Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

GenieGO Remote Streaming

DIRECTV GenieGO Nomad HDDVR Genie streaming slingbox

  • Please log in to reply
359 replies to this topic

#301 OFFLINE   Wolverine7

Wolverine7

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2007

Posted 19 August 2013 - 09:15 PM

Could you post an image of that e-mail, I'd like to see that?

 

Have received nothing on this end.

 

Naturally black out any confidential names and account info. 

 

I received this on August 14th:

pfwl.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#302 OFFLINE   dconfer

dconfer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 20 August 2013 - 05:47 AM

I received it also. No update thou for the client.



#303 OFFLINE   stsrep

stsrep

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2007

Posted 22 August 2013 - 03:57 PM

Any update on this being activated on Android??



#304 OFFLINE   curbside

curbside

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 102 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 24 August 2013 - 01:47 PM

Hi guys.  I'm having problems setting up remote streaming for my GenieGO.  Can I post it here or should I start a new thread?  Thanks.


DirecTV since June 1996
HR24-500, HR24-200, 2 x H24-700 with WHDVR

#305 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,922 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 24 August 2013 - 04:52 PM

Fire away!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#306 OFFLINE   curbside

curbside

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 102 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 24 August 2013 - 06:57 PM

OK.. here goes...

 

I ordered my GenieGO the other day and hooked it up.  Everything works fine when I'm home and on my wifi.  I've tried to configure it for out of home access with no luck.

 

My Internet is DSL with sonic.net.  I have a static IP address at home and am using a Pace 4111N wireless router.  I've configured the port forwarding manually using ports 8082 and 8083.  The GenieGO's internal IP is 192.168.42.100.  I've checked the ports on portforward.com and they say my ports are open.  The GenieGO app on my iPad says "GenieGO out of home access is not set up".  

 

Any suggestions?

 

Thanks,

 

Doug


DirecTV since June 1996
HR24-500, HR24-200, 2 x H24-700 with WHDVR

#307 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,922 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 24 August 2013 - 07:07 PM

Set a reserved address for the GenieGo, and then run the web page for set up. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#308 OFFLINE   curbside

curbside

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 102 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 24 August 2013 - 07:16 PM

Set a reserved address for the GenieGo, and then run the web page for set up. 

 

192.168.42.100 is reserved for the GenieGO.  My router is not listed at directv.com/geniego/routersupport


DirecTV since June 1996
HR24-500, HR24-200, 2 x H24-700 with WHDVR

#309 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,333 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 25 August 2013 - 07:00 AM

Sounds like you may have to make a change in the DSL modem.  Log in to it and try forwarding those ports to your WAN address of the router or set a DMZ address or better yet, put it in Bridge (transparent) mode.  Call Sonic, they may make the change.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#310 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,951 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 25 August 2013 - 08:58 AM

Sounds like you may have to make a change in the DSL modem.  Log in to it and try forwarding those ports to your WAN address of the router or set a DMZ address or better yet, put it in Bridge (transparent) mode.  Call Sonic, they may make the change.

You know I still don't understand why, particularly for DSL service it seems, they just don't build and distribute actual "modems" as an option for customers so they can use their own third party routers if they choose?

 

Do the modems always have to include these integrated routers which cause these sorts of port forwarding problems, or not able to get into them a fully transparent bridging mode, or some other other issue with them? 


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#311 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,333 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 25 August 2013 - 10:40 AM

You know I still don't understand why, particularly for DSL service it seems, they just don't build and distribute actual "modems" as an option for customers so they can use their own third party routers if they choose?

 

Do the modems always have to include these integrated routers which cause these sorts of port forwarding problems, or not able to get into them a fully transparent bridging mode, or some other other issue with them? 

I have to agree with you. . . they seem to create more problems than they solve.   I haven't had DSL in a number of years but when I did it was a simple Westell modem that allowed Bridge mode and I did the PPOE authentication in my Linksys.  The last one I tried to solve for a friend didn't have that mode - or we couldn't find it.

