Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is a SWM16 dish compatable with the HR10-250?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 11 June 2013 - 03:09 PM

I currently have 2 HR21-700s and a HR10-250.  I called DirecTV to ask the cost of adding a HR44 and was told that the HR10-250 would need to be replaced because it is not SWM capable.  I thought the SWM16 would allow you to connect to the older equipment.  I was told that if I wanted to keep the HR10-250, I would need to install a second dish.  I'm sure many in this forum know the real answer.


HR10-250   550G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD x0803 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD x0803 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD x0808
DirecTV since 1997


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,737 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 11 June 2013 - 03:58 PM

I think you were told correctly.

A lot of the older receivers are not compatible with the new SWM system that the Genie uses.

The SWM has added DC voltage and uses one coax to feed one or 2 or in your case for a Genie 5 tuners.

The older receivers can not handle that.

 

Edit: It appears that subsequent posts differ with what I had written and indeed it appears to be just wrong.

Sorry about that.


Edited by jimmie57, 11 June 2013 - 05:09 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 550 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 11 June 2013 - 04:50 PM

I think you were told correctly.

A lot of the older receivers are not compatible with the new SWM system that the Genie uses.

The SWM has added DC voltage and uses one coax to feed one or 2 or in your case for a Genie 5 tuners.

The older receivers can not handle that.

Then what is the purpose of the Legacy ports on the SWM16 module?  Since I created this post I found the following information:

http://www.swm8.com/...cifications.php

The following is included in the manual:

Older Equipment: legacy ports (four), any DirecTV receiver will work. Runs need to be home runs (one solid run from the receiver to the SWM). Specifically, any DirecTV TiVo will work, but will need to use the legacy ports.

 

I guess I answered my own question and was lied to by the D* rep.


HR10-250   550G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD x0803 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD x0803 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD x0808
DirecTV since 1997


#4 OFFLINE   MikeW

MikeW

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,532 posts
Joined: May 16, 2002

Posted 11 June 2013 - 04:57 PM

Legacy port works for HR10-250.  I had that running here for a while.



#5 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,018 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 11 June 2013 - 06:07 PM

Yes as others have said it will work. I'd juts have to ask why do want to keep it when you'd have a genie and another hr that can work whole home. I'd keep it just until I got done watching everything that's recorded on it and then dump it. I

#6 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 839 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 11 June 2013 - 07:11 PM

Im pretty sure policy from DTV is techs are not allowed to use legacy ports. It will work fine though.



#7 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 550 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 12 June 2013 - 11:57 AM

Yes as others have said it will work. I'd juts have to ask why do want to keep it when you'd have a genie and another hr that can work whole home. I'd keep it just until I got done watching everything that's recorded on it and then dump it. I

We had 2 HR10-250s for a lot of years before the HR2x series was released.  My wife and I both prefer the Tivo interface because trick play works faster and better than my HR21s and the HR10 does not have the spoiler window that the HR21s have.  Also, I created a MRV system using a Monoprice 4x4 switch which allows me to watch any DVR including the HR10 from any of my 4 HDTV in the house.  We only use the HR10 to record OTA shows because nothing from the satellite is in HD on that box.


HR10-250   550G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD x0803 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD x0803 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD x0808
DirecTV since 1997


#8 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 1,429 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 12 June 2013 - 01:27 PM

You could probably disconnect the HR10 before the installer arrives, let him do his thing, then reconnect the HR10 to the legacy port after he leaves.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#9 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 831 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 12 June 2013 - 02:29 PM

You could go for a THR22 and get the TiVo UI, HD and SWM-compatibility. My wife also prefers the TiVo UI - even after I got an HR44 and tried to get her to use it instead of the THR22. She admits the HR44 is faster than the old HR21, but the fast-forward is not as smooth as the THR22 (a known issue) and she hates the DirecTV UI (to be honest, I don't like it either).


Steve

My Setup


#10 ONLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,511 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 June 2013 - 05:25 PM

Im pretty sure policy from DTV is techs are not allowed to use legacy ports. It will work fine though.


Correct. Installers must swapped non-SWM receivers with a SWM compatible receiver


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 


#11 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 810 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 12 June 2013 - 07:21 PM

Correct. Installers must swapped non-SWM receivers with a SWM compatible receiver


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

If the customer has a swm8/16, then that's a really stupid policy. What's the point of having a legacy port then?



#12 ONLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,511 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 June 2013 - 07:25 PM

If the customer has a swm8/16, then that's a really stupid policy. What's the point of having a legacy port then?


Don't shoot the messenger, I am just stating DirecTV policy.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 





spam firewall