Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Changing HR44 from wireless Connection to Ethernet


  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#51 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,613 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 01 September 2013 - 09:47 PM

I don't understand;

 

The TS in post #43 stated he only had an HR44 and a C41.

 

There's no useful option for the use of ethernet with that setup. 

 

EDIT: Unless he's referring to future receiver additions.  


Edited by HoTat2, 01 September 2013 - 09:50 PM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 01 September 2013 - 09:56 PM

I don't understand;

The TS in post #43 stated he only had an HR44 and a C41.

There's no useful option for the use of ethernet with that setup.

EDIT: Unless he's referring to future receiver additions.


Nice pick up. Yes, if all there is in the setup is an HR44 and C41 then just an Ethernet cable to the HR44 is needed. The C41 connects back to the HR44 via the coax and has access to the Internet via the Ethernet connection to the HR44.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#53 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,625 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 01 September 2013 - 10:22 PM

No difference in speed at all: fewer wires, off the LAN, are a couple of plusses for DECA.

 

Just saw there was a passle of posts between the one I replied to and this. No warning about interim posts, and this is a bit redundant. 


Edited by Laxguy, 01 September 2013 - 10:34 PM.

"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#54 OFFLINE   bryanw3535

bryanw3535

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2008

Posted 01 September 2013 - 10:31 PM

No difference in speed at all. fewer wires, off the LAN, are a couple of plusses for DECA.

Thanks, all!



#55 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,325 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 02 September 2013 - 03:46 AM

Ok merg you officially made that one more difficult than needed. Get an extra beer when you get home you must be working to hard. :)


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#56 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 02 September 2013 - 07:16 AM

Ok merg you officially made that one more difficult than needed. Get an extra beer when you get home you must be working to hard. :)


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app


:lol:

I just re-read what I wrote and see what you mean... The scary thing is that I wasn't working yesterday. :)


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#57 OFFLINE   tedesco455

tedesco455

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
  • LocationKentucky
Joined: Dec 10, 2013

Posted 10 December 2013 - 02:41 AM

The way to enable your wired ethernet connection is to connect a known working ethernet cable to the port on your receiver, then go into "Network Setup" and choose "Restore Defaults" this way it forgets the Key and SSID for your wireless network. You should really notice a performance improvement on OnDemand downloads as the network latancy and packet loss will be much lower. This was on a HR44/500.


Edited by tedesco455, 10 December 2013 - 02:42 AM.


#58 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,325 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 10 December 2013 - 03:43 PM

It also works by simply rebooting with an ethernet cable plugged in. It always will chose wired over wireless.

#59 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,625 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 10 December 2013 - 09:02 PM

The way to enable your wired ethernet connection is to connect a known working ethernet cable to the port on your receiver, then go into "Network Setup" and choose "Restore Defaults" this way it forgets the Key and SSID for your wireless network. You should really notice a performance improvement on OnDemand downloads as the network latancy and packet loss will be much lower. This was on a HR44/500.

Welcome to DBSTalk! Nice explanation, too.....


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#60 OFFLINE   cltmayberry

cltmayberry

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2014

Posted 10 July 2014 - 07:59 AM

...so it has been almost 6 months since the last posting to this topic...  I happened to stumble across this thread via Google search for HR-44 and ethernet connection.  First a wee bit of background to me and my setup..  

 

I have been setup with DirecTV for over 2 years using an HR-24 and 2 'remote' boxes in the bedrooms.  My HR-24 was connected to a DECA via ethernet cable connection that I have connected to a 'power-line' ethernet connection to my wireless router switchport connection.  This setup works like greesed lightning.  Now, time for a subscription renewal, finding out that I qualify for the free HR-44 with 2 genie-minis.  I get the equipment next day (shocked), and evaluate the equipment.  

 

-my professional background-  I work as a network engineer for a very large bank, and coordinate setup and installs for cisco routers/switches, firewalls, etc..  run packet capture and analysis, etc...  so, I know what I am looking at and what the hardware is.  

 

I notice the ethernet port on the rear of the HR-44 with a rubberized plug in it, likely protecting from 'outside stuff'..   I am very interested in continuing to use my wired ethernet connection, as my wireless signal to the downstairs living room area is fairly weak, and wireless is an inferior communication for streaming media, etc.  I removed the HR-24 and the DECA box/coax/ethernet, and plug the ethernet cable into the HR-44, along with the other TV/media connections and turn on the equipment for the first time.  I initially receive a 'service error' due to the fact my equipment had not yet been activated on my account.  I detail this, because my call with DirecTV support was very interesting, especially when I asked if i could use the ethernet port rather than wireless.  The response was...  maybe, but it is preferred to use wireless. Very vague and no explanation as to why, just that they 'suggest it'.  

