Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

Hr-44 not recognizing external HDD


  • Please log in to reply
83 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,870 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 June 2013 - 07:41 AM

 

Who would be surprised if recent HR2x software was upgraded and they didn't tell anyone?  Perhaps in preparation for a new model coming soon.

 

Most would be surprised, as software versions and date of install are easily found in Settings. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#27 OFFLINE   unixguru

unixguru

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 651 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 20 June 2013 - 10:02 AM

Most would be surprised, as software versions and date of install are easily found in Settings. 

 

I used the word "upgraded" in terms of functionality.  Obviously.



#28 OFFLINE   Griff

Griff

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 21 June 2013 - 07:56 PM

The Rosewill RX-358 U3C supports up to 4tb (according to Rosewill's site); the Rosewill RX-358 V2 only 2tb.  I put a WD30EURS (3tb) in a U3C.  I had to format first in a PC before the HR44 would see it.

 

This was my second attempt to use a 3tb drive.  The first drive lasted one week then the HR44 started reporting "problem detected on the external storage device".  A reboot or two seemed to fix the issue except when doing a system test, then the error would report.  But the DVR continued to work fine. Amazon exchanged the drive, hopefully no more issues.

 

 


DVRs: One HR44-500 (4tb EURS external drive), one HR24-500, one HR24-200. DISPLAY:LG 79UB9800; RECEIVER: Onkyo TX-NR636; NETWORK: Apple Airport Extreme, all hard-wired MISC: All HDMI connected; PS3; Panasonic BDP-350 BluRay/3D player; Two Sony BDP-CX7000ES BluRay 400-disc changers; Home-built 6-core HTPC; LG 2tb NAS w/BluRay burner; Pronto TSU9400 remote. Directv customer since July 1994.


#29 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,975 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 23 June 2013 - 12:59 PM

It definitely wasn't working on the 44 until I plugged it into the 24. Is it reasonable that the 24 formatted the drive for 2TB, which allowed the 44 to recognize it, realize it had more capacity, and reformat the drive for 3TB? When the 44 finished the reboot, it showed the start-up messages you see with a new drive or new software.
At this point, I have 3TB on the 44 and 2TB on the 24. I could switch the 3TB back to the 24 as an experiment, and then read the partitions off a PC to see if it's formatted for 2 or 3TB. But everything is working, and my experience with eSATAs tells me to leave well enough alone.



Well, curiosity, plus the possibility of adding at least 1TB more storage to the HR24, got the best of me.

Conclusion: The 24 does indeed support an external drive larger than 2TB.

Details:

Connected WD30EZRX 3TB drive to HR24-100. Thermaltake Blacx dock. The drive had been successfully connected to an HR44-500. See previous posts in this thread.

HR24 displayed the "formatting external drive" notice.

Confirmed connection through External Drive test on Guided Tests menu.

Connected the WD30 to a PC.
Control Panel/Device Manager/Disk Drives/WD30
Properties box/Volumes tab/Populate volumes:

Partition Style: GUID Partition Table (GPT)
Capacity: 2861588MB
Unallocated: 566MB
Reserved: 0

F: 572MB
G: 28610MB
H: 2831841MB

I surmise from these stats that the drive was formatted by the HR24 for 2.83TB of recording space, with 28.6GB for DirecTV housekeeping space.

Reconnected the WD20EVDS 2TB drive to the HR24, where had been successfully connected prior to this test.
No "formatting drive" displayed. Guided test showed external drive successfully connected. Test recording placed on drive before the test still in playlist.

Reconnected the 3TB drive to the HR44.
After I entered diagnostic mode for the guided test, the "formatting storage device" message appeared. Guided test confirmed presence of 3TB external drive. Of couse, no recordings on the local playlist.

So it appears that the 24 supports at least a 3TB external drive.

Remaining questions: Although it formats the drive to capacity, will it actually record past 2TB?

Why does the 24 reformat a drive already formatted? Do the 24/44 not recognize each other as compatible devices? We know from past attempts that recordings on one HR2x will still show on the playlst when the drive is connected to a different HR2x (although the recordings will not play).

Looking forward to comments on this.

#30 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,287 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 June 2013 - 02:30 PM

that the drive was formatted by the HR24 for 2.83TB of recording space, with 28.6GB for DirecTV housekeeping space.

 

It's one logical partition (with real-time extension), there are storing system metadata files, logs, etc and recordings.



#31 OFFLINE   hclarkjr

hclarkjr

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 69 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2012

Posted 23 June 2013 - 03:46 PM

question, i am going to be setting up a new WD AV-GP 2TB in a week or so and am curious if i need to format the drive first on my computer so that the HR44 will see it?


