Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Changing HR44 from wireless Connection to Ethernet


  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:07 PM

And I hope you have a bsf on the HR22. If not that could cause issues down the road.


I replace the HR22 for the 44, but your right that the HR24 shouldn't need to be on Ethernet, since the HR44 acts as a bridge to the other boxes wirelessly, or am I wrong?

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,631 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:11 PM

No that's almost exactly right. And its the better way to do it as well.

It doesn't do it wirelessly, it actually runs the signal over the coax, the entire point of the deca system which is based on moca, that DIRECTV uses.

Just unplug the Ethernet cable from the HR24, reset network settings and reboot the HR24, and you should be good to go.

#28 ONLINE   HDJulie

HDJulie

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 859 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 19 June 2013 - 07:34 AM

I have a wired CCK.  When I got the HR44 I just plugged in the cables from the previous DVR.  If I wanted to get rid of the CCK, I would remove the CCK & just plug in an ethernet cable to the HR44 & then maybe reboot all DVR's?



#29 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,883 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 June 2013 - 07:46 AM

I have a wired CCK.  When I got the HR44 I just plugged in the cables from the previous DVR.  If I wanted to get rid of the CCK, I would remove the CCK & just plug in an ethernet cable to the HR44 & then maybe reboot all DVR's?

Julie-

 

You've got that right.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#30 ONLINE   HDJulie

HDJulie

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 859 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 19 June 2013 - 07:48 AM

Excellent, thanks.  I'm going to do that this weekend.  The CCK is mine, right -- I could give it to someone else?



#31 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,883 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:24 AM

I do believe so! I have mine in a box in the closet, don't think anyone will ask for it back....


  • Trooper likes this
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#32 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,794 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 19 June 2013 - 01:31 PM

Excellent, thanks.  I'm going to do that this weekend.  The CCK is mine, right -- I could give it to someone else?

It is your and you can give it to someone else.  However, I believe that I've read here that it needs to be reset in some fashion before it can be used with an account other than the one on which it was originally installed.  Hopefully someone who knows more about this can point you to the reset instructions or tell me that I don't know what the hell I'm talking about and I'm remembering things that didn't actually happen.



#33 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,781 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 June 2013 - 05:14 PM

The CCK is not tied to an account. In order to be used on another network, they unit must be reset by pressing and holding the red button on the back 30 seconds
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#34 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,210 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 20 June 2013 - 06:55 AM

Is there any advantage in using the ethernet connection as opposed to the cck?


Perhaps I Misremembered.

#35 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,883 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 June 2013 - 07:49 AM

Yes: Power consumption. If ethernetted directly to the box you can —and should—remove the CCK.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#36 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,228 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 20 June 2013 - 09:45 AM

Is there any advantage in using the ethernet connection as opposed to the cck?

 

 

Yes: Power consumption. If ethernetted directly to the box you can —and should—remove the CCK.

 

A downside is if the HR44 is down then any other boxes (non RVU clients) that might be using something from the internet, like YouTube, Pandora, DoD, or GenieGo transcoding something from a HD DVR other then the HR44 will be interrupted.


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#37 OFFLINE   litig8r187

litig8r187

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
  • LocationAggieland, Texas
Joined: Oct 17, 2012

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:23 PM

Well, I got mine working. I had to shut everything down (modem, router, HR44). My wireless router was also my wired switch and I couldn't figure out if/how to turn of the wireless and keep the wired switch working. So, I put a switch I had laying around in the line and connected the Ethernet starchy to the HR44. I left the wireless off. Turned the modem on and booted up the HR44 and it connected via Ethernet. I turned on my wireless router and everything else connected up to it. So far so good.

#38 OFFLINE   litig8r187

litig8r187

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
  • LocationAggieland, Texas
Joined: Oct 17, 2012

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:25 PM

But as long as the HR44 was "seeing" my wireless network, I could not get it to connect via Ethernet.

#39 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,599 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 21 June 2013 - 06:09 AM

But as long as the HR44 was "seeing" my wireless network, I could not get it to connect via Ethernet.

Excellent.