 

My MIL just went back to ATT and got a monster 'Gateway' combined modem / router / wireless (G only).  OOH works from her house but she currently has no need for port forwarding . . . which probably fits 70-80% of customer base.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#312 OFFLINE   curbside

curbside

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 102 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 25 August 2013 - 02:28 PM

I was able to get the GenieGO Out of Home Access to work by setting the firewall.  

 

 

The firewall actively blocks access of unwanted activity from the Internet.

 

Current Applications, Pinholes and DMZ Settings: Custom

 

Device Allowed    Applications   Application Type    Protocol       Port Number(s)           Public IP

Nomad002097     All                  -                             (all)              (all)                             75.101.XXX.XXX

 

Thanks for all your replies.


DirecTV since June 1996
HR24-500, HR24-200, 2 x H24-700 with WHDVR

#313 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,922 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 25 August 2013 - 03:53 PM

Good news; thanks for posting results. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#314 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,333 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 26 August 2013 - 03:30 PM

I was able to get the GenieGO Out of Home Access to work by setting the firewall.  

 

 

The firewall actively blocks access of unwanted activity from the Internet.

 

Current Applications, Pinholes and DMZ Settings: Custom

 

Device Allowed    Applications   Application Type    Protocol       Port Number(s)           Public IP

Nomad002097     All                  -                             (all)              (all)                             75.101.XXX.XXX

 

Thanks for all your replies.

I assume this was your router that you had set port forwarding. . . just another example that your port forwarding should have over-ridden the fw setting.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#315 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,299 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 28 August 2013 - 01:49 PM

Finally got my OOH working and streamed fantastically to my iPhone.

#316 OFFLINE   tbolt

tbolt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 180 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2009

Posted 28 August 2013 - 02:13 PM

Finally got my OOH working and streamed fantastically to my iPhone.

 

That is great news.

 

We appreciate you keeping us updated.

 

Enjoy!



#317 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 819 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 29 August 2013 - 07:17 AM

OK my turn.

 

I got my Genie and GenieGo drop shipped to me.  Little or no documentation on how to set things up (I had a Whole Home system so it was pretty easy swapping out, but nonetheless it was odd no documentation for the HR44, and 2 C41's)

 

So, I have wireless in our home with an Airport Extreme, and an Airport Express extending on the top floor of house (3 stories).  I have the GenieGo set up, except for the OOH.  I cannot seem to figure out what to do to get it to work.  I was using my wife's Mac Book Air to configure OOH, but it doesn't seem to work.  I choose the Apple option on the (directv.com/geniego/routersupport) page, I go through their setup (I use a DCHP number outside the range as I've read )

If I try to set up OOH on my iphone there is no Apple router option.

 

Any suggestions?  Another contributing factor.  I have Comcast Home security and they put their own wireless router in right after the modem and before my Airport Extreme.  I don't know if that comes into play, all I know is that ever since I had the comcast security installed I cannot access a camera (non-comcast related) on my network anymore.

 

I'm at work right now, but I can try to answer questions the best I can.



#318 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,922 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 August 2013 - 08:04 AM

Whose modem? 

In any event, I'd be inclined to go off the Comcast router, and run the set up off the MBAir. (It worked for me).

I'd set a reservation for GenieGo in the Comcast router in the range it covers. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#319 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 819 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 29 August 2013 - 08:15 AM

I can't use the Comcast modem because they activate only 1 out port, essentially to go to your wireless router (it creates it's own wireless network).

 

So, I have to use the Airport Extreme



#320 OFFLINE   tbolt

tbolt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 180 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2009

Posted 29 August 2013 - 12:27 PM

I can't use the Comcast modem because they activate only 1 out port, essentially to go to your wireless router (it creates it's own wireless network).

 

So, I have to use the Airport Extreme

 

Check this link out - it may help:

http://forums.direct...thread/11252225







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: DIRECTV, GenieGO, Nomad, HDDVR, Genie, streaming, slingbox

spam firewall