Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New contract. Gennie vs HD DVR


  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,071 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 24 June 2013 - 02:07 PM

They don't take the HD fee off.  They issue a monthly $10 credit.  That same credit should be able to be issued regardless of whether you have 3 individual fees or if you have a single consolidated "Advanced DVR" fee on your monthly bill.

 

I know that.  You can't take me literally most of the time. :rolling: 

 

Rich 



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,071 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 24 June 2013 - 02:09 PM

I have a Roku LT that's 90 feet from my router and it works fine.

Sent from my H866C using DBSTalk mobile app

 

Yeah, I have a feeling the Roku 3 would work anywhere in the house, just haven't tried it.  You ever try wireless speakers?  That would really interest me.

 

Rich



#28 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,790 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 June 2013 - 04:09 PM

Yeah, I have a feeling the Roku 3 would work anywhere in the house, just haven't tried it. You ever try wireless speakers? That would really interest me.

Rich


Run away from all thoughts of simple wireless speakers as fast as you can. Such a different animal.

#29 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,790 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 June 2013 - 04:10 PM

Yeah, I have a feeling the Roku 3 would work anywhere in the house, just haven't tried it. You ever try wireless speakers? That would really interest me.

Rich


Run away from all thoughts of simple wireless speakers as fast as you can. Such a different animal.

#30 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,652 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 24 June 2013 - 04:54 PM

Yeah, I have a feeling the Roku 3 would work anywhere in the house, just haven't tried it.  You ever try wireless speakers?  That would really interest me.

 

Rich

I have a wireless Sub.  But its range is only about 10 feet.


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, HBO,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660 15 Mbps down 2 Mbps up.

 


#31 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,071 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 24 June 2013 - 05:46 PM

Run away from all thoughts of simple wireless speakers as fast as you can. Such a different animal.

 

That's what I figured.  Seems like it would be simple.  

 

Rich



#32 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,071 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 24 June 2013 - 05:47 PM

I have a wireless Sub.  But its range is only about 10 feet.

 

Passive or powered?

 

Rich



#33 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 24 June 2013 - 06:48 PM

They don't take the HD fee off.  They issue a monthly $10 credit.  That same credit should be able to be issued regardless of whether you have 3 individual fees or if you have a single consolidated "Advanced DVR" fee on your monthly bill.

They do if HD was added on in error based on local availability.

As for the second part, a credit can be added but the HD line item cannot be removed.


My posts, whether fact or opinion, are my own and in no way represent DirecTV or any affiliated enterprise or corporation.

#34 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,652 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 25 June 2013 - 08:51 AM

Passive or powered?

 

Rich

Powered. 


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, HBO,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660 15 Mbps down 2 Mbps up.

 


#35 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,028 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 06:39 PM

:scratchin  Trying to imagine a passive, wireless, sub-woofer :scratchin

 

:grin:


Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#36 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,673 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 27 June 2013 - 06:51 PM

:scratchin  Trying to imagine a passive, wireless, sub-woofer :scratchin

 

:grin:

I was thinking the same thing.  But, I wasn't sure whether he was joking or not.



#37 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,071 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 June 2013 - 11:23 AM

:scratchin  Trying to imagine a passive, wireless, sub-woofer :scratchin

 

:grin:

 

Not one of my shining moments.  

 

Rich



#38 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,537 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 June 2013 - 11:25 AM

Not one of my shining moments.

Rich


indeed
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#39 OFFLINE   casinoman59

casinoman59

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
  • LocationHanford, Ca.
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 28 June 2013 - 11:33 AM

Also the Genie has pip which is great for sports :righton:



#40 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,115 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 28 June 2013 - 07:30 PM

Diff strokes, diff folks.... I haven't turned on PIP since the first few weeks of testing the Genie. I much prefer to record five sporting events, and switch among them, FF through lotsa stuff. That way, I see all the good parts in full screen, and miss the bad parts almost altogether.    Diff strokes, diff folks....


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#41 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,537 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 June 2013 - 07:32 PM

PIP is just like 3D, a good feature that I never used
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#42 OFFLINE   alc965

alc965

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2012

Posted 01 July 2013 - 11:52 AM

I called Directv last week to inquire about getting a replacement remote control. What I got instead was a Genie Whole Home upgrade for $3 a month extra without asking. Extremely happy with the speed and the PIP option.



#43 OFFLINE   Kromagg73

Kromagg73

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
  • LocationRapid City, SD
Joined: Jul 02, 2013

Posted 02 July 2013 - 07:26 AM

Yes the $25 Advanced Receiver Fee is Whole Home, HD, and DVR Service Fee. One advantage to having the Genie if you get the latest model HR44 is that it has a CCKW (Cinema Connection Kit Wireless) built into it, so no need for an extra box the size of your that picks up your wireless internet signal.  The new HR44 Clients will be coming out with a wireless model soon. So keep that in mind if you decide to upgrade to the Genie. You might be able to get those wireless C41's whenever they come out.



#44 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,537 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 July 2013 - 08:20 PM

 The new HR44 Clients will be coming out with a wireless model soon. So keep that in mind if you decide to upgrade to the Genie. You might be able to get those wireless C41's whenever they come out.

FYI. the supposedly wireless clients will work with the HR34 as well

 

and one more point, at least to me, the WiFi CCK on the HR44 is not considered a feature as I do not connect any Home Theater gear wireless, IMO that is a poor connection method 


  • damondlt likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#45 OFFLINE   toricred

toricred

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
  • LocationNorthern New Mexico
Joined: Feb 12, 2004

Posted 05 July 2013 - 08:11 PM

I was offered a free Genie today, but I have an HTPC network with 17TB of space (5TB used) so the 1TB limitation really put me off. How much space can you upgrade to using the ESATA port? Is there any way to get it to use a NAS?

Edited by toricred, 05 July 2013 - 08:56 PM.


#46 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,115 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 05 July 2013 - 10:08 PM

Not heard of anyone on a NAS, but some pretty big RAID has worked. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#47 OFFLINE   toricred

toricred

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
  • LocationNorthern New Mexico
Joined: Feb 12, 2004

Posted 06 July 2013 - 07:10 AM

Also I thought I read that recordings expire after something like 5 weeks. I like to keep all recordings of season 1 of a show until I know it is picked up for a second season.

#48 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,537 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 July 2013 - 05:24 PM

Also I thought I read that recordings expire after something like 5 weeks. I like to keep all recordings of season 1 of a show until I know it is picked up for a second season.

satellite recordings never expires, however DOD does come with an expiration date


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#49 OFFLINE   toricred

toricred

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
  • LocationNorthern New Mexico
Joined: Feb 12, 2004

Posted 06 July 2013 - 09:03 PM

That's great. I would probably not use DOD anyway so it isn't a problem. I just have to figure how to move from a NAS to an eSATA RAID. Will I've able to keep my existing files on the RAID or will it be formatted by the Genie?

#50 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,917 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 July 2013 - 09:07 PM

Keep in mind, with DirecTV, even a RAID system has a single point of failure. Recordings are tied to the DVR, unless they are OTA.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...