Cooler master HAF932, Dell 2408WFP, Gigabyte P67A-UD4 B3 REV. 1.1, Intel core I7 2600K, XIGMATEK SD-1283 Gaia, Intel X25-M G2 160GB,16gb G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 1600mhz,Crossfired Radeon HD6950, Pioneer BDR-205, Samsung SH-S243N 24X DVD-RW, western digital black 2TB,Antec TPQ-850 850W , windows 7 ultimate SP1 X64

#32 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,870 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 23 June 2013 - 04:02 PM

 No!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#33 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,287 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 June 2013 - 06:56 PM

question, i am going to be setting up a new WD AV-GP 2TB in a week or so and am curious if i need to format the drive first on my computer so that the HR44 will see it?

How/where you got the idea ?

If you like, go ahead and do format.

The DVR will reformat it anyway.



#34 OFFLINE   hclarkjr

hclarkjr

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 69 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2012

Posted 24 June 2013 - 03:07 AM

How/where you got the idea ?

If you like, go ahead and do format.

The DVR will reformat it anyway.

i am basing that on when you first install an unformated disk into computer you have to go to computer management to format the disk before windows will see it.


Cooler master HAF932, Dell 2408WFP, Gigabyte P67A-UD4 B3 REV. 1.1, Intel core I7 2600K, XIGMATEK SD-1283 Gaia, Intel X25-M G2 160GB,16gb G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 1600mhz,Crossfired Radeon HD6950, Pioneer BDR-205, Samsung SH-S243N 24X DVD-RW, western digital black 2TB,Antec TPQ-850 850W , windows 7 ultimate SP1 X64

#35 OFFLINE   sfeym

sfeym

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2010

Posted 24 June 2013 - 03:16 AM

The HR-44 absolutely refused to see the external HDD regardless of which enclosure was used. I finally got it to work by using a friends HR-34 to format and only then did the HR-44 see the external drive. Itmay only be my unit and believe me tried every type of reboot to get it formatted on the 44.

#36 OFFLINE   cnr1089

cnr1089

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 24 June 2013 - 07:08 AM

I tried to get my new HR-44 to see my external SATA drive. I tried several reboots with no luck. Finally I formatted it on my Mac, then the next time I attached to my HR44 and rebooted it noticed it.



#37 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,253 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:34 AM

You guys should be reporting these HR44 eSATA issues in the issues & discussion thread so DirecTV is aware of the issues.

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...suesdiscussion/


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#38 OFFLINE   unixguru

unixguru

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 651 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:37 AM

i am basing that on when you first install an unformated disk into computer you have to go to computer management to format the disk before windows will see it.

 

A full OS doesn't know how you want the drive partitioned or what file system(s) to put on it.  A DVR knows exactly what it wants so it doesn't need prompting.  If a DVR doesn't find the disk in exactly the structure it wants - partitions and file systems (and probably more) - it will reformat.



#39 OFFLINE   unixguru

unixguru

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 651 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:51 AM

Conclusion: The 24 does indeed support an external drive larger than 2TB.

I surmise from these stats that the drive was formatted by the HR24 for 2.83TB of recording space, with 28.6GB for DirecTV housekeeping space.

Reconnected the 3TB drive to the HR44.
After I entered diagnostic mode for the guided test, the "formatting storage device" message appeared. Guided test confirmed presence of 3TB external drive. Of couse, no recordings on the local playlist.

Remaining questions: Although it formats the drive to capacity, will it actually record past 2TB?

Why does the 24 reformat a drive already formatted? Do the 24/44 not recognize each other as compatible devices? We know from past attempts that recordings on one HR2x will still show on the playlst when the drive is connected to a different HR2x (although the recordings will not play).

 

The file system is XFS with real-time extensions; the 28.6GB is metadata and the 2.83TB is the data area.

 

It's possible that the HR24 will record past 2TB.  Although they may not have completed work on that feature.  It wouldn't be uncommon for software to be released with partial support for a feature coming down the road.  Someone will have to try to exceed 2TB  :)

 

I suspect that it may be that the version or options of XFS (and therefore on-disk structure) may differ so the HR44 sees it as incompatible.  Or maybe even the contents of the file system may be different.



#40 OFFLINE   Griff

Griff

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 24 June 2013 - 10:09 AM

question, i am going to be setting up a new WD AV-GP 2TB in a week or so and am curious if i need to format the drive first on my computer so that the HR44 will see it?

Try it the easy way first :) .  If the new drive is not recognized, then format it in a PC ;) .

 

My experience......

The first 3tb WD drive in a Rosewill case failed after a week or so (see my earlier post above).  Amazon replaced the drive and all is well.  But to answer your question, in both installs the HR44-500 would NOT recognize the external drive until after I formatted it in a PC.  Formatted out to 3tb each time in the PC.  When re-connected to the HR44 the DVR then did its own format, took about 5 seconds. I don't know if this is the way it's supposed to work, but there it is. As it stands,  I can only assume it is using the full 3tb, but I have recorded a LOT of stuff and still at 90% free. 


