Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

GenieGO Remote Streaming

DIRECTV GenieGO Nomad HDDVR Genie streaming slingbox

  • Please log in to reply
359 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   willardcpa

willardcpa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
  • LocationEugene, OR
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 01:24 PM

OK, gave it the "supreme test" went to the local public library, got onto their wifi and tried to connect to GenieGO.   To no avail, get a "Can't connect to GenieGo" message.   On the IPAD under "Network Assistant" it fails Connectivity Tests numbers 3, 4 and 6.   On my laptop it also fails numbers 3, 4 and 6 under the "Diagnostic" tab.

I know that I'm OK on the library's wifi, as that is how I am sending this message.

Maybe DTV hasn't turned on a switch somewhere that routes my computer request through the Vapornet to my GenieGO that is at home dutifully hooked up to my home network???



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   Rob Dawn

Rob Dawn

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
  • LocationColorado
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 27 June 2013 - 01:27 PM

I don't have a Nomad/GenieGo yet so maybe that's why I'm confused. So sorry in advance if this is an obvious question:

 

If I have an episode of Walking Dead on my Genie & a GenieGo, AND have not previously downloaded that episode from the GenieGo to my PC or iPhone, can I watch that episode on my PC or iPhone if I am away from home ?

 

Thanks!!



#43 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,968 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 27 June 2013 - 01:30 PM

I updated the app on my iPhone and iPad.  Will set up the streaming when I get home.

I never added my laptops to Nomad, as I don't walk around the house with them, and it's easier to use the iPad.

Do I have to dl the app to a laptop to set up the remote streaming?

Once streaming is set up, can I delete the app from the computer if I need to stay under the device limit?



#44 OFFLINE   willardcpa

willardcpa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
  • LocationEugene, OR
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 01:31 PM

You need to forward ports 8082 and 8083 to the IP of the geniego.  The geniego should be listed in your DHCP list or you can set a DHCP reservation for it's MAC address outside of the DHCP Range.  There's no way to set the geniego to a Static IP.

It may be different for other routers, but for my Actiontec Q1000 it said to set up two separate Port forwarding "lines" one with a starting and ending number of 8082 and the other one with a starting and ending number of 8083.    When I set up port forwarding for my HR20-700's I just set up one line with (for example) a starting number of 8082 and ending number of 8083, and my HR20*s seem to work just fine with the internet (with apps, utube, and Pandora, etc.)



#45 OFFLINE   willardcpa

willardcpa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
  • LocationEugene, OR
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 01:35 PM

I don't have a Nomad/GenieGo yet so maybe that's why I'm confused. So sorry in advance if this is an obvious question:

 

If I have an episode of Walking Dead on my Genie & a GenieGo, AND have not previously downloaded that episode from the GenieGo to my PC or iPhone, can I watch that episode on my PC or iPhone if I am away from home ?

 

Thanks!!

That's one of the purposes for the new "streaming" update that is occurring today.   So yes, after you get the new app set up on your yet to be acquired GenieGO



#46 OFFLINE   willardcpa

willardcpa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
  • LocationEugene, OR
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 01:44 PM

I updated the app on my iPhone and iPad.  Will set up the streaming when I get home.

I never added my laptops to Nomad, as I don't walk around the house with them, and it's easier to use the iPad.

Do I have to dl the app to a laptop to set up the remote streaming?

Once streaming is set up, can I delete the app from the computer if I need to stay under the device limit?

Take a look at post number 12 above.   In it I have a link to the new GenieGO manual, the answers to you questions are on page 5 of the manual.



#47 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,968 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 27 June 2013 - 01:49 PM

Take a look at post number 12 above.   In it I have a link to the new GenieGO manual, the answers to you questions are on page 5 of the manual.

 

Thanks.



#48 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 01:50 PM

It may be different for other routers, but for my Actiontec Q1000 it said to set up two separate Port forwarding "lines" one with a starting and ending number of 8082 and the other one with a starting and ending number of 8083.    When I set up port forwarding for my HR20-700's I just set up one line with (for example) a starting number of 8082 and ending number of 8083, and my HR20*s seem to work just fine with the internet (with apps, utube, and Pandora, etc.)

You don't need to set up port forwarding for an HRXX.  The geniego communicates with your HRs on your local LAN.  The port forwarding is for your mobile device to get back to your geniego when you're out of home (OOH).



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#49 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,167 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:01 PM

You need to forward ports 8082 and 8083 to the IP of the geniego.  The geniego should be listed in your DHCP list or you can set a DHCP reservation for it's MAC address outside of the DHCP Range.  There's no way to set the geniego to a Static IP.

Sorry for the noobish sounding networking question dennisj00;

 

But you say DHCP reservations are setup "outside" the router's DHCP range?


