Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Strange Manual Recordings?


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BlackDynamite

BlackDynamite

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 326 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 06 June 2013 - 09:19 AM

So this morning I have a new folder in my play list called "Manual: Title not available" which was not there when I went to bed last night.

Inside this folder, there are a bunch of identical recordings called "Manual: Title not available" recorded at 2:30 am. There is 1 on each of my receivers, except the genie. So my 5 hr24s and my 1 hr21 all have this same recording, recorded at the same time. I have the whole home dvr so they all show up in the play list on all of the receivers.

It's only 1 minute long and it won't play when I try to play it. The description just says "No information available."

Does anyone know what this is? And why didn't it record on my genie?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,946 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 June 2013 - 10:02 AM

So the first question is, have you or someone else set up a manual recording?


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   ICM2000

ICM2000

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 06 June 2013 - 10:07 AM

Have seen the same type of recordings. Putting on my conspiracy theory hat I believe DTV is checking if the equipment connected is activated and authorized. 



#4 OFFLINE   BlackDynamite

BlackDynamite

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 326 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 06 June 2013 - 02:52 PM

So the first question is, have you or someone else set up a manual recording?

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Haha, no. It would be pretty amazing to record 6 manual recordings that all start and stop at the exact same time, on 6 different receivers located all over the house, with none of them being watchable, and none of them having any info in the description.

Unless a team of highly trained secret agents broke into my house in the midge of the night, bypassing my security system, and not waking my dogs or my family. I guess you never know, lol.

Edited by BlackDynamite, 06 June 2013 - 02:54 PM.


#5 OFFLINE   BlackDynamite

BlackDynamite

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 326 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 06 June 2013 - 02:55 PM

Have seen the same type of recordings. Putting on my conspiracy theory hat I believe DTV is checking if the equipment connected is activated and authorized.


Makes sense to me


#6 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,363 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 06 June 2013 - 03:13 PM

On what channel?

#7 OFFLINE   BlackDynamite

BlackDynamite

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 326 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 06 June 2013 - 03:25 PM

On what channel?

I don't think it said but I'll check it when I get home.



#8 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,363 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 06 June 2013 - 05:12 PM

I had something similar happen earlier this year (manual recording showed up in my playlist). But I was able to play the recording. It was a 5-minute recording; the same 30-second commercial, just repeated 10 times. IIRC, it was recorded on a channel in the 9000's. I couldn't enter the channel number but I could see the recording on my playlist and watch it.  I just deleted it.  No problems. 



#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,946 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 June 2013 - 08:31 PM

I was thinking since you have WHDVR, you might be seeing the same recoding on all DVRs because of the unified playlist


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,398 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 07 June 2013 - 09:16 AM

Had the same thing two separate days on different DVR's  They both said channel 8884.


  • jhollan2 likes this
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#11 OFFLINE   BlackDynamite

BlackDynamite

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 326 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 07 June 2013 - 10:16 AM

Had the same thing two separate days on different DVR's They both said channel 8884.


Yeah mine says channel "8884 *DTV" on all of them.



#12 OFFLINE   prushing

prushing

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 537 posts
Joined: Feb 14, 2007

Posted 07 June 2013 - 11:26 AM

Yeah mine says channel "8884 *DTV" on all of them.

same for me, only on non-genie also



#13 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,071 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 07 June 2013 - 12:12 PM

8884 is one of the channels they use to push local ads, it's probably a glitch since they usually don't show up as recordings.

#14 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,738 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 11 June 2013 - 06:21 AM

I had one on each of my DVRs this morning.

The thing that was strange is that they were 2 minutes long and showed that they started the 2 minutes after they finished recording.

I did not try to play them , just deleted them.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#15 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,688 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 12 June 2013 - 12:56 AM

I had one on each of my DVRs this morning.

The thing that was strange is that they were 2 minutes long and showed that they started the 2 minutes after they finished recording.

I did not try to play them , just deleted them.

I had them, too. But only on two of my four HD DVRs.  Odd. 


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#16 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,736 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 12 June 2013 - 08:59 PM

I had them on everything except for the HR34-700

#17 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,788 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 13 June 2013 - 05:28 AM

Had one yesterday on my HR21.  I think it was from a VOD channel number.  There was no actual content and I deleted it.  

 

I could be wrong, but I think the times were weird - It ended 1 minute before it started.


1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#18 OFFLINE   Lefky

Lefky

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2007

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:15 AM

I got one of these last night.  There is a small blue icon with the letter K inside, then it says "Manual:  Title not available"  from channel 8890 *DTV.  It was downloaded to my DVR at 4:31 A.M. and is 0 minutes in length.  Anyone figure out what this is?



#19 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,071 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 16 June 2013 - 11:46 AM

Anyone figure out what this is?

Look at post 13. It's one of the channels DirecTV uses to push local ads for insertion, but for whatever reason they're now showing up as recordings. If it recently started after a firmware upgrade, you all should post about it in the issues thread:
http://www.dbstalk.c...suesdiscussion/

#20 OFFLINE   gilviv

gilviv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 359 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 17 June 2013 - 11:20 AM

I got one of these last night.  There is a small blue icon with the letter K inside, then it says "Manual:  Title not available"  from channel 8890 *DTV.  It was downloaded to my DVR at 4:31 A.M. and is 0 minutes in length.  Anyone figure out what this is?

I had the same thing on all 4 of my DVRs early this morning..........It's probably the NSA  :eek2:


DirecTV since July 2006, WholeHome & HDDVR Service
Slimline5 SWM-LNB Dish to:
3x HR24/100s #1 w/AM21N via HDMI to LG 42LH90/240hz Full LED, #2 w/AM21N & #3 both via HDMI to 2-LG 32LK330/60hz LCDs
1x HR23/700 via HDMI> Sharp 26" LCD





Protected By... spam firewall...And...