Thanks for the update and glad it is working for you now.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#40 OFFLINE   bryanw3535

bryanw3535

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2008

Posted 01 September 2013 - 06:48 PM

So my HR44 was installed using DECA even though I have ethernet hookups at each receiver location. Should I just stick with the DECA or would I see an improvement in speed/performance by switching to ethernet?

 

If I would, what's the process for doing that myself?

 

Thanks!



#41 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,781 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 September 2013 - 07:16 PM

So my HR44 was installed using DECA even though I have ethernet hookups at each receiver location. Should I just stick with the DECA or would I see an improvement in speed/performance by switching to ethernet?

 

If I would, what's the process for doing that myself?

 

Thanks!

It would help to know the model of the other receivers 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#42 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,708 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 01 September 2013 - 07:16 PM

Describe your setup so more.

 

Number and type of receivers, how they are hooked-up, how they are networked, any CCKs. etc.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#43 OFFLINE   bryanw3535

bryanw3535

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2008

Posted 01 September 2013 - 07:20 PM

It would help to know the model of the other receivers 

OK, I have the HR 44 and one C41. 

 

I'm pretty new to this, so I can only tell you that each is hooked up only using coaxial but they're connected to the internet. And I know the installer did not use wireless because he didn't ask for my password for the network.

 

My FiOS router sits in my closet, and he hooked an ethernet cable from it to a DirecTV DECA that, I assume, feeds internet through coax. What else can I answer?

 

Basically I want to ensure I'm getting speed that's fast enough for streaming HD video. My FiOS connection is 50 down/25 up.

 

Thanks, y'all!


Edited by bryanw3535, 01 September 2013 - 07:21 PM.


#44 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,631 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 01 September 2013 - 07:35 PM

Did he put the deca right behind the hr44? You are set perfect now for the most part. You could remove the deca and plug the Ethernet into the hr44 and have the same result if you like. All you'd be doing is removing an extra power using device it won't change speed or anything.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#45 OFFLINE   bryanw3535

bryanw3535

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2008

Posted 01 September 2013 - 07:44 PM

Did he put the deca right behind the hr44? You are set perfect now for the most part. You could remove the deca and plug the Ethernet into the hr44 and have the same result if you like. All you'd be doing is removing an extra power using device it won't change speed or anything.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

 

The DECA is in the closet just inches from my FiOS modem/router. 

 

Sounds like he set me up well. This guy knew his stuff! I was impressed as he went through the on-screen setup how fast he could move with the remote.



#46 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,282 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:30 PM

So my HR44 was installed using DECA even though I have ethernet hookups at each receiver location. Should I just stick with the DECA or would I see an improvement in speed/performance by switching to ethernet?

If I would, what's the process for doing that myself?

Thanks!


What do you mean your HR44 is connected via DECA and your other receivers via Ethernet? Do you also have a CCK installed?


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#47 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,781 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:33 PM

What do you mean your HR44 is connected via DECA and your other receivers via Ethernet? Do you also have a CCK installed?


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

I think he meant he just have the RJ45 wall plates


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#48 OFFLINE   bryanw3535

bryanw3535

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2008

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:37 PM

I think he meant he just have the RJ45 wall plates


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

 

Right, sorry. That was unclear. I mean I have the ability to use ethernet at both of my TV locations. The wall plates are there, but not in use. The only cords going to each box are HDMI, coax, and power.



#49 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,282 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:52 PM

I think he meant he just have the RJ45 wall plates


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk


Right, sorry. That was unclear. I mean I have the ability to use ethernet at both of my TV locations. The wall plates are there, but not in use. The only cords going to each box are HDMI, coax, and power.


Gotcha. I would go with DECA. You'll have less cables, plus you'll be using a supported setup for DirecTV. You just need DECA adapters for your other receivers that are pre-HR24. You'll also put all your MRV traffic in the DECA cloud and isolate it from your home network.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#50 OFFLINE   bryanw3535

bryanw3535

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2008

Posted 01 September 2013 - 09:26 PM

Gotcha. I would go with DECA. You'll have less cables, plus you'll be using a supported setup for DirecTV. You just need DECA adapters for your other receivers that are pre-HR24. You'll also put all your MRV traffic in the DECA cloud and isolate it from your home network.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

 

Ah, very useful info. Thanks!






Protected By... spam firewall...And...