Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

Hr-44 not recognizing external HDD


  • Please log in to reply
83 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sfeym

sfeym

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2010

Posted 18 June 2013 - 03:30 AM

I have installed a Western Digital WD AV-GP WD30EURS 3TB into a Rosewill RC358-V2 and cannot get my HR-44 to recognize the drive.  I have tried different combinations of reboots and start-up combinations, DVR unplugged, RBR, menu reboot but no luck.  Any ideas?

 

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,071 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 18 June 2013 - 06:27 AM

Try a different enclosure, sounds like that one isn't compatible.  I'd go with the ThermalTake BlacX.

 

 

http://www.amazon.co...rds=thermaltake


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#3 OFFLINE   Choir

Choir

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2008

Posted 18 June 2013 - 09:19 AM

I have been using that very drive in a Thermaltake enclosure (ST0021U) for about three months now without any problems.

 



#4 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,970 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 18 June 2013 - 10:33 AM

I had trouble getting my HR44-500 to recognize a WD30EZRX.  I plugged that drive into an HR24, and it formatted it immediately.  Switched the 3TB back to the HR44, and it recognized it right away.

 

If you have another DVR, try hooking the external to that first.  You'll want to put it back on the Genie after it's formatted, as the HR2x support only 2TB.

 

 

See this post: http://www.dbstalk.c...08#entry3147864



#5 ONLINE   unixguru

unixguru

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 579 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:13 AM

I had trouble getting my HR44-500 to recognize a WD30EZRX.  I plugged that drive into an HR24, and it formatted it immediately.  Switched the 3TB back to the HR44, and it recognized it right away.

 

If you have another DVR, try hooking the external to that first.  You'll want to put it back on the Genie after it's formatted, as the HR2x support only 2TB.

 

 

See this post: http://www.dbstalk.c...08#entry3147864

 

And you probably now have a 3TB drive formatted for 2TB.



#6 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,071 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:56 AM

And you probably now have a 3TB drive formatted for 2TB.

 

Yup, I'm betting he does as well.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#7 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,970 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 18 June 2013 - 01:33 PM

And you probably now have a 3TB drive formatted for 2TB.

 

I suppose that could be.

Any suggestions on how to start over?

Should I plug the drive into a PC and let it reformat, and then try the HR44 again?



#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 June 2013 - 03:43 PM

And you probably now have a 3TB drive formatted for 2TB.

That would be intersting to find an answer ... yes, connect it to PC, let's use some program what would show partitiong - take trial UFS Explorer for start



#9 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,970 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 18 June 2013 - 03:59 PM

That would be intersting to find an answer ... yes, connect it to PC, let's use some program what would show partitiong - take trial UFS Explorer for start

 

Will try it tonight, if I have time.

I've never used a program like this before.  What am I looking for--I know partition data, but I might need to be pointed to it.



#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 June 2013 - 05:32 PM

any software what can do detail analysis of non-Win partitioning, we need to dissect XFS type with real-time ext

 

UFS Explorer is good if you running Win, it will show files/folders/partitions regardless if Win would recognize the partition or not


Edited by P Smith, 18 June 2013 - 05:37 PM.


#11 OFFLINE   Hotelone

Hotelone

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
  • LocationCentral Sierra Mountains
Joined: Feb 18, 2008

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:30 PM

I feel for the poor OP...


DirecTV subscriber since 1994

HR44-700 -> 60" Panasonic Plasma
HR24-100 -> 50" Panasonic Plasma
C31 -> 22" Junk Magnavox LCD


#12 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,071 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 19 June 2013 - 06:42 AM

That would be intersting to find an answer ... yes, connect it to PC, let's use some program what would show partitiong - take trial UFS Explorer for start

 

It's been done a few times already.  I personally had an HR24 partition/format a 3TB drive.  You guessed it, only 2TB was setup.

 

No need to send someone one another one of your crazy experiments.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#13 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,970 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 19 June 2013 - 06:58 AM

It's been done a few times already.  I personally had an HR24 partition/format a 3TB drive.  You guessed it, only 2TB was setup.
 
No need to send someone one another one of your crazy experiments.


Thanks, Runner.
What would be the simplest way to reformat the drive so that the HR44 can try to format it properly?
Is there an easy way to repartition the drive for 3TB?

#14 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,071 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 19 June 2013 - 10:53 AM

Thanks, Runner.
What would be the simplest way to reformat the drive so that the HR44 can try to format it properly?
Is there an easy way to repartition the drive for 3TB?

 

Easiest thing to do is plug it into a PC and remove all the partitions on the drive then hook it up to the HR44 and see what happens.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#15 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,970 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 19 June 2013 - 05:53 PM

Easiest thing to do is plug it into a PC and remove all the partitions on the drive then hook it up to the HR44 and see what happens.

What exactly should I do?

Back-click on the drive and click on format?

BTW, the drive shows up as three drives on Windows Explore--maybe the way it's formatted?



#16 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 June 2013 - 06:12 PM

yes, that sounds right - Swap, data partition and real-time extension

 

coud you tell us sizes of all three parts ?

 

go to Disk Managment for that, don't use Win Explorer; no need to format, just delete each partition


Edited by P Smith, 19 June 2013 - 06:15 PM.


#17 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,970 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 19 June 2013 - 06:36 PM

yes, that sounds right - Swap, data partition and real-time extension
 
coud you tell us sizes of all three parts ?
 
go to Disk Managment for that, don't use Win Explorer; no need to format, just delete each partition


After a while, I realized I had to populate the volume.

Capacity 2861588 MB
Unallocated space 566 MB
Reserved space 0

Volumes
F 572 MB
G 28610 MB
I 2831697 MB
J 143 MB

So doesn't this mean I have 2.83 TB recording space when I plug it back into the Genie, with the other volumes for DirecTV housekeeping?

#18 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 June 2013 - 08:05 PM

last one is unknown to me [143 MB ?] and the unallocated chunk [566 MB] ...

 

BUT ! You got it in full: the 2.83 TB is right on spot; so your HR24 did it right despite other posters told us, hehehe someone (perhaps there are more eaters ?) will eat the crow :D

 

the space would be a sum of 28.6 GB and 2.83 TB

 

You shouln't reformat/erase partitions on the drive - nothing wrong with it ! Just use it.


Edited by P Smith, 19 June 2013 - 08:07 PM.


#19 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,970 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 19 June 2013 - 08:10 PM

Yes, no need to reformat. Even I understood that.
Thanks for your help.

#20 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,071 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 19 June 2013 - 08:48 PM

last one is unknown to me [143 MB ?] and the unallocated chunk [566 MB] ...

 

BUT ! You got it in full: the 2.83 TB is right on spot; so your HR24 did it right despite other posters told us, hehehe someone (perhaps there are more eaters ?) will eat the crow :D

 

the space would be a sum of 28.6 GB and 2.83 TB

 

You shouln't reformat/erase partitions on the drive - nothing wrong with it ! Just use it.

 

No crow to eat.  Clearly something changed recently and apparently HR24's now support 3TB drives.  They did not in the past.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT




Protected By... spam firewall...And...