 

After the support call, the HR-44 is ready to go, i check all settings, and find that under the 'network' settings area, i had the option to either use automatic or manual configuration, here seeing that my HR-44 had obtained a DHCP IP address via the wired connection.  sweet!..  I check all the on-demand items, and internal weather/sports apps... all working..    Next, I move the HR-24 to the bedroom, connect to coax only and after a few minutes, i am able to see on the HR-44 the recorded shows..  a confirmation that the 'whole-home' DVR works.

 

Calling direcTV support a second time to install the genie-mini in the 2nd bedroom (device activation issue again), i again ask, if a wired ethernet connection work with the HR-44?..  This time, the response was almost laughable (from a senior tech, btw)... 

"we do not advise connecting the HR-44 to a wired connection for the reason that the 'other' network traffic on your network would interfere with the communications on your HR-44."    ....uh.. ok..   my reply was... "and how does using a wireless signal, which can conflict with many more devices, network and otherwise, make the connection any more compatible?"    ... and the response.. "the HR-44 is designed to operate at a much more efficient level over wireless, such that using a wired connection is not advisable" ...    also from the tech..  "if you have issues with wifi signal strength to your HR-44, we can ship you a DECA device that you can use a wired connection to connect with."   ....   so again..  it seems that not even direcTV senior techs have a clue how or why to use the ethernet jack on the HR-44.  

 

-a note to those reading this that is thinking why I am not using the DECA with the HR-44 genie, is that the hardware that makes the DECA 'box' what it is, is now included internally in the HR-44.  So, if any direcTV tech tried to tell you different is incorrect.

 

so, there still lies the mystery of the little HR-44 ethernet port.  I will be sure to ask my lovely direcTV support about this again, when I finish watching all my shows from the HR-24 and replace with the 2nd genie-mini.  This time with more of a training lesson mentality rather than dumb sheep like replies.  

 

enjoy!


Edited by cltmayberry, 10 July 2014 - 08:11 AM.


#61 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,625 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 10 July 2014 - 08:51 AM

Welcome to DBSTalk!

 

Well, you are certainly correct in that there are some large gaps in knowledge and training among some CSRs, and your knowledge seems sound. Was there a question in there? i.e, are you all set? Welcome and good luck!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#62 OFFLINE   cltmayberry

cltmayberry

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2014

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:48 PM

thank you for the kind welcome..  Just one question really...  what is it that DirecTV is hiding in that magical ethernet port?   LOL..  

 

mostly just wanted to share my experiences, to encourage others that you can use a wired connection, no matter what DirecTV says.



#63 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 516 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 10 July 2014 - 01:37 PM

IIRC the techs are being told on HR44 installs that using wireless is the preferred connection method.

I had a 44 installed yesterday to replace a 34 that was connected by ethernet cable to my router ( they're right next to each other ). The installer said that there may be occasional dropouts of the whole home connection to my other dvr ( an HR 22 ) by using the cable instead of the wireless network. So the installers are being told to urge the wireless connection. What he said didn't really make sense to me but I didn't want to dispute him and he was very nice about it and just connected the cable. I don't think any settings were manually changed it just picked up the ethernet connection when it completed its set up routine. He did say that if I experienced some whole home dropouts to try disconnecting the cable and connecting to my wifi network instead. I'm not really expecting any problems due to this.



#64 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,338 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 July 2014 - 02:05 PM

  what is it that DirecTV is hiding in that magical ethernet port?   LOL..  

 

 

Nothing magical about it.  DirecTV® does not train its techs or CSR to use this type of direct connection.  This is why this connection is "unsupported" but works the same as if using a DECA BB


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#65 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,625 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 10 July 2014 - 03:35 PM

I had a 44 installed yesterday to replace a 34 that was connected by ethernet cable to my router ( they're right next to each other ). The installer said that there may be occasional dropouts of the whole home connection to my other dvr ( an HR 22 ) by using the cable instead of the wireless network. So the installers are being told to urge the wireless connection. What he said didn't really make sense to me but I didn't want to dispute him and he was very nice about it and just connected the cable. I don't think any settings were manually changed it just picked up the ethernet connection when it completed its set up routine. He did say that if I experienced some whole home dropouts to try disconnecting the cable and connecting to my wifi network instead. I'm not really expecting any problems due to this.

