Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

GenieGO Outside My House


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Blitz68

Blitz68

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,076 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2006

Posted 29 June 2013 - 08:22 AM

How does the GenieGO app know how to find my modem from the outside to access my DVR"s?
DirecTV Since 1995
(1)HR20-700S
(1)HR21-700B
(1)HR23-700
(1)HR10-250
(2)R15-500
(1)R15-100
(1)D11

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 29 June 2013 - 08:34 AM

When you first install the new app, it goes through a setup where it configures your router to allow your devices access. If your router isn't one of the routers on their list, you have to manually configure it, but they have steps to walk you through it.

#3 OFFLINE   Blitz68

Blitz68

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,076 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2006

Posted 29 June 2013 - 08:40 AM

I understand it configuring the ports on the router. But how can the device no where my modem is, I.e. external ip?
DirecTV Since 1995
(1)HR20-700S
(1)HR21-700B
(1)HR23-700
(1)HR10-250
(2)R15-500
(1)R15-100
(1)D11

#4 ONLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 29 June 2013 - 09:01 AM

You also provide (or it grabs it automatically) the IP address of your system and you provide the password. Plus the original nomad, had to have your DirecTV account email address and password.

#5 OFFLINE   Blitz68

Blitz68

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,076 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2006

Posted 29 June 2013 - 09:13 AM

This doesn't make sense, I was never asked for the external ip. Also what if the ip changes? Very few people might have a static external ip.
DirecTV Since 1995
(1)HR20-700S
(1)HR21-700B
(1)HR23-700
(1)HR10-250
(2)R15-500
(1)R15-100
(1)D11

#6 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,838 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 29 June 2013 - 09:23 AM

I have dynamic IP and it works fine. Many in home gateways ping servers periodically so the server can track IP addresses.

#7 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,596 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 29 June 2013 - 09:26 AM

This doesn't make sense, I was never asked for the external ip. Also what if the ip changes? Very few people might have a static external ip.


You shouldn't be too concerned with how it finds it because it will. I've been using my slingbox for several years and it always finds it. I'm sure DTV uses a similar type of technology. BTW, I don't have an static external ip.

I had previously set up my ports for forwarding so that when the updated app was sent out I was able to stream from OOH. Loaded the app while OOH and everything worked.


#8 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,973 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 29 June 2013 - 09:42 AM

All the Genie go has to do is I form a server at DIRECTV what it's external IP address is, which is mapped to your account user ID. Then when a client starts up OOH it queries the server at DIRECTV for the IP address and you're connected.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#9 OFFLINE   Blitz68

Blitz68

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,076 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2006

Posted 29 June 2013 - 09:51 AM

Ok, so I am at a hotel. What makes the hotels network allow this kind of traffic?
DirecTV Since 1995
(1)HR20-700S
(1)HR21-700B
(1)HR23-700
(1)HR10-250
(2)R15-500
(1)R15-100
(1)D11

#10 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,596 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 29 June 2013 - 01:08 PM

Ok, so I am at a hotel. What makes the hotels network allow this kind of traffic?

I'd be more worried speed at he hotel rather than how their routers are configured. FWIW, the only issues that I have seen at hotels is speed; I have always been able to get out.

#11 OFFLINE   Blitz68

Blitz68

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,076 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2006

Posted 30 June 2013 - 10:21 AM

Yup. It works, don't know how but it does.
DirecTV Since 1995
(1)HR20-700S
(1)HR21-700B
(1)HR23-700
(1)HR10-250
(2)R15-500
(1)R15-100
(1)D11

#12 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,526 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 30 June 2013 - 12:52 PM

Ok, so I am at a hotel. What makes the hotels network allow this kind of traffic?

 

Ya. Not all external networks support it. I know of at least two hospitals with 8Mbps-10Mbps download capability that must have some ports closed that the client device wants to see open, because that same iPhone streams just fine in other locations (and at lower speeds).


/steve

#13 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 23 July 2013 - 11:02 AM

After reading through this forum let me know if I got it right.
A Genie App is launched and is validated on a Directv Server.
On validation the Server passes back to the App myipaddress:port.
The App then does a direct connect to my home network. In affect a http://myipaddress:port.
At this time watching the GenieGo show begins.
Also the Directv Server is not involved in anyway with the transfer of the GenieGo data.
Also the Directv Server does maintain communication with the GenieGo to keep up with my myipaddress in case it changes. EX: dynamic IP address.
Thanks

#14 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,322 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 23 July 2013 - 11:59 AM

That's a pretty good explanation.  No geniego streaming goes through D servers.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!





spam firewall