Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

2011 Samsung Smart TV Netflix issue


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 17 June 2013 - 02:21 PM

Hey all,

I'm putting this out there in case anyone has a similar problem.
 

I have a 2011 Samsung  and right now I use the Smart TV features for Netflix only. (DIRECTV boxes have Pandora and YouTube, and I'm not subscribing to the other services right now.) 

 

I have a very specific, and 100% repeatable, issue. 

 

So, I'm watching a TV show (that has episodes, not a movie.) If I watch more than about 10 minutes of the show, when I come back to the netflix menu I don't get the familiar "Watch S2:E8/More episodes/Rate this..." menu. Instead I get the animated "busy" graphic and it never goes away. 

 

If I then go back to the netflix main menu and select a movie, then stop that and go back to the original show, then the menus work. 

 

It's like something crashes in the app and doesn't get reloaded unless I go to something that doesn't have episodes. 

 

It's not the connection, I can use my Samsung Smart Blu-ray player which is on the same switch and it doesn't have the problem. (But, it is 4x slower in bringing up menus.) It's not the software version, I'm on the latest. 

 

Samsung turfed me over to Netflix, Netflix turfed me over to Samsung. 

 

Has anyone else seen this? So far the likely fix will be adding an Apple TV box to the mix. 


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 357 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:25 PM

We are a Samsung dealer, and I have not had any customers complain of this issue.

 

Have you tried AVS on your model to see if anyone there has had a similar problem?

 

Ed


HR44-700, HR22-700, HR21-200, SWM16


#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 17 June 2013 - 09:16 PM

I'll head over to AVS if no one knows anything here... Thought I would start with my favorite forum.

My suspicion is that somehow an app update was missed leading to this problem. I would rather not reset all the settings in the TV, but I suspect that is the next diagnostic step.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#4 OFFLINE   Yoda-DBSguy

Yoda-DBSguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,083 posts
  • LocationA Galaxy Far, Far Away.....
Joined: Nov 04, 2006

Posted 18 June 2013 - 12:24 AM

Are you running or vave you updated to the latest firmware release available for your specific model?



#5 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 18 June 2013 - 06:55 AM

Yes, thank you. I have even confirmed with Samsung that I am running the latest firmware and there is no newer firmware. 


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#6 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,990 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 18 June 2013 - 09:27 AM

I have a Sammy plasma probably the same vintage, but haven't watched Netflix on it for a long time; possibly never. I will try when I get home later today.

 

[Is there something in the Sammy menus that'd tell me the exact age of my set?]


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#7 OFFLINE   bidger

bidger

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,952 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 18 June 2013 - 10:58 AM

[Is there something in the Sammy menus that'd tell me the exact age of my set?]


Samsung denotes model year by a letter that would follow the screen size. A 2011 model would have the letter D in that slot.

Ceton 6 tuner eth, Cisco Tuning Adapter 1520, TWC Digital Explorer Pak and Standard Internet, TiVo HD (upgraded to 500 GB) for OTA,TC-P50U50, SONY NSZ-GT1 BD player and Google TV box, Yamaha RX-V373 A/V receiver, Squeezebox Duet music streaming device, Xbox 360 

 

 


#8 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 357 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 18 June 2013 - 01:06 PM

 

 

[Is there something in the Sammy menus that'd tell me the exact age of my set?]

 

 

Yes, In the service menu.  Also ALL Samsungs have a production date on the back of the tv.  Silver label.


HR44-700, HR22-700, HR21-200, SWM16


#9 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,990 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 18 June 2013 - 10:18 PM

Thanks, couldn't find it in the Menus at all. Is there a trick to getting there? 

 

In any event, I don't have Netflix on the TV itself. When I got it, I got a Sammy Bluray player that has it, and used that a couple of times, but my Netflix is done either via Apple TV or on a laptop or iPad. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#10 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 357 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 19 June 2013 - 08:17 PM

There is a code to input on the remote.  PM me if you REALLY need it, (or google it).  Its best to stay out of the service menu's as its really easy to mess up stuff.

The tag on the back of the TV, should be within a couple weeks of actual production anyways.


HR44-700, HR22-700, HR21-200, SWM16


#11 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,990 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:32 PM

Thanks, 'hawk.  I'll leave well enough alone!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#12 OFFLINE   code4code5

code4code5

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 442 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 22 June 2013 - 05:42 PM

I have a UN55D6420, and haven't seen the Netflix issue. It does seem to take forever to log in, but I haven't had any reliability issues.

Are you hard wired or using the Samsung wireless dongle?


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#13 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 22 June 2013 - 05:55 PM

Wired... And the Samsung smart blu-ray player doesn't have that problem.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...