There's way too much BS on the part of some installers, and some of them are motivated solely by the fact they get paid more for the wireless installation rather than the wired. It makes no sense whatsoever, and is confusing to those who know about connections, and annoying to those who know a lot about them. It's something DIRECTV® should address as it wastes time and money. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#66 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,338 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 July 2014 - 04:12 PM

some of them are motivated solely by the fact they get paid more for the wireless installation rather than the wired.

Is the other way around 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#67 OFFLINE   cltmayberry

cltmayberry

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2014

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:44 PM

what I think is the most amusing part (or frustrating for most) is that technically speaking, by no way whatsoever is a wireless connection any more reliable than a wired connection.  Looking again at the rear of the HR-24, I do see that it also has an ethernet connection that I never paid attention to.  I was just following along with the tech installing the DECA box.  Is it likely that the HR-24 ethernet port could also work?  I'm doubting that it would, but why would it be there in the first place?  What I do know is that whomever makes the DECA box is raking in $$$ on sales of a likely unnecessary device.

 

On my next support call to DirecTV, I will make it an asserted effort to get a real answer regarding the ethernet port on the HR-44....and hopefully not piss anyone off enough that they might remotely disable it..    ;)



#68 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,338 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 July 2014 - 07:31 PM

what I think is the most amusing part (or frustrating for most) is that technically speaking, by no way whatsoever is a wireless connection any more reliable than a wired connection.  

oh yea it is.  Wireless is susceptible to all kinds of interference and the farther you are way from it, the worse it gets.  With hard wired as long as you are with in specs, 100 meters there is no reduction in quality 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#69 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,338 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 July 2014 - 07:33 PM

Looking again at the rear of the HR-24, I do see that it also has an ethernet connection that I never paid attention to.  I was just following along with the tech installing the DECA box.  Is it likely that the HR-24 ethernet port could also work? 

As long as your HR24 is the only lonely box in your set up, you can use the ethernet port.  Unlike the Genie, using the HR24 ethernet port disable its DECA adapter.  You can of course run your WHDVR network over cat5, but that means running to wires to each location without any added benefit 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#70 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,325 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 10 July 2014 - 08:57 PM

oh yea it is.  Wireless is susceptible to all kinds of interference and the farther you are way from it, the worse it gets.  With hard wired as long as you are with in specs, 100 meters there is no reduction in quality 

 

Um, I think you guys agree..  ;)


  • cltmayberry likes this

#71 OFFLINE   cltmayberry

cltmayberry

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2014

Posted 10 July 2014 - 09:12 PM

yeah sorry... I was trying to say that wireless is such a horrible means of receiving streaming media. Use cat5 or power line Ethernet to unreachable areas. DirecTV needs to take a class.

#72 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,625 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 10 July 2014 - 10:10 PM

oh yea it is.  Wireless is susceptible to all kinds of interference and the farther you are way from it, the worse it gets.  With hard wired as long as you are with in specs, 100 meters there is no reduction in quality 

This is the second post in a row where you've mixed up the subject and the object. He had it right. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#73 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 516 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 11 July 2014 - 08:57 AM

I think there's been a lot of confusing information about that ethernet connection over the years, even pre genies. I remember once when I already had the whole home service set up with two HRs connecting to the internet, the main HR in my living room had to be replaced. At that time I had my modem and router on the top floor of my house and I was using those power line ethernet adapters to make an ethernet connection to that primary HR. It wound up having to be replaced and when the guy came out he was adamant that the only way to do this was run a cable through the walls and floors to the HR from the upstairs router. When I told him I can just connect the ethernet cable from the power line adapter to it he became angry and just said "if you're happy fine" and just left. Even some on here were telling me that this was an unsupported way of making this connection but it worked fine and I never had any problems with it. I even had someone from DTV try to make me get one of those Cinema connection kits even when I was able to move my modem and router down to the floor where the primary HR is and no longer needed the power line adapters.

 

At least the guy that came out with the 44 was not in anyway pushy about using the wireless connection, he was just mentioning that he had heard about/seen? some issues with the whole home service using the ethernet connection. Haven't seen a problem yet and don't really expect to.



#74 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,338 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 July 2014 - 10:48 AM

This is the second post in a row where you've mixed up the subject and the object. He had it right.

glad you keeping score....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#75 OFFLINE   no_target

no_target

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco, CA
Joined: Aug 23, 2014

Posted 23 August 2014 - 11:09 PM

I had this problem today and discovered this:

- Once wireless has been configured on the HR44, it is "stuck" in that configuration until the network settings are reset to defaults

 

So - if you want to go from a wireless configuration back to ethernet / wired, you have to enter network settings, reset to defaults, then redo network setup.  Once I did this, my configuration was fully based on a single ethernet connection to my LAN network on which my TVs, HR44 and internet router are connected.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...