Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Spreadsheet available anywhere that shows signal strength numbers?


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   carillon

carillon

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 140 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2007

Posted 12 June 2013 - 05:32 PM

I'd like to compare my numbers to established numbers for each satellite and transponder. Is there a breakdown of these anywhere? Thanks


SlimLine-5 SWM-8-LNB Dish (HD Service / WHDVR)
HR34-700 Genie / Sharp 52LE700UN HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA
C31 Genie RVU Client / Dynex HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA
HR24-500 / Panasonic TC-P54S2 / HDMI / Networked - DECA
H24-700 / Toshiba SDTV / Networked - DECA

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,356 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 June 2013 - 06:01 PM

Generally you want everything that isn't on a spotbeam (like 99s or 103s) to be in the 90s in good weather. Low signals and 0's are normal on spotbeams, you just want high signals on the transponders that carry your locals. This spreadsheet has those, in the LIL TPN Map tab.

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...attach_id=23027


  • carillon likes this

#3 OFFLINE   carillon

carillon

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 140 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2007

Posted 12 June 2013 - 06:26 PM

Generally you want everything that isn't on a spotbeam (like 99s or 103s) to be in the 90s in good weather. Low signals and 0's are normal on spotbeams, you just want high signals on the transponders that carry your locals. This spreadsheet has those, in the LIL TPN Map tab.

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...attach_id=23027

Thanks, so those TPs that show N/A or 0 on non-spotbeam satellites if any would be an issue. Correct?


SlimLine-5 SWM-8-LNB Dish (HD Service / WHDVR)
HR34-700 Genie / Sharp 52LE700UN HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA
C31 Genie RVU Client / Dynex HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA
HR24-500 / Panasonic TC-P54S2 / HDMI / Networked - DECA
H24-700 / Toshiba SDTV / Networked - DECA

#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,334 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 June 2013 - 07:17 PM

0 on non-spot beams are a problem. Dont worry with the N/A


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,356 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 June 2013 - 08:02 PM

I wouldn't say that necessarily. What transponders on what satellites are 0?



#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,334 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 June 2013 - 08:24 PM

I wouldn't say that necessarily. What transponders on what satellites are 0?


If is NOT a spot beam, it is a CONUS beam, and as such it should not be zero.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 ONLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,486 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 13 June 2013 - 12:48 AM

Post back your signal readings using this template and we'll let you know if their up to snuff ....

 

Please post back with your signal readings for each satellite's transponders (and both tuners if applicable).  You'll find these readings under "Menu" -> "Setup" -> "System Setup" -> Satellite -> "View Signal Strength".  Note the "+" and "-" symbols next to the "Satellite" and "Tuner" entries where you can toggle the readings between the various satellites and both DVR tuners. 
 
Fill in your readings for each satellite and tuner using these examples.  A properly aligned dish will show 80-90s on most of the relevant transponders (although some will be low or zero):
 
 
Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
9-16   x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
17-24  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
25-32  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
 
Satellite transponders (3 total at 110º)
[Not present with Slimline3 dish. No channels are currently beamed from this satellite]
1-8    NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  x
9-16   NA  x   NA  x   NA  NA  NA  NA
 
Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)
[Not present with Slimline 3 dish. Local SD channels for some cities, Spanish package]
17-24  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  x   x   x
25-32  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
 
Satellite transponders (16 total at 99º(s)) [or 99º(b)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   NA  NA
9-16   NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  x   x
17-24  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
[Note: these can be very slow to appear]
 
Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º©) [or 99º(a)]
[National HD channels]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
9-16   x   x   x   x   x   x   NA  NA
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]
 
Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s)) [or 103º(a)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   NA  NA
9-16   NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  x   x
17-24  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]
 
Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(ca))
[National HD channels beamed from D12 satellite]
1-8    NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA
9-16   x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
17-24  x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
 
Satellite transponders (14 total at 103º(cb)) [or 103º(b)]
[National HD channels beamed from D10 satellite]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
9-16   x   x   x   x   x   x   NA  NA
17-24  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA
 
Satellite transponders (9 total at SWM)
[You'll only see this if you have a Single Wire Multiswitch (SWM) dish]
1-8    x   x   x   x   x   x   x   x
9-16   x   NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA  NA

HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#8 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,356 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 13 June 2013 - 05:10 AM

If is NOT a spot beam, it is a CONUS beam, and as such it should not be zero.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app


I don't think that's the case. For example, I get all mid to high 90s on 101, except have two zeros on 18 and 28.

#9 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 13 June 2013 - 05:30 AM

THats because there are a couple of spot beams on 101 as well...



#10 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,552 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 13 June 2013 - 06:32 AM

FYI, there are 6 spot beams on 101.