Edited by Griff, 24 June 2013 - 10:16 AM.

DVRs: One HR44-500 (4tb EURS external drive), one HR24-500, one HR24-200. DISPLAY:LG 79UB9800; RECEIVER: Onkyo TX-NR636; NETWORK: Apple Airport Extreme, all hard-wired MISC: All HDMI connected; PS3; Panasonic BDP-350 BluRay/3D player; Two Sony BDP-CX7000ES BluRay 400-disc changers; Home-built 6-core HTPC; LG 2tb NAS w/BluRay burner; Pronto TSU9400 remote. Directv customer since July 1994.


#41 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 24 June 2013 - 10:47 AM

It seems odd that an un-partitioned drive is causing hiccups, but that is probably what is causing the issue.  Since the formatting and the partitioning of the drive has to be overwritten to set it up correctly for use in the DVR.



#42 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,870 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 24 June 2013 - 11:26 AM

It seems odd that an un-partitioned drive is causing hiccups, but that is probably what is causing the issue.  Since the formatting and the partitioning of the drive has to be overwritten to set it up correctly for use in the DVR.

 

Wouldn't some drives- maybe most- be formatted just fine with the defaults? Certainly if the drive has been used for other purposes it'd be reformatted by the DVR. Or does it format in order to be able to "mark" it as compatible with only the DVR it's attached to? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#43 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,571 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 June 2013 - 12:32 PM

Try it the easy way first :) . If the new drive is not recognized, then format it in a PC ;) .

My experience......
The first 3tb WD drive in a Rosewill case failed after a week or so (see my earlier post above). Amazon replaced the drive and all is well. But to answer your question, in both installs the HR44-500 would NOT recognize the external drive until after I formatted it in a PC. Formatted out to 3tb each time in the PC. When re-connected to the HR44 the DVR then did its own format, took about 5 seconds. I don't know if this is the way it's supposed to work, but there it is. As it stands, I can only assume it is using the full 3tb, but I have recorded a LOT of stuff and still at 90% free.


You could pop it into your pc again and see what size partitions it shows without changing anything.
  • Khuegel likes this

#44 OFFLINE   Griff

Griff

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 24 June 2013 - 01:24 PM

You could pop it into your pc again and see what size partitions it shows without changing anything.

I would do that if anyone wants to know.  Otherwise I think I will leave well enough alone :grin:


DVRs: One HR44-500 (4tb EURS external drive), one HR24-500, one HR24-200. DISPLAY:LG 79UB9800; RECEIVER: Onkyo TX-NR636; NETWORK: Apple Airport Extreme, all hard-wired MISC: All HDMI connected; PS3; Panasonic BDP-350 BluRay/3D player; Two Sony BDP-CX7000ES BluRay 400-disc changers; Home-built 6-core HTPC; LG 2tb NAS w/BluRay burner; Pronto TSU9400 remote. Directv customer since July 1994.


#45 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,287 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 June 2013 - 02:38 PM

It would be nice to know what partitions created; it would help other people.



#46 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,287 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 June 2013 - 02:40 PM

Looks like new partitioning scheme has 4th small partition, while before it was just three:SWAP, XFS and XFS real-time extension.



#47 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,253 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 June 2013 - 04:04 PM

It would be nice to know what partitions created; it would help other people.

 

I'll do what you normally do to others...  The information can already be found in other posts on this site, try searching.  :righton:


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#48 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,287 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 June 2013 - 05:47 PM

then you read only these posts what you can read ...



#49 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 24 June 2013 - 09:49 PM

Wouldn't some drives- maybe most- be formatted just fine with the defaults? Certainly if the drive has been used for other purposes it'd be reformatted by the DVR. Or does it format in order to be able to "mark" it as compatible with only the DVR it's attached to? 

All new drives come low-level formatted from the factory.  What I think is happening currently in the HR44 firmware is that it doesnt seem to be able to correctly partition and format an unpartitioned or formatted drive.  As long as you attach it to antoher device, it seems to be able to recognize that the current partioning/formatting scheme is not suitable and it "corrects" itself, but only after the drive is partitioned/formatted by something else 1st.  Its probably just a bug in the realtively new HR44's firmware.



#50 OFFLINE   hclarkjr

hclarkjr

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 69 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2012

Posted 03 July 2013 - 04:03 PM

well i just hooked the drive up straight to the reciever and not in computer first, worked fine first try. formated and up and running already


Cooler master HAF932, Dell 2408WFP, Gigabyte P67A-UD4 B3 REV. 1.1, Intel core I7 2600K, XIGMATEK SD-1283 Gaia, Intel X25-M G2 160GB,16gb G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 1600mhz,Crossfired Radeon HD6950, Pioneer BDR-205, Samsung SH-S243N 24X DVD-RW, western digital black 2TB,Antec TPQ-850 850W , windows 7 ultimate SP1 X64




Protected By... spam firewall...And...