Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Help with Dish 2001.2 and Vip211k


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jerryroberts

jerryroberts

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
  • Locationmichigan
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Posted 16 June 2013 - 04:15 PM

Disregard Title Post, it's the 1000.2 dish and not the 2001.2.

 

I've switched from Direct Tv analog to Dish HD and having trouble with reception. I can't even get the slightest signal. I'm using a Vip211k and a Dish 1000.2. My goal is to run 3 TV's off the 1000.2 dish. I reset the receiver and ran a switch test. I set the skew to 129.3 degrees, elevation to 24.4 degrees and used an azimuth of 249.9 degrees. I'm located in Michigan. I covered up 119 and 129 lmbs with foil. I had no trouble with the Direct Tv analog dish and receiver but chopping at the bit with the HD setup. Can someone please help me?

 

Also, the setup menu isn't showing an option for the 1000.2, so i'm using the option for the 500 but with Dishpointer settings.


Edited by jerryroberts, 16 June 2013 - 04:57 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 17 June 2013 - 04:48 AM

As far as I'm aware you should cover 110 and 129 and peak on 119. 


"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#3 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,162 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 17 June 2013 - 10:00 AM

I agree with Rasputin, By using 119 you may be able to quickly limit your range. if you hit 129 you know not to go any farther in that direction, same by hitting 110 in the other direction. If you use 110 you have 119 to stop you in one direction but nothing in the other.



#4 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,327 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 17 June 2013 - 11:41 AM

I set the skew to 129.3 degrees, elevation to 24.4 degrees and used an azimuth of 249.9 degrees. I'm located in Michigan. I covered up 119 and 129 lmbs with foil.

The numbers you shared are the default numbers for dishpointer.com (Broadway, NY). You need to make sure you place the green pointer on your house (the applet makes no attempt to guess where you live).

Once you get that ironed out, the process should be a whole lot easier.


Self-installing is overrated.

Edited by harsh, 17 June 2013 - 11:42 AM.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK





spam firewall