4, 12, 18,  20, 26, and 28


DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,334 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 June 2013 - 07:41 AM

I don't think that's the case. For example, I get all mid to high 90s on 101, except have two zeros on 18 and 28.


Yep. Spot beam. Lol


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,123 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 13 June 2013 - 07:46 AM

I'd like to compare my numbers to established numbers for each satellite and transponder. Is there a breakdown of these anywhere? Thanks

If you are wanting to see someone else's numbers to compare yours to, I have a PDF file with the numbers I had on my Slimline 5 for 4 years without any problems.

 

I say had because I recently switched to a Slimline 3 SWM system.

Attached Files


Edited by jimmie57, 13 June 2013 - 07:47 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#13 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,356 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 13 June 2013 - 08:42 AM

Serves me right for not memorizing the transponder map. But these could be the 0s he saw.

#14 OFFLINE   carillon

carillon

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 140 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2007

Posted 13 June 2013 - 08:51 AM

Thanks for the replies! Here's what I observe on my setup... Does anything below jump out as an issue? Thanks

 

101 - All 32 TPs have signal. I have four low ones at 66, 66, 79, 86 (TPs 4, 12, 20 & 28). The rest are 94 and above.

 

110 - All show N/A except for TP 8 = 95, TP 10 = 98 and TP 12 = 95.

 

119 - All show N/A except for TP 24 through 32 which are 99 or 100. However, TP 23 and 31 = 0.

 

99© - All show N/A except for TPs 1 though 14 which are 88 to 95 in strength.

 

99(s) - TP 1 = 0, TP 2 = 48, TP 3 = 0, TP 4 = 52, TP 5 = 90, TP 6 = 0. TP 7 through 14 are N/A. TP 15 = 0, TP 16 = 74, TP 17 = 63, TP 18 = 55, TP 19 = 70, TP 20 = 76, TP 21 = 0, TP 22 = 46, TP 23 = 0, TP 24 = 0. TPs 25 through 32 show N/A.

 

103(s) - TP 1 = 42, TP 2 = 63, TP 3 = 9, TP 4 = 72, TP 15 = 94, TP 16 = 92, TP 17 = 35, TP 18 = 57, TP 19 = 93, TP 20 = 94, TP 21 = 61, TP 22 = 63, TP 23 = 93, TP 24 = 95. The rest are showing N/A.

 

103(ca) - TPs 1 through 8 and 25 through 32 are showing N/A. TPs 9 through 24 range from 88 to 95 in strength.

 

103(cb) - TPs 15 through 32 are showing N/A. TPs 1 through 14 range from 91 to 95 in strength.

 

SWM - TP 1 = 100, TP 2 = 0, TP 3 = 0, TP 4 = 0, TP 5 = 100, TP 6 = 100, TP 7 = 100, TP 8 = 100, TP 9 = 100. The rest show N/A.


SlimLine-5 SWM-8-LNB Dish (HD Service / WHDVR)
HR34-700 Genie / Sharp 52LE700UN HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA
C31 Genie RVU Client / Dynex HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA
HR24-500 / Panasonic TC-P54S2 / HDMI / Networked - DECA
H24-700 / Toshiba SDTV / Networked - DECA

#15 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,018 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 13 June 2013 - 12:01 PM

Those signals are fine. Just FYI you can ignore the 99s and 103s "satellites" because they are all spotbeams. The spotbeams that cover your market will have high readings, the rest can be anything, even zero.



#16 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,356 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 13 June 2013 - 12:20 PM

Same with 119 and 110. Most of us don't even see those satellites. 



#17 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,018 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 13 June 2013 - 12:43 PM

There's nothing on 110 right now.  But the older 3-lnb phase III dishes align on 110 so it would be difficult to take it away. And there are quite a few people use 119.  In some cities, SD locals come from 119. the ethnic package comes from 119. And there are some religious and music channels that are only on 119, if they are important to you.



#18 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,334 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 13 June 2013 - 01:55 PM

Same with 119 and 110. Most of us don't even see those satellites.


Just because you don't get the 119 is does not mean it can be ignored, for those that need the 119 is crucial to get a strong signal on this bird, mostly important because if you have the 119 guide data comes from this satellite.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#19 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,356 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 13 June 2013 - 01:56 PM

I still think he can ignore those transponders. I do not see them as a concern.

#20 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,018 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 13 June 2013 - 03:10 PM

As a general rule, you can't ignore the 119 transponders. If you have a 5-lnb dish (which is the only slimline that sees 119 anyway) then the guide data comes from 119 when you are watching a channel from the 103 satellite. That means if the 119 signals are too low, you don't get consistent guide data.

But as it happens, the OP has an SWM LNB, and even with the slimline 5, that always takes guide data from 101 so the OP would be OK. But many people would not be.






spam firewall