Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Power saver mode on HR2x? Worth it?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,558 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 22 June 2013 - 06:22 PM

Was wonder if the power saver mode does anything or if its worthless?  A lot of times I'm not watching TV and its just sucking power.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,685 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 June 2013 - 06:26 PM

Worthless. you only save about 1 kWh.
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,911 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 22 June 2013 - 06:35 PM

The benefit isn't in savings on the receiver itself, its on the TV connected to it.



#4 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,558 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 22 June 2013 - 07:06 PM

Ahhh okay thanks.  Was hoping the receiver hybernated or something.



#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,685 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 June 2013 - 07:09 PM

It basically shuts down the inputs and the LEDs that's about it


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,911 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 22 June 2013 - 07:34 PM

Setting the TV to turn off when it loses an input signal is where the real savings are.

#7 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,619 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 23 June 2013 - 02:50 AM

I especially like it when I forget to turn off the TV and leave the house, and have power saving mode on, so it shuts off the receiver then the tv when there's no input signal, I purposely leave the TV on sometimes:) but not just on the receiver but also on the laptop connected to the TV via hdmi cable, when the computer automatically goes to sleep mode then TV shuts off also when there's no signal.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#8 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,701 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 23 June 2013 - 08:54 AM

Was hoping the receiver hybernated or something.

The receivers cannot hybernate as they need to keep updating the guide data and firmware as it becomes available.


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#9 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 23 June 2013 - 04:08 PM

The benefit isn't in savings on the receiver itself, its on the TV connected to it.

 

 

Setting the TV to turn off when it loses an input signal is where the real savings are.

My Samsung doesn't do this or have a setting to make it do this its an LCD 1080p with 3 HDMIs



#10 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,199 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 23 June 2013 - 04:42 PM

My Samsung doesn't do this or have a setting to make it do this its an LCD 1080p with 3 HDMIs

What model and year? 

Did you check under Tools on the remote? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#11 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 23 June 2013 - 07:16 PM

My Samsung doesn't do this or have a setting to make it do this its an LCD 1080p with 3 HDMIs

It probably does.  Even my 5 year old Panasonic has a 5 minute no signal shutoff feature.



#12 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 296 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 24 June 2013 - 07:33 AM

Well mine is set to powersaving and when it powers up you cant rewind any live shows when its asleep. So I would think you would also be saving wear and tear on the HardDrive while its asleep


King Cable Cutter ! XBMC , PLEX , Raspberry Pi   Love my New Boxes :)

Avatars are to protect the Ugly people from scaring others !
Come from the land of Pennsylvania where Cable TV was invented ! Had HBO back in the 70's and total cable bill was $ 12.00 and all TV's got Cable with no extra fee ! Been using satellite since the C-Band Days and Dave and Charlie
 


#13 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,828 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 June 2013 - 07:40 AM

Well mine is set to powersaving and when it powers up you cant rewind any live shows when its asleep. So I would think you would also be saving wear and tear on the HardDrive while its asleep

 

No, the drive is still in use processing guide data, your todo list, etc.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#14 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,546 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:43 AM

A system that needs to keep itself awake because of scheduling when you are not using it (including unexpected changes in scheduling) cannot ever truly hibernate.

The power saving mode on the DVRs is window dressing.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#15 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 24 June 2013 - 10:38 AM

Well mine is set to powersaving and when it powers up you cant rewind any live shows when its asleep. So I would think you would also be saving wear and tear on the HardDrive while its asleep

The HDD is always spinning whether the unit is in standby or not...



#16 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 24 June 2013 - 05:17 PM

You can't rewind shows when it powers up because it is sleeping, eh?

 

Not sure what that means :mellow:

 

It means that the "live buffer" which normally is always being updated on the last channel that was being watched isn't.

 

When you watch live DirecTV, the receiver is also recording (and keeping) the last 90 minutes of the channel you are watching.  That is how you can "rewind live TV".  If you press SELECT you can see this buffer (and how big it is) in the control bar at the bottom of the screeen.  Unlike the orange bar you see when playing back a recording the live buffer is green.

 

If it really does stop live buffering when the power saver is on that is a good thing.  Even if the drive is spinning and updating it's guide info and TO DO listings, it is doing considerably fewer disc accesses if it also doesn't have to keep a live buffer.

 

Has anyone else confirmed that this is true?


3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K





Protected By... spam firewall...And...