:06 PM

The 15 feet "rule" with the PI is when you are using the signal to IRD port of the PI. if he PI is connected to the middle port, there there is no cable length limitations. as far as the 40 feet to the dish, this is not a problem, no need for any amps. amps are used for longer cable runs


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#35 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 97 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 13 June 2013 - 06:01 AM

The 15 feet "rule" with the PI is when you are using the signal to IRD port of the PI. if he PI is connected to the middle port, there there is no cable length limitations. as far as the 40 feet to the dish, this is not a problem, no need for any amps. amps are used for longer cable runs

 

Thanks for the clarification. I thought it was odd that there would be a minimum cable length on the power port of the PI.

 

I have a new LNB coming tomorrow and will swap it out first to see if that will fix the problem. If not, I'll try more troubleshooting with cabling.

 

Thanks,

Kevin



#36 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 97 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 15 June 2013 - 08:56 AM   Best Answer

OK, it's fixed. Turns out it was the LNB. I ordered a new SL5 from Solid Signal. Unplugged the three receivers, swapped the LNB, restarted and tested the receivers one at a time, starting with the HR44, and all receivers are seeing all sats with very strong signals in the 90s to 100 (except for some spotbeams, of course). I then unplugged the HR44, attached a 4-bay RAID-5 tower with four 2TB drives, yielding 6TB of storage. This will give me the same storage I had with my three HR20s since they each had 2TB drives. One HR20 is retired, and the other two will be retired when I watch all the shows on them.  

 

Thanks for all the suggestions. If the two HR20s weren't receiving 103ca and cb, I would have suspected the LNB or cable right away. But since the cabling was all good and the HR20s worked, the suspect was the HR44. I guess the HR44 is more sensitive to low signals than the HR20s.

 

Kevin



#37 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,852 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 June 2013 - 07:46 PM

Awesome. Thanks for the update
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...