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#50 OFFLINE   willardcpa

willardcpa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
  • LocationEugene, OR
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:06 PM

You don't need to set up port forwarding for an HRXX.  The geniego communicates with your HRs on your local LAN.  The port forwarding is for your mobile device to get back to your geniego when you're out of home (OOH).

Sorry to introduce confusion.   The only reason I mentioned the HRXX was to draw attention to the way DTV was instructing us to set up two "lines" of port forwarding for the GenieGO.   With each "line" dedicated to one of the ports (8082 and 8083) instead of one "line" with a range of 8082 to 8083.   I actually set mine up for port forwarding yesterday after reading the manual, and used the "range", and then this morning I saw that it needed separate "lines" for each port.



#51 OFFLINE   willardcpa

willardcpa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
  • LocationEugene, OR
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:08 PM

Has anyone gotten this to work "outside of the home" yet? I haven't, and am wondering if it's "just me", or are others experiencing problems as well. Thanks

Maybe my problem is from using the public library's wifi for a test drive. Maybe they have their wifi set up some way to prevent downloading files etc. Otherwise somebody would be camped out here watching something prohibited all day long.

So has anybody out there had "success" yet??

Edited by willardcpa, 27 June 2013 - 02:20 PM.


#52 OFFLINE   realfan

realfan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:26 PM

Just set my ipad with the new release. I am in London watching everything on all four of my DVRs at home. I also used the regular app to set a new recording and can basically watch it on Genie a minute after it starts recording. So I am practically streaming live TV from my US home to my London hotel room. This is awesome!!!
  • keebler21 likes this

#53 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,608 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:32 PM

That is awesome! Tonight, I may be able to do streaming to my apartment from my home, a vast distance of 60 miles......


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#54 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:36 PM

That is awesome! Tonight, I may be able to do streaming to my apartment from my home, a vast distance of 60 miles......

Lax, there's a good chance your 60 miles will travel a thousand or more on the internet!



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#55 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:38 PM

Sorry to introduce confusion.   The only reason I mentioned the HRXX was to draw attention to the way DTV was instructing us to set up two "lines" of port forwarding for the GenieGO.   With each "line" dedicated to one of the ports (8082 and 8083) instead of one "line" with a range of 8082 to 8083.   I actually set mine up for port forwarding yesterday after reading the manual, and used the "range", and then this morning I saw that it needed separate "lines" for each port.

Depending on your router, the range may work as well as two individual lines.

 

I have a Linksys with dd-wrt and the IOS client set up port forwarding as two individual lines.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#56 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:40 PM

Has anyone gotten this to work "outside of the home" yet? I haven't, and am wondering if it's "just me", or are others experiencing problems as well. Thanks

Maybe my problem is from using the public library's wifi for a test drive. Maybe they have their wifi set up some way to prevent downloading files etc. Otherwise somebody would be camped out here watching something prohibited all day long.

So has anybody out there had "success" yet??

I think you'll find some locations limit their public access to ports 80/443 for surfing and some email ports.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#57 OFFLINE   realfan

realfan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:42 PM

Just set my ipad with the new release. I am in London watching everything on all four of my DVRs at home. I also used the regular app to set a new recording and can basically watch it on Genie a minute after it starts recording. So I am practically streaming live TV from my US home to my London hotel room. This is awesome!!!


Let me add that I did nothing more than update my app and it automatically worked. I was out of the country when the update came through. Pretty seamless. The only downside is that the video quality is OK when watching a home DVR show on my ipad via wifi. The downloaded shows on Genie which I transferred to my ipad are of a higher quality.

#58 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,631 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:45 PM

Sorry for the noobish sounding networking question dennisj00;

 

But you say DHCP reservations are setup "outside" the router's DHCP range?

Again, It may depend on your router, but I like to set Statics and since I can't do that on geniego, I set a reservation for its MAC address outside of the normal DHCP range.  All my Directv addresses are grouped together.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#59 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,454 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:46 PM

Since I have an AirPort Extreme, I had to set up my router manually. Very easy. tried it in the morning using a customer's WiFi and it work flawlessly.
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#60 OFFLINE   willardcpa

willardcpa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
  • LocationEugene, OR
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 27 June 2013 - 03:32 PM

I think you'll find some locations limit their public access to ports 80/443 for surfing and some email ports.

That may have been my problem.   I abandoned the Public Library.    Right now I'm parked in a McDonalds parking lot, using their wifi.   Everything works on GenieGO.   Did find out that it will only stream to one thing at a time.   Sitting here in the car I tried to simultaneously stream to my wife's IPAD and my laptop.   The second one on wouldn't stream and gave me a message to the effect that it will only stream to one thing at once.

Everything was coming in fine on the IPAD.   On the laptop, I'm getting some "freezes", so something somewhere is slowing things down.   Probably my home network/DSL, as I've noticed before that it is kind of slow.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: DIRECTV, GenieGO, Nomad, HDDVR, Genie, streaming, slingbox

Protected By... spam